Skip to main content

Antonya Nelson

Faculty directory »


Antonya Nelson is the author of seven short story collections, including Female Trouble (Scribner's, 2002), and four novels (Talking in Bed, Nobody's Girl, Living to Tell, and Bound). Her work has appeared in the New Yorker, Esquire, Harper's, Redbook, and many other magazines, as well as in anthologies such as Prize Stories: The O. Henry Awards, The Pushcart Prize, and Best American Short Stories. Her books have been New York Times Notable Books of 1992, 1996, 1998, 2000, and 2002. She was named in 1999 by The New Yorker as one of the "twenty young fiction writers for the new millennium." She is the recipient of the 2003 Rea Award for Short Fiction, as well as NEA and Guggenheim Fellowships.


  • M.F.A., University of Arizona
  • B.A., University of Kansas

back to top

Selected Publications

  • Funny Once, a collection of stories, Bloomsbury Press, Spring 2014.
  • Bound, a novel, Bloomsbury Press, Fall 2010; paperback edition, Bloomsbury, Fall 2011.
  • Nothing Right, a collection of stories, Bloomsbury Press, Spring 2009.  Paperback edition, Bloomsbury, Spring 2010.
  • Some Funa collection of stories and a novella, Scribner, March 2006.
  • Female Trouble, a collection of stories, Scribner, April 2002.  Paperback edition, Simon and Schuster, April 2003; Swedish, Chinese editions, 2009.
  • Living to Tell, a novel, Scribner, June, 2000. Paperback edition, Simon and Schuster, June 2001.
  • Nobody's Girl, a novel, Scribner, March, 1998. Paperback, Simon and Schuster, February, 1999.
  • Talking in Bed, a novel, Houghton Mifflin, May, 1996. British, Portuguese, German, and paperback editions, Simon and Schuster, 1998.
  • Family Terrorists, a collection of stories and a novella, Houghton Mifflin, April, 1994. British edition, paperback edition: Simon & Schuster, 1996.
  • In the Land of Men, a collection of short stories, William Morrow, February, 1992. Paperback edi­tions: Avon, 1993; Simon & Schuster, 1999. German language edition: Rowohlt Verlag, 1994.
  • The Expendables, a collection of short stories, University of Georgia Press, January, 1990.  Winner of the Flannery O'Connor Award for Short Fiction.  Paperback editions: Avon, 1992; Simon & Schuster, 1999.
back to top