2013-2014 Ph.D. Job Candidates

Placement Director

Bent Sørensen
Graduate Director
(713) 743-3841
besorensen@uh.edu

Placement Coordinator
Ms. Amber Pozo
Graduate Program Administrator
(713) 743-3805
apozo@uh.edu

 

Name

Fields / 
Job Market Paper

Advisors /
References


Arce-Trigatti

M. Paula Arce-Trigatti

 
(408) 647-6108
parcetrig@gmail.com 
Website
CV

 

Economics of Education
Public Economics
Labor Economics

 “The Impact of State-Mandated Advanced Placement Programs on Student Outcomes”

 

Aimee Chin (main)

Steven Craig 

Chinhui Juhn

 



Best

Jason Best

 
(281) 773-3780
jnbest@uh.edu
Website
CV

Applied Microeconomics
Economics of Education
Law and Economics

 “Vacancy in Justice: Measuring the Effect of Federal Court Judicial Vacancies on Sentencing Decisions”

 

Aimee Chin (main)

Lydia Tiede 

Jee-Yeon Lehmann


Bui

Sa A. Bui

 
(832) 681-6380
sab427@cornell.edu
Website
CV

Economics of Education
Labor Economics

 “How Do Limited English Proficient Students Affect Each Other's Educational Outcomes?  Evidence from Student Panel Data”

 

Scott Imberman 

Aimee Chin 

Michael Lovenheim


Gao

Bin Gao

 
(832) 340-1621
bgao@uh.edu
Website
CV

 

Macroecononomics

 “Essays in Consumption and Risk Sharing”


Bent Sørensen (main)

Vikram Maheshri

Elaine Liu 

 



Garafolo

Pablo Garofalo

 
(832) 549-0669
pjgarofalo2@uh.edu
Website
CV

 

Public Economics
Applied Econometrics
Economics of Education

 “Strategic Spending in Federal Government: Theory and Evidence from the US

 

Gergely Ujhelyi (main)

Chinhui Juhn

Bent Sørensen 

 



Hayduk

Iryna Hayduk

 
(512) 560-0421
ihayduk@uh.edu
Website
CV

Labor Economics
Health Economics
Applied Microeconomics

 “The Effect of Kinship Placement on Foster Children's Well-Being”

 

Aimee Chin (main)

Chinhui Juhn (main)

Andrew Zuppann



Hunt

Jarrod Hunt

 
(832) 779-2125
jehunt@uh.edu
Website
CV

Macroeconomics
International Economics
Monetary Economics
Applied Econometrics


"Debt, Default, and Disaggregation"

David Papell (main)

Bent Sørensen

Dietrich Vollrath




Hunt

Valentyna Katsalap

 
(713) 540-3691
vkatsalap3@uh.edu
Website
CV

Empirical Microeconomics
Labor Economics
Health Economics


"Labor Concessions and Saving Jobs: Lessons from German Metalworking Industry”

Aimee Chin (main)

Chinhui Juhn (main)

Bent Sørensen




Luttini

Emiliano Luttini

 
(832) 883-5711
eeluttini@uh.edu
Website
CV

International Finance
Macroeconomics
 

 “Assessing the Impact of the Argentinean Default on Its Bank Lending Channel”

Bent Sørensen (main)

Dietrich Vollrath

Sebnem Kalemli-Ozcan

 




Tepe

F. Sine Tepe

 
(832) 594-5981
ftepe@central.uh.edu 
Website
CV

Monetary Economics
Financial Economics
Applied Time Series

 “Financial Stress, Regime Switching, and Monetary Policy” 

David Papell (main)

Chris Murray

Dietrich Vollrath

 




Topal

Senay Topal

 
(281) 433-6806
sdtopal@uh.edu
Website
CV

Applied Microeconomics
Economics of Education

 “What is the Incidence of State Merit-based Aid to State Resident University Students? Evidence from the Tennessee Education Lottery Scholarships”

 

Steven Craig (main)

Vikram Maheshri

Elaine Liu