Faculty - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Faculty

Tenure-Track Faculty

Antonelli, Michael
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor, Isotope Geochemistry

maantonelli@uh.edu
713-743-2213
Office: 331 SR1

Capuano, Regina
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor of Geology, Hydrogeology, Geochemistry
Advisor, Environmental Science

capuano@uh.edu
713-743-2957
Office: 221 SR1

Carlson, Brandee
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor, Geomorphology

bncarlson@uh.edu
Office: 336C-SR1

Castagna, John
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geophysics, Applied Seismology
Margaret S. and Robert E. Sheriff Endowed Faculty Chair in Applied Seismology

jpcastagna@uh.edu
713-743-8699
Office: 121-A SR1

Chesnokov, Evgeni
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Theoretical and Applied Geophysics

emchesnokov@uh.edu
713-743-2579
Office: 123-B SR1

Choi, Yunsoo
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry, Remote Sensing, and Machine Learning

ychoi6@uh.edu
713-743-9748
Office: 426F SR1

Copeland, Peter
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Thermochronology

copeland@uh.edu
713-743-3649
Office: 304 SR1

Fu, Qi
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor of Organic Geochemistry, Stable Isotope Geochemistry

qfu3@uh.edu
713-743-3660
Office: 328-B SR1

Jiang, Xun
Curriculum Vitae
Atmospheric Science Graduate Advisor
Professor, Atmospheric Science

xjiang7@uh.edu
713-743-3156
Office: 432-D SR1

Khan, Shuhab
Curriculum Vitae
Graduate Advisor (Geology and Geophysics)
Professor of Geology (Tectonics, Geological Remote Sensing)

sdkhan@uh.edu
713-743-5404
Office: 234 SR1

Lapen, Thomas
Curriculum Vitae
Chair, EAS Department
Professor of Geology, Isotope Geochemistry, Geochronology, Petrology

tjlapen@uh.edu
713-743-6122
Office: 315-A SR1

Li, Aibing
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geophysics, Seismology

ali2@uh.edu
713-743-2878
Office: 125-B SR1

Maddocks, Rosalie
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Paleontology

rmaddocks@uh.edu
713-743-2772
Office: 227-A SR1

Mann, Paul
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Tectonics, Petroleum Geology
Robert E. Sheriff Endowed Professor
Director, Conjugate Basins, Tectonics and Hydrocarbons Consortium

pmann@uh.edu
713-743-3646
Office: 427 SR1

Murphy, Michael
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Structural Geology, Tectonics

mmurphy@central.uh.edu
713-743-3564
Office: 335 SR1

Rappenglueck, Bernhard
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry, Meteorology

brappenglueck@uh.edu
713-743-2469
Office: 426J SR1

Robinson, Alexander
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor of Geology, Structural Geology, Tectonics

acrobinson@uh.edu
713-743-2547
Office: 315-B SR1

Sager, William
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geophysics

wwsager@uh.edu
713-743-3108
Office: 127-B SR1

Stewart, Robert
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geophysics
Director, Allied Geophysical Labs
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished University Chair in Exploration Geophysics

rrstewart@uh.edu
713-743-3081
Office: 131-C SR1

Sun, Jiajia
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor, Geophysics

jsun20@uh.edu
713-743-7380
Office: 127A SR1

Suppe, John
Curriculum Vitae
Distinguished Professor, Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

jsuppe@uh.edu
Office: 312 SR1

Voarintsoa, Ny Riavo
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor, Sedimentary Geology

ngvoarintsoa@uh.edu
Office: 328-A

Wang, Guoquan
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geophysics, Geodesy, and Geosensing Systems Engineering

gwang@uh.edu
713-743-3224
Office: 231 SR1

Wang, Yuxuan
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor, Atmospheric Chemistry

ywang140@uh.edu
713-743-9049
Office: 426 SR1

Wellner, Julia
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor, Stratigraphy, Sedimentology, Glacial Processes

jwellner@uh.edu
713-743-2887
Office: 315-C SR1

Zhang, Honghai
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor, Tropical Climate Dynamics and Global Hydrological Cycle

hzhang83@central. uh.edu
713-743-4701
Office: SR1  415

Zheng, Yingcai
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor, Robert and Margaret Sheriff Professor in Applied Geophysics

yzheng24@central.uh.edu
713-743-6513
Office: 129-B SR1

Zheng, Youtong
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor, Atmospheric and Climate Physics

Zhou, Hua-Wei
Curriculum Vitae
Margaret S. Sheriff College Professorship in Geophysics

hzhou@uh.edu
713-743-3440
Office: 335 SR1

Back to top...

Instructional and Research Faculty

Bird, Dale
Curriculum Vitae
Research Associate Professor, Geophysics, Potential Fields
Consultant, Bird Geophysical

dale@birdgeo.com
Office: 312 SR1

Bissada, Adry
Curriculum Vitae
Research Professor of Geology, Organic Geochemistry, Petroleum Systems

kbissada@uh.edu
713-743-4026
Office: 103/105 SR1

James Howard Flynn III

Flynn III, James Howard
Curriculum Vitae
Research Associate Professor

jhflynn@uh.edu
713-743-3262
Office: 432-G SR1

Gao, Yongjun
Curriculum Vitae
Research Associate Professor, Geochemistry, Petrology

yongjungao@uh.edu
713-743-4382
Office: 332-B SR1

Hauptvogel, Daniel
Curriculum Vitae
Instructional Associate Professor
Geology and Geophysics Undergraduate Advisor

