Faculty - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Faculty

Select a category below to jump directly to that section...

Tenured/Tenure-Track Faculty
Amin Alipour

Alipour, M. Amin
Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Oregon State University
Software Engineering, Software Testing and Analysis

Office: PGH 574
(713) 743-7462
maalipou@central.uh.edu

Guoning Chen

Chen, Guoning
Associate Professor

Ph.D., Oregon State University
Scientific Data Analysis and Visualization, Computational Topology, Geometric Modeling, Dynamical Systems

Office: PGH 566
(713) 743-5788
gchen16@uh.edu
Albert Cheng

Cheng, Albert
Professor of Computer Science and Electrical & Computer Engineering

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Real-Time and Embedded Systems, Cyber-Physical Systems, AI, Functional Reactive Programming, Software Engineering, Power-Aware Computing, Computer Security, Computer Networks

Office: PGH 534
(713) 743-3353
amcheng@uh.edu
Zhigang Deng

Deng, Zhigang
Moores Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

Ph.D., University of Southern California
Computer Graphics, Computer Animation, Human Computer Conversation, Robotics

Office: PGH 219
(713) 743-1018
zdeng4@central.uh.edu

Christoph Eick

Eick, Christoph
Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Karlsruhe (Germany)
Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining, Evolutionary Computing, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Databases

Office: PGH 589
(713) 743-3345
ceick@uh.edu
Edgar Gabriel

Gabriel, Edgar
Professor
Associate Department Chair

Ph.D., University of Stuttgart (Germany)
Message Passing Systems, High Performance Computing, Parallel Computing on Distributed Memory Machines, Grid Computing

Office: PGH 228
(713) 743-3857
egabriel@uh.edu
Omprakash Gnawali

Gnawali, Omprakash
Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Southern California
Wireless and Sensor Networks, Network Protocols and Architectures, Mobile Sensing, Social Networks, and Distributed Systems

Office: PGH 230
gnawali@uh.edu
Stephen Huang

Huang, Stephen S.-H.
Professor

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Data Structures, Design and Analysis of Algorithms, Computer Security, Intrusion Detection

Office: PGH 209
(713) 743-3338
shuang@cs.uh.edu
Lennart Johnsson

Johnsson, Lennart
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished University Chair
Professor of Computer Science, Mathematics, and Electrical & Computer Engineering

Ph.D., Chalmers Institute of Technology (Sweden)
Parallel Computer Systems Architecture, Run-Time Systems, Data Parallel Programming and Large-Scale Applications

Office: PGH 592
(713) 743-3371
Johnsson@cs.uh.edu
Ioannis Kakadiaris

Kakadiaris, Ioannis
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished University Professor
Professor of Computer Science, Electrical & Computer Engineering, and Biomedical Engineering

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Biomedical Image Analysis; Computational Biomedicine; Biometrics; Computer Vision; Pattern Recognition

Office: HBS 322
(713) 743-1255
ioannisk@uh.edu
Aron Laszka

Laszka, Aron
Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Budapest University of Technology and Economics
Security, Cyber-Physical Systems, Game Theory, Economics of Security

Office: PGH 524
alaszka@uh.edu
Ernst Leiss

Leiss, Ernst
Professor

Dr. Techn., Vienna University of Technology (Austria)
Vector and Parallel Computing, Data Security, Databases, Formal and Programming Languages, Geophysical Data Processing

Office: PGH 522
(713) 743-3359
eleiss@uh.edu
Arjun Mukherjee

Mukherjee, Arjun
Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago
Bayesian Inference, Data Mining, Natural Language Processing, Sentiment Analysis, Opinion Spam, Web Mining

Office: PGH 582
arjun@cs.uh.edu
Carlos Ordonez

Ordonez, Carlos
Associate Professor

Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Data Science Systems, Big Data

Office: PGH 571
(713) 743-1013
carlos@uh.edu

Gopal Pandurangan

Pandurangan, Gopal
Professor

Ph.D., Brown University
Algorithms, Distributed Computing, Networks, Large-scale Data, Computational Biology

Office: PGH 572
(713) 743-5556
gopal@cs.uh.edu
Jehan-Francois Paris

Pâris, Jehan-François
Professor

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Distributed Systems, Storage Systems, Performance Evaluation

Office: PGH 569
(713) 743-3341
jfparis@uh.edu
Ioannis Pavlidis

Pavlidis, Ioannis
Eckhard Pfeiffer Professor

Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Computational Biomedicine, Biometrics, Computer Vision, Pattern Recognition, Software Engineering

Office: HBS 306
(713) 743-0101
ipavlidis@uh.edu
Shishir Shah

Shah, Shishir
Professor
Department Chair

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Quantitative Microscopy, Computational Biology, Image Analysis, Computer Vision, Pattern Recognition, Image Instrumentation

