Faculty - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Faculty

Tenure-Track Faculty

Emily Beverly

Beverly, Emily
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor, Sedimentary Geology

ejbeverly@uh.edu
713-743-0195
Office: 225-C SR1

Alan Brandon

Brandon, Alan
Curriculum Vitae
Professor, Isotope Geochemistry

abrandon@uh.edu
713-743-2359
Office: 327 SR1

Regina Capuano

Capuano, Regina
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor of Geology, Hydrogeology, Geochemistry
Advisor, Environmental Science

capuano@uh.edu
713-743-2957
Office: 221 SR1

John Casey

Casey, John
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Tectonics, Geochemistry

jfcasey@uh.edu
713-743-2824
Office: 323 SR1

John Castagna

Castagna, John
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geophysics, Applied Seismology
Margaret S. and Robert E. Sheriff Endowed Faculty Chair in Applied Seismology

jpcastagna@uh.edu
713-743-8699
Office: 121-A SR1

Henry Chafetz

Chafetz, Henry
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Carbonate Petrology

hchafetz@uh.edu
713-743-3227
Office: 221 SR1

Evgeni Chesnokov

Chesnokov, Evgeni
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Theoretical and Applied Geophysics

emchesnokov@uh.edu
713-743-2579
Office: 123-B SR1

Yunsoo Choi

Choi, Yunsoo
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry, Remote Sensing, and Machine Learning

ychoi6@uh.edu
713-743-9748
Office: 426F SR1

Lorenzo Colli

Colli, Lorenzo
Assistant Professor of Geophysics, Geodynamics and Mantle Structure

lcolli@uh.edu
Office: 238-B SR1

Peter Copeland

Copeland, Peter
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Thermochronology

copeland@uh.edu
713-743-3649
Office: 304 SR1

Magdalena Ellis Curry Photo

Curry, Magdalena Ellis
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor of Tectonics, Basins, and Surface Processes

macurry@uh.edu
Office: 336-C SR1

Qi Fu

Fu, Qi
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor of Organic Geochemistry, Stable Isotope Geochemistry

qfu3@uh.edu
713-743-3660
Office: 328-B SR1

Xun Jiang

Jiang, Xun
Curriculum Vitae
Atmospheric Science Graduate Advisor
Professor, Atmospheric Science

xjiang7@uh.edu
713-743-3156
Office: 432-D SR1

Shuhab Khan

Khan, Shuhab
Curriculum Vitae
Geology Graduate Advisor
Professor of Geology, (Tectonics, Remote Sensing, GIS)

sdkhan@uh.edu
713-743-5404
Office: 234 SR1

Thomas Lapen

Lapen, Thomas
Curriculum Vitae
Chair, EAS Department
Professor of Geology, Isotope Geochemistry, Geochronology, Petrology

tjlapen@uh.edu
713-743-6122
Office: 315-A SR1

Aibing Li

Li, Aibing
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geophysics, Seismology

ali2@uh.edu
713-743-2878
Office: 125-B SR1

Rosalie Maddocks

Maddocks, Rosalie
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Paleontology

rmaddocks@uh.edu
713-743-2772
Office: 227-A SR1

Paul Mann

Mann, Paul
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Tectonics, Petroleum Geology
Robert E. Sheriff Endowed Professor
Director, Conjugate Basins, Tectonics and Hydrocarbons Consortium

pmann@uh.edu
713-743-3646
Office: 427 SR1

Michael Murphy

Murphy, Michael
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Structural Geology, Tectonics

mmurphy@central.uh.edu
713-743-3564
Office: 335 SR1

Bernhard Rappenglueck

Rappenglueck, Bernhard
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry, Meteorology

brappenglueck@uh.edu
713-743-2469
Office: 426J SR1

Alexander Robinson

Robinson, Alexander
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor of Geology, Structural Geology, Tectonics

acrobinson@uh.edu
713-743-2547
Office: 315-B SR1

William Sager

Sager, William
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geophysics

wwsager@uh.edu
713-743-3108
Office: 127-B SR1

Robert Stewart

Stewart, Robert
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geophysics
Director, Allied Geophysical Labs
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished University Chair in Exploration Geophysics

rrstewart@uh.edu
713-743-3081
Office: 131-C SR1

Jiajia Sun

Sun, Jiajia
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor, Geophysics

jsun20@uh.edu
713-743-7380
Office: 127A SR1

John Suppe

Suppe, John
Curriculum Vitae
Distinguished Professor, Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

jsuppe@uh.edu
Office: 312 SR1

Yuxuan Wang

Wang, Yuxuan
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor, Atmospheric Chemistry