dwhauptv@central.uh.edu
713-743-0532
Office: 225-D SR1

Hilterman, Fred
Curriculum Vitae
Distinguished Research Professor of Geophysics, Reflection Seismology
Margaret S. and Robert E. Sheriff Endowed Chair

fhilterman@uh.edu
713-850-7600 ext. 3318

Lytwyn, Jennifer
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Instructional Professor, Geology

jlytwyn@uh.edu
713-743-3296
Office: 227 SR1

Jagos Radovic

Radovic, Jagos
Curriculum Vitae
Research Associate Professor, Co-director of Center for Petroleum Geochemistry (UH-CPG)

jradovic@central.uh.edu

Office: 103/105 SR1

Minako Righter

Righter, Minako
Curriculum Vitae
Research Assistant Professor

mrighter@uh.edu
713-743-6722
Office: 312 SR1

Sisson, Jinny
Curriculum Vitae
Instructional Professor
Director of Summer Field Geology
Co-director of Geoscience Learning Center

vbsisson@uh.edu
713-743-7634
Office: 236-A SR1

Thomsen, Leon
Curriculum Vitae
Research Professor of Exploration Geophysics

lathomsen@uh.edu
713-743-3386
Office: 121-B SR1

Van Nieuwenhuise, Donald
Curriculum Vitae
Director, Petroleum Geoscience Programs
Instructional Professor, Petroleum Geology, Sequence Stratigraphy, Biostratigraphy, and Sedimentology

donvann@uh.edu
713-743-3423
Office: 227 SR1

Weglein, Arthur
Curriculum Vitae
Professor, Reflection Seismology
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished University Chair in Physics
Director, Mission-Oriented Seismic Research Program

aweglein@uh.edu
713-743-3848
Office: 605 SR1

Wiley, Robert
Curriculum Vitae
Research Associate Professor, Reflection Seismology

rwiley@uh.edu
713-743-9151
Office: 510-H SR1

Zhou, Shan
Curriculum Vitae
Research Assistant Professor, Atmospheric Chemistry

szhou10@uh.edu

Office: 432-E SR1

Back to top...

Emeritus Faculty

Casey, John
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Tectonics, Geochemistry

jfcasey@uh.edu
713-743-2824
Office: 323 SR1

Chafetz, Henry
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Carbonate Petrology

hchafetz@uh.edu
713-743-3227
Office: 221 SR1

Dupre, William
Curriculum Vitae
Lecturer/Professor Emeritus

wdupre@uh.edu
713-743-4987
Office: 225 SR1

Hall, Stuart
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geophysics, Potential Fields

sahgeo@uh.edu
713-743-3416
Office: 225-B SR1

Han, De-Hua
Curriculum Vitae
Active Faculty Retiree

dhan@uh.edu
713-743-9293
Office: 123-A SR1

Reid, Archibald
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Igneous Petrology, Planetary Geology

areid@uh.edu
713-893-1327
Office: 328-B SR1

Back to top...

Adjunct Faculty

Liming Li

Li, Liming
Curriculum Vitae

Professor, Department of Physics

lli7@central.uh.edu
713-743-3283
Office: 530C SR1

Colin Sayers photo

Sayers, Colin
Curriculum Vitae

Research Professor, Geomechanics, Geophysics, and Rock Physics

giannimatteucci.jpg

Matteucci, Gianni
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct Professor, Exploration Geophysics and Paleoclimatology

GWRMatteucci@gmail.com
832-614-3818

Steve Naruk

Naruk, Steve
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct Professor, structural geology and oil and gas exploration

steve.naruk@gmail.com
Office: 221

jon_rotzien.jpg

Rotzien, Jon
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct Professor, Stratigraphy

Kurt Rudolph

Rudolph, Kurt
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct Professor, Petroleum Geology

Van Wijk, Jolante
Curriculum Vitae
Research Associate Professor of Geodynamics
Assistant Professor, New Mexico Tech.

Back to top...

Research Scientists & Researchers

Jangi Han

Han, Jangmi
Curriculum Vitae
Research Scientist, Cosmochemistry

Post-Doctoral Researchers

Bugti, Muhammad Nawaz
Supervisor:
Research Interests
:

Zhaomin Ding

Ding, Zhaomin
Curriculum Vitae

Supervisor: Honghai Zhang
Research Interests
: Climate change and climate variability, Climate modeling

zding4@cougarnet.uh.edu
Office: 225C SR1

Jose Araus

Gorosabel, Jose
Curriculum Vitae

Supervisor : Dr. Paul Mann
Research Interests :Research Associate with CBTH project. Seismic data processing and interpretation, basin modeling, GIS database management.

jmgorosa@Central.UH.EDU
Office: 427 SR1

Gyawali, Bimal
Curriculum Vitae

Supervisor: Dr. Brandee Carlson
Research Interests
: Application of remote sensing and machine learning gain insights into the morphodynamics of river deltas.

Kalu, Divine Victor
Curriculum Vitae
Supervisor: Dr. Jiajia Sun
Research Interests
: Uncertainty Quantification of 3D Electromagnetic Inverse Models using Deep Learning Methods

dckalu@cougarnet.uh.edu
Office:SR1 Rm 126

Liu, Xueying
SupervisorYuxuan Wang
Research Interests
Air quality modeling

Panwar, Sugandha
Curriculum Vitae
Supervisor:
Research Interests
:

Thoram, Sriharsha
Supervisor:
Research Interests
:

Woodworth, Daniel
Supervisor:
Research Interests
:

Subin Yoo

Yoon, Subin
Supervisor:
Research Interests
: