Student Organizations - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Student Organizations

UH AAPG Wildcatters

UH AAPG Wildcatters

The American Association of Petroleum Geologists is the world’s largest geological group and strives for the advancement in geological technology and research while providing a wide variety of professional opportunities such as conferences, publications, and educational services. The University of Houston’s AAPG Student Chapter bridges the gap between professionals and UH geoscience students interested in careers in oil and gas exploration. UH AAPG hosts monthly meetings, guest lecturers from academia and industry, field trips, and other social activities that are geared toward promoting student involvement in petroleum geology. Meetings are held on campus and are open to students, faculty, and industry professionals.

Advisor: Dr. Magdalena Ellis Curry, Dr. Paul Mann
Contact:  aapg.wildcatters@gmail.com  
Club Website:  www.aapg. uh.edu  
Official Organization Website:  www.aapg.org

2020-2021 Officers 


President: Sean Romito  sromito@uh.edu
Vice President: Spencer Fuston  slfuston@uh.edu
Treasurer: Md Nahidul Hasan  mhasan11@uh.edu
Secretary: Lila Maddie Bishop  lmbishop@uh.edu
Webmaster: Hualing Zhang  hzhang67@uh.edu
Social Chair: Thomas Casteel  tjcastee@uh.edu
Energy Coalition Rep: Bryan Moore  blmoore7@uh.edu
Professional Master's Rep: Mei Liu  mliu30@uh.edu  
Historian:  Aydin Shahtakhtinskiy  agshahtakhtinskiy@uh.edu

UH AEG aipg.png

UH AEG/AIPG

The University of Houston combined student chapter of the Association of Environmental and Engineering Geologists (AEG) and American Institute of Professional Geologists (AIPG) is a student organization dedicated to education and advancements in environmental and engineering geology, geophysics, and hydrogeology. The activities of the chapter range from seminar series to field trips and outreach. Both AEG and AIPG memberships are free for students and open to any interested student. AEG/AIPG contributes to its members’ professional success and the public welfare by providing leadership, advocacy, and opportunities to be involved in applied research.

Advisor: Regina Capuano
Contact: AEGatUH@gmail.com
Club Website: www.aeg.uh.edu
Official Organization Website:

AEG: www.aegweb.org

AIPG: https://aipg.org/

2020-2021 Officers:

President:  Maureen Gerwin Email: gerwin@gmail.com
Vice President: Brittany Garza  
Secretary: Alex Jones     
Treasurer: Jetson Le
Social Coordinator: Jabeen Momin   
Web Master: Abigail Gonzales  

 

UH GeoSociety

UH GeoSociety

The Geological Society at the University of Houston is dedicated to providing geoscience students with opportunities for further education, networking, and fellowship. We are also a platform from which University of Houston students can give back to the local community by volunteering. Every year, GeoSociety volunteers at local geosciences events, hosts social gatherings, and takes members on a winter field trip to a unique geologic location. GeoSociety hosts monthly meetings which are open to all university students and faculty.

Advisors: Paul Mann
Club Website: www.geosociety.uh.edu
Contact: geosocietyatuh@gmail.com

2020-2021 Officers:

President:  Marco Urdaneta/  murdaneta@uh.edu
VP: Kenneth Shipper/  kenneth.shipper@gmail.com
Treasurer: Ian Morris/  ianmorris2016@yahoo.com
Historian: Leo Collier/  englishviking1998@gmail.com
Secretary: Chase Meinert/  cgmeinert@gmail.com
Marketing Officer: Weston Charles/  westoncharles42@gmail.com
Organizing Chairs: Trey Sessums/  wesessums@uh.edu , Macdennis Nwaeze/  nwaezemacdennis@yahoo.com

SEG Wavelets

SEG Wavelets

SEG Wavelets is the University of Houston's Society of Exploration Geophysicists student chapter. It devoted to promoting education in geophysics. We work with professional organizations, industry professionals, University of Houston faculty, and other EAS student organizations to bring those students educational, social, and possible future employment opportunities.

Advisor: Dr. Lorenzo Colli
Contact: segwavelets@gmail.com
Club Website: www.segwavelets.uh.edu
Facebook Page: www.facebook.com/segwavelets
LinkedIn Page: www.linkedin.com/segwavelets
Official Organization Website: www.seg.org

SEG Wavelets 2020-2021 Officers:
President: Benjamin Miller, Email: miller.benjamin33@gmail.com
Vice President: Michael Martinez, Email: michaelrubenmartinez@gmail.com
Treasurer: Kenneth Shipper, Email: kenneth.shipper@gmail.com
Secretary: Faith Walton, Email: faith.walton13@gmail.com

Other Geoscience Organizations Student Organizations - Previous Officers (click to view)