Office: PGH 215
(713) 743-3360
shah@cs.uh.edu
Shi, Weidong (Larry)

Shi, Weidong (Larry)
Associate Professor

Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Enabling System Technologies for Services, Computing Systems, Behavioral Computing

Office: PGH 567
wshi3@uh.edu
Solorio, Thamar

Solorio, Thamar
Professor

Ph.D., National Institute of Astrophysics, Optics, and Electronics (Mexico)
Natural Language Processing, Information Extraction

Office: PGH 584
(713) 743-5542
solorio@cs.uh.edu
Jaspal Subhlok

Subhlok, Jaspal
Professor

Ph.D., Rice University
Educational technologies and their impact on learning; Parallel and Distributed Computing

Office: PGH 217
(713) 743-3340
jaspal@uh.edu
Nikolaos V. Tsekos

Tsekos, Nikolaos V.
Professor

Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), Computer Technology, Robotics and Physiology

Office: PGH 595
(713) 743-3358
ntsekos@cs.uh.edu
Rakesh Verma

Verma, Rakesh
Professor

Ph.D., State University of New York-Stony Brook
Formal Methods, Computational Logic, Text/Data Mining and Computer Security

Office: PGH 532
(713) 743-3348
rverma@uh.edu
Ricardo Vilalta

Vilalta, Ricardo
Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Machine Learning, Computational and Statistical Learning Theory, Neural Networks, Data Mining, Artificial Intelligence

Office: MRE 203C
(713) 743-3614
vilalta@cs.uh.edu
Panruo Wu

Wu, Panruo
Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of California, Riverside
High performance computing, Numerical Algorithms and Software, Parallel/Distributed Computing, and Big Data Analytics

Office: PGH 564
pwu7@uh.edu
Instructional Faculty
Victoria Hilford

Hilford, Victoria
Instructional Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Houston

Office: PGH 513
vhilford@cs.uh.edu

long-kevin.png

Long, Kevin
Professor of Practice

M.S., Rice University

kblong@uh.edu

rincon.jfif

Rincon, Carlos
Instructional Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Houston

Office: PGH 577
(713) 743-8547
carincon@uh.edu

Nouhad Rizk

Rizk, Nouhad
Instructional Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies

Ed.D., Leicester University (United Kingdom)

Office: PGH 565
(713) 743-3710
njrizk@uh.edu

Chang Yun

Yun, Chang
Instructional Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Houston

Office: PGH 514
(713) 743-3366
cyun@uh.edu
Joint Faculty
Deniz Gurkan Gurkan, Deniz
Associate Professor of Computer Engineering Technology
Joint Associate Professor of Computer Science
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Computer networking, measurements, software-defined networking, interoperable data exchange protocols, distributed systems, optical fiber communications.

Office: TCB 230B
(713) 743-4037
dgurkan@uh.edu
Zhu Han Han, Zhu
Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Joint Professor of Computer Science
Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park
Big Data Analysis, Wireless Networking, Smart Grid, Resource Allocation, and Security

Office: W302 Engineering Building 2 
(713) 743-4437
zhan2@uh.edu
Fatima Merchant Merchant, Fatima
Associate Professor of Computer Engineering Technology
Joint Associate Professor of Computer Science, Biomedical Engineering, and Electrical & Computer Engineering
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Computational Biology and Medicine

fmerchant@uh.edu
Badrinath Roysam Roysam, Badrinath
Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Joint Professor of Computer Science
Ph.D., Washington University
Biological image analysis High-performance computing Brain tissue mapping and Neuroprosthetic devices Computational Immunology Subsurface sensing and imaging systems

Office: N325 Engineering Building 1
(713) 743-4400
broysam@central.uh.edu
Adjunct Faculty
Uma Ramamurthy Ramamurthy, Uma
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Memphis

uma.ramamurthy@bcm.edu
Stotzer Stotzer, Eric
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston

ejstotzer@uh.edu
Venkat Subramaniam Subramaniam, Venkat
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston

svenkat@cs.uh.edu
Lecturers
Dan Biediger Biediger, Daniel
Lecturer
Ph.D. Candidate, University of Houston

debiediger@uh.edu

jinaobo.jpg Jin, Aobo
Lecturer
Ph.D., University of Houston

ajin4@uh.edu

Mantini, Pranav Mantini, Pranav
Lecturer
Research Associate, Quantitative Imaging Lab
Ph.D., University of Houston
pmantini@uh.edu
Raj Singh Singh, Raj
Lecturer
Ph.D., University of Louisiana at Lafayette
rsingh@cs.uh.edu