Skip to main content

Administrative Team

sbrower-fa23.jpg Chair
Dr. Samuel Brower
Phone: 713-743-6119
Email: srbrower@uh.edu
jzhang-fa23.jpg Associate Chair
Dr. Jie Zhang
Phone: 713-743-8974
Email: jzhang64@uh.edu
athompson.jpg Associate Chair for Teacher Education
Dr. Amber Thompson
Phone: 713-743-5024
Email: ammeuth@uh.edu
rperez.jpg Program Manager
Ms. Rebecca Perez
Phone: 713-743-4977
Email: rperez@uh.edu
Christina Salinas Office Coordinator
Ms. Christina Salinas
Phone: 713-743-4417
Email: csalinas8@uh.edu
shouse.jpg Department Business Administrator
Sharon House
Phone: 713-743-9520
Email: srhouse@cougarnet.uh.edu

Program Directors/Specialization Leads

schung.jpg Art Education (M.Ed./Ph.D.)
Dr. Sheng Kuan Chung
Phone: 713-743-0947
Email: skchung@uh.edu
mcole-fa23.jpg Bilingual/ESL Education (M.Ed./Ph.D.)
Dr. Mikel Cole
Phone: 713-743-8250
Email: mwcole3@uh.edu
li-x-fa23.jpg Early Childhood Education (M.Ed./Ph.D.)
Xin Li
Specialization Lead
xli103@uh.edu 
nreis.jpg Director, M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction
Dr. Nancy Reis
Phone: 713-743-9829
Email: nreis@uh.edu
jchauvot.jpg Mathematics Education (Ph.D.)
Director, Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction
Dr. Jennifer Chauvot
Phone: 713-743-9864
Email:  jchauvot@uh.edu
directory-hausmann.jpg Health Science Education (M.Ed./Ed.D.)
Dr. Robert Hausmann
Phone: 713-743-0395
Email: rchausmann@uh.edu
bdogan-fa23.jpg Learning, Design and Technology (M.Ed.)
Dr. Bulent Dogan
Phone: 713-743-6760
Email:  bdogan@ uh.edu  
smcneil.jpg Learning, Design and Technology (Ph.D.)
Dr. Sara McNeil
Phone: 713-743-4975
Email: smcneil@uh.edu
Laveria Hutchison Literacy Education (M.Ed./Ph.D./Ed.D.)
Dr. Laveria Hutchison
Phone: 713-743-4958
Email: lhutchison@uh.edu
mgallagher-fa23.jpg Mathematics Education (M.Ed.)
Dr. Melissa Gallagher
Phone: 713-743-5639
Email: magallagher2@uh.edu 
swong.jpg Science Education (M.Ed./Ph.D.)
Dr. Sissy Wong
Phone: 713-743-1690
Email: sissywong@uh.edu
dthomas-fa23.jpg Social Studies/Social Education
Dustine Thomas
Phone: 713-743-3626
Email: dthomas15@uh.edu 
sbrower-fa23.jpg Social Studies/Social Education (M.Ed.)
Dr. Samuel Brower
Phone: 713-743-6119
Email: srbrower@uh.edu
jbatt.jpg Social Studies/Social Education (Ph.D.)
Dr. Joanna Batt
Phone: 713-743-4968
Email: jbatt@uh.edu 
cgist10.jpg Teaching/Teacher Education (M.Ed./Ph.D.)
Dr. Conra Gist
Phone: 713-743-9549
Email:  cdgist@uh.edu
jalarcon-fa23-1.jpg UH PDEE Teacher Certification Option (M.Ed.)
Dr. Jeannette Alarcón
Phone: 713-743-8653
Email:  jdalarcon2@uh.edu