Skip to main content

Administration and Staff

Office of the Dean

Patricia Belton Oliver, FAIA, ACSA Distinguished Professor
Dean | Director, designLAB 
713.743.2400
poliver@uh.edu

Dietmar Froehlich, Ph.D., RA
Associate Dean | Professor
713.743.2385
dfroehlich@uh.edu

Trang Phan, Ph.D.
Associate Dean
Student Affairs and Enrollment Management
713.743.3463
trangphan@uh.edu

Stephen Schad, CDMP, PCM
Executive Director
Marketing, Communications, and External Relations
713.743.2539
saschad@central.uh.edu

Nhu-Thuy Mai
Director of College Business Operations
713.743.2369
ntmai2@central.uh.edu

Maria Modelska
Research Liaison Officer II
713.743.3677
mjmodels@central.uh.edu

Colleen Maynard
Assistant to the Dean
713.743.9301
cmaynard@central.uh.edu 

Ylei Gachupin
Program Coordinator I
ygachupi@cougarnet.uh.edu 


Business Operations

Nancy Do
Financial Coordinator II
713.743.3522
ndo10@central.uh.edu 

Hector Abercrombie
Assistant Business Administrator
713.743.5877
habercrombie@uh.edu

Linda Silva
Administrative Coordinator
713.743.2400
hdsilva@central.uh.edu


Student Services 

Jenny Mutz
Academic Advisor II
713.743.8003
jamutz@central.uh.edu

Katherine Wolf
Academic Advisor II
713.743.3355
kewolf@central.uh.edu 


Student Support Resources

Antonio Farias
Manager, College/Division Information Services II
713.743.2274
anfarias@central.uh.edu

Daniela De La Cruz
User Services Specialist I
713.743.8261
ddelacr2@Central.UH.EDU

Catherine Essinger
Library Coordinator and Associate Librarian
William R. Jenkins Architecture & Art Library
713.743.2337
cwessinger@uh.edu

Joaquin Tobar Martinez
Instructional Lab Manager
Keeland Design Exploration Lab
jtobarma@central.uh.edu 


Marketing, Communications, and External Relations

Paula Canada
Director, Alumni Relations
713.743.0892
gail@central.uh.edu 

Nicholas Nguyen
Director, Digital Media
713.743.9466
ndnguy32@central.uh.edu


Academic Directors and Coordinators

Graduate Architecture

Gail Peter Borden, FAIA                   
Director, Graduate Studies | Professor
713.743.4114
gborden@uh.edu

Jason Logan
Coordinator, Foundation | Associate Professor
713.743.8023
jlogan@uh.edu

Patrick Peters, RA, LEED AP                             
Coordinator, Design/Build | Professor
713.743.2387
ppeters@uh.edu

Matthew Johnson, AIA                     
Coordinator, Integration (Fall 2023) | Associate Professor
713.743.2398
mjohnson13@uh.edu

Jesse Hager                    
Coordinator, Integration (Spring 2024) | Adjunct Faculty
jhager@central.uh.edu 

Rafael Longoria, ACSA Distinguished Professor
Coordinator, Advanced Studies | Professor
713.743.8490
longoria@uh.edu

Jeff F. Feng
Coordinator, Industrial Design | Associate Professor
832.842.3011
ffeng@central.uh.edu 


Undergraduate Architecture

Rafael Beneytez-Duran, Ph.D., RA                 
Director, Undergraduate Architecture | Associate Professor
Coordinator, Advanced
713.743.2386
rbeneytez-duran@uh.edu

Jason Logan
Coordinator, Foundation | Associate Professor
713.743.8023
jlogan@uh.edu

Daniel Jacobs                  
Coordinator, Intermediate | Instructional Assistant Professor
djacobs4@central.uh.edu 

Patrick Peters, RA, LEED AP                              
Coordinator, Integration | Professor
713.743.2387
ppeters@uh.edu

Matthew Johnson, AIA                     
Coordinator, Thesis | Associate Professor
713.743.2398
mjohnson13@uh.edu

Tom Diehl, AIA                                
Co-coordinator, Technology | Associate Professor
713.743.2376
tdiehl@uh.edu

Rives Taylor, FAIA                           
Co-coordinator, Technology | Adjunct Professor
rtaylor2@uh.edu


Industrial Design

Jeff F. Feng
Co-director, Industrial Design | Associate Professor
ffeng@central.uh.edu 

Mark S. Kimbrough
Co-director, Industrial Design | Instructional Associate Professor
mkimbrou@central.uh.edu 


Interior Architecture

Sheryl Tucker de Vazquez, RA                     
Director, Interior Architecture | Associate Professor
stuckerd@central.uh.edu


All Discipline Coordinators

Andrew Kudless                                      
Bill Kendall Endowed Memorial Professor of Design Technologies | Professor
Coordinator, Design Media
713.743.8080
ajkudles@central.uh.edu

Deepa Ramaswamy, Ph.D.                   
Coordinator, History, Theory, and Criticism (HTC) | Assistant Professor
713.743.9638
dramaswa@central.uh.edu 


Special Programs Directors

Mili Kyropoulou, RIBA, LEED AP BD+C
Director, Building Analytics and Sustainable Environments (BASE) Lab | Assistant Professor
713.743.9659
mkyropou@central.uh.edu 

Andrew Kudless                                      
Bill Kendall Endowed Memorial Professor of Design Technologies
Director, Construction Robotics and Fabrication Technology (CRAFT) Lab | Professor
713.743.8080
ajkudles@central.uh.edu

Jason Logan
Director, Burdette Keeland, Jr. Design Exploration Lab | Associate Professor
713.743.8023
jlogan@uh.edu

Rafael Longoria, ACSA Distinguished Professor
Director, Atrium Press | Professor
713.743.8490
longoria@uh.edu

Ophelia Mantz
Director, Materials Research Collaborative (MRC) | Assistant Professor
713.743.8093
omantz@central.uh.edu 

Elham Morshedzadeh, Ph.D.      
Director, Health Design Lab | Assistant Professor
713.743.5034
emorshed@central.uh.edu 

Patricia Belton Oliver, FAIA, ACSA Distinguished Professor
Director, designLAB | Dean
713.743.2400
poliver@uh.edu

Bruce Race, Ph.D., FAIA, FAICP     
Director, Center for Sustainability and Resilience (CeSAR) | Professor
713.743.2389
barace@uh.edu

Susan Rogers                                   
Director, Community Design Resource Center (CDRC) | Associate Professor
713.743.2403
srogers@uh.edu

Drexel Turner                                  
Director, Summer Discovery | Adjunct Faculty
713.743.2404
dturner2@central.uh.edu