ywang140@uh.edu
713-743-9049
Office: 426 SR1

Guoquan Wang

Wang, Guoquan
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geophysics, Geodesy, and Geosensing Systems Engineering

gwang@uh.edu
713-743-3224
Office: 231 SR1

Julia Wellner

Wellner, Julia
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor, Stratigraphy, Sedimentology, Glacial Processes

jwellner@uh.edu
713-743-2887
Office: 315-C SR1

Jonny Wu

Wu, Jonny
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor, Structural Geology, Tectonics and Mantle Structure

jwu40@central.uh.edu
713-743-9624
Office: SR1 233

Yingcai Zheng

Zheng, Yingcai
Associate Professor of Seismic Imaging

yzheng24@central.uh.edu
713-743-6513
Office: 129-B SR1

Hua-Wei Zhou

Zhou, Hua-Wei
Curriculum Vitae
Margaret S. Sheriff College Professorship in Geophysics

hzhou@uh.edu
713-743-3440
Office: 335 SR1

Back to top...

Research, Instructional & Part-Time Faculty

 

Dale Bird

Bird, Dale
Curriculum Vitae
Research Associate Professor, Geophysics, Potential Fields
Consultant, Bird Geophysical

dale@birdgeo.com
Office: 312 SR1

Adry Bissada

Bissada, Adry
Curriculum Vitae
Research Professor of Geology, Organic Geochemistry, Petroleum Systems

kbissada@uh.edu
713-743-4026
Office: 103/105 SR1

John Matthew Cannon

Cannon, John Matthew
Curriculum Vitae
Research Associate

Ian Evans

Evans, Ian
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor of Geology, Stratigraphy, Paleoecology

yddraig@uh.edu
713-743-2625
Office: 225-B SR1

James Howard Flynn III

Flynn III, James Howard
Curriculum Vitae
Research Assistant Professor

jhflynn@uh.edu
713-743-3262
Office: 432-G SR1

Yongjun Gao

Gao, Yongjun
Curriculum Vitae
Research Associate Professor, Geochemistry, Petrology

yongjungao@uh.edu
713-743-4382
Office: 332-B SR1

Daniel Hauptvogel

Hauptvogel, Daniel
Instructional Assistant Professor

dwhauptv@central.uh.edu
713-743-0532
Office: 415 SR1

De-Hua Han

Han, De-Hua
Curriculum Vitae
Research Professor of Geophysics, Rock Physics

dhan@uh.edu
713-743-9293
Office: 123-A SR1

Fred Hilterman

Hilterman, Fred
Curriculum Vitae
Distinguished Research Professor of Geophysics, Reflection Seismology

Margaret S. and Robert E. Sheriff Endowed Chair

fhilterman@uh.edu
713-850-7600 ext. 3318

Jennifer Lytwyn

Lytwyn, Jennifer
Curriculum Vitae
Instructional Assistant Professor, Geology

jlytwyn@uh.edu
713-743-3296
Office: 227 SR1

Peter Percell

Percell, Peter
Curriculum Vitae
Research Professor, Air Quality Modeling

ppercell@uh.edu
713-743-6724
Office: 426-D SR1

Minako Righter

Righter, Minako
Curriculum Vitae
Research Assistant Professor

mrighter@uh.edu
713-743-6722
Office: 312 SR1

Jinny Sisson

Sisson, Jinny
Curriculum Vitae
Instructional Professor
Director of Summer Field Geology
Co-director of Geoscience Learning Center

vbsisson@uh.edu
713-743-7634
Office: 236-A SR1

Tao Sun

Sun, Tao
Research Associate of Petroleum Geochemistry

tsun9@uh.edu
Office: 103 SR1

Leon Thomsen

Thomsen, Leon
Curriculum Vitae
Research Professor of Exploration Geophysics

lathomsen@uh.edu
713-743-3386
Office: 121-B SR1

Donald Van Nieuwenhuise

Van Nieuwenhuise, Donald
Curriculum Vitae
Director, Petroleum Geoscience Programs
Instructional Professor, Petroleum Geology, Sequence Stratigraphy, Biostratigraphy, and Sedimentology

donvann@uh.edu
713-743-3423
Office: 227 SR1

Jolante Van Wijk

Van Wijk, Jolante
Curriculum Vitae
Research Associate Professor of Geodynamics
Assistant Professor, New Mexico Tech.

Arthur Weglein

Weglein, Arthur
Curriculum Vitae
Professor, Reflection Seismology
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished University Chair in Physics
Director, Mission-Oriented Seismic Research Program

aweglein@uh.edu
713-743-3848
Office: 605 SR1

Robert Wiley

Wiley, Robert
Curriculum Vitae
Research Associate Professor, Reflection Seismology

rwiley@uh.edu
713-743-9151
Office: 510-H SR1

Back to top...

Emeritus Professors

William Dupre

Dupre, William
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor of Environmental Geology, Sedimentology

wdupre@uh.edu
713-743-4987
Office: 225 SR1

Stuart Hall

Hall, Stuart
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geophysics, Potential Fields

sahgeo@uh.edu
713-743-3416
Office: 225-B SR1

Archibald Reid

Reid, Archibald
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Igneous Petrology, Planetary Geology

areid@uh.edu
713-893-1327
Office: 328-B SR1

Back to top...

Adjunct Faculty & Lecturers

Peter Bartok

Bartok, Peter
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct lecturer, sequence stratigraphy, petroleum geology, seismic interpretation
Consultant, Bartok, Inc.

Edip Baysal

Baysal, Edip
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct lecturer, geophysics
Chief Geophysicist, Paradigm

Kelley Brumley photo

Brumley, Kelley
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct Professor, Marine Geology and Geophysics

kbrumley@uh.edu
210-471-1630

Joe Curiale

Curiale, Joe
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct, petroleum geochemistry
Petroleum geochemist

joecuriale1@gmail.com
832-940-8013

Pete Emmet

Emmet, Pete
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct, Exploration Geology and Geophysics
President & Chief Geoscientist, Brazos Valley GeoServices, Inc.

Liming Li

Li, Liming
Adjunct
Associate Professor, UH Dept. of Physics

lli13@uh.edu
713-743-3283
Office: 530-C SR1

Steve Naruk

Naruk, Steve
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct Professor, structural geology and oil and gas exploration

Jon Rotzien

Rotzien, Jon
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct Professor, Sedimentology, Stratigraphy, Petroleum Geology

Kurt Rudolph

Rudolph, Kurt
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct professor, Petroleum Geology

Colin Sayers photo

Sayers, Colin
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct professor, Geomechanics, Geophysics, and Rock Physics

cmsayers@uh.edu
832-679-6456

 

Back to top...

Research Scientists & Researchers

 

 

Mike Darnell

Darnell, Mike
Curriculum Vitae
Sr. Researcher, Petroleum Geochemistry

mdarnell@uh.edu
713-743-3432
Office: 308 SR1

Nikolay Dyaur

Dyaur, Nikolay
Curriculum Vitae
Research Scientist, Rock Physics Modeling

ndyaur@uh.edu
713-743-6539
Office: 121-C SR1

 

Prerna Singh

Singh, Prerna
Curriculum Vitae
Research Scientist, Petroleum Geology, Rock Mechanics

ptsingh@uh.edu
405-213-4550

Min Sun

Sun, Min
Curriculum Vitae
Researcher 3, Petroleum Geochemistry

msun3@uh.edu
713-743-1531
Office: 228 Old Science

 

Szymczyk, Ewa
Curriculum Vitae
Researcher, Petroleum Geochemistry

ewa@uh.edu
713-743-3435
Office: 303-B SR1

Fuyong Yan

Yan, Fuyong
Curriculum Vitae
Researcher 3, Petroleum Geochemistry

fyan@uh.edu
713-743-3982
Office: 228 Old Science

Back to top...

Post-Doctoral Researchers

Anne Billingsley

Billingsley, Anne
Postdoctoral Fellow, Human-Environmental Interactions Research Group
Supervisor: Dr. Emily Beverly

carlaeichler.jpg

Eichler, Carla
Postdoctoral Fellow, Basin Modeling, Sediment Provenance, and Geochronology
Supervisor: Dr. Juila Wellner

cmeichle@uh.edu
Office: 336E

Hao Hu

Hu, Hao
Post-Doctoral Fellow 1, Seismic Imaging
Supervisor: Dr. Yingcai Zheng

hhu5@central.uh.edu
Office: 127 SR1

Andy Liu

Liu, Andy
Curriculum Vitae
Post-Doctoral Fellow 1
Supervisor: Dr. John Suppe

yliu59@uh.edu
Office: 238 SR1

 

Smith, Tyson

Post-Doctoral Fellow

Lei Sun

Sun, Lei
Curriculum Vitae
Post-Doctoral Fellow ,Geographic Information Systems, Remote Sensing
Supervisor: Dr. Paul Mann

lsun10@uh.edu
Office: 427 SR1

 

Xu, Zhengwei

Post-Doctoral Fellow