Skip to main content

Faculty

Ken Brown

Kenneth L. Brown, Ph.D.
Ph.D. The Pennsylvania State University; Professor
Archeology, cultural ecology, historical archeology; Mesoamerica, African Diaspora
Old Science Building, Suite 230
713-743-3987
klbrown@uh.edu
Download CV

de-genova-nicholas.jpg

Nicholas De Genova, Ph.D.
Ph.D., University of Chicago; Professor
Old Science Building, Suite 230
713-743-0728
npdegenova@uh.edu
Download CV

placeholder.png

Marwa Ghazali, Ph.D.
Ph.D., University of Kansas; Assistant Professor
mghazali@uh.edu

Andrew Gordon

Andrew J. Gordon, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, MPH Harvard; Associate Professor
Medical and Applied Anthropology, Urban Environments, International Development, Alcohol and Drug Studies; Latin America, West Africa, U.S. Cities
Old Science Building, Suite 230
agordon3@uh.edu
Download CV

Dinah

Dinah Hannaford, Ph.D.
Ph.D., Emory University; Associate Professor
drhannaf@central.uh.edu

Elizabeth Higgs

Elizabeth Higgs, Ph.D.
Ph.D., University of Florida, Lecturer
Old Science Building, Suite 230
ewhiggs@central.uh.edu

Kate McElvaney

Kate McElvaney
M.A., University of Houston, Lecturer
Old Science Building, Suite 230
kamcelvaney@uh.edu

Keith McNeal

Keith McNeal, Ph.D.
Ph.D., Emory University, Associate Professor
Cultural anthropology, comparative religions, gender studies, globalization, ritual and performance, African and Hindu traditions in the Americas, Caribbean studies
On Leave, 2022-2023
Visiting Senior Lecturer, University of the West Indies – Trinidad & Tobago
kemcneal@uh.edu
Download CV

Rachel Afi Quinn

Rachel Afi Quinn, Ph.D.
Ph.D., University of Michigan, Ann Arbor; Associate Professor
On Leave, 2022-2023

Old Science Building, Suite 230
raquinn@uh.edu
Download CV

Susan J. Rasmussen, Ph.D.

Susan J. Rasmussen, Ph.D.
Ph.D., Indiana University; Professor
Religion, cultural theory, symbolism and the arts, gender, life course and aging; Africa
Old Science Building, Suite 230
srasmussen@uh.edu
Download CV

Debarati Sen, Ph.D.

Debarati Sen, Ph.D.
Ph.D., Rutgers University; Associate Professor
Anthropology Undergraduate Program Director, and Anthropology Graduate Program Director and Advisor

dsen2@central.uh.edu

Ivan Small, Ph.D.

Ivan Small, Ph.D.
Ph.D., Cornell University; Associate Professor
ivsmall@central.uh.edu


Affiliated Faculty

Mohan

Mohan Ambikaipaker, Ph.D.
Ph.D., University of Texas - Austin
Associate Professor & Associate Director, World Cultures and Literatures Program
Department of Modern and Classical Languages
mambikai@Central.UH.EDU

Chatwara Duran, Ph.D.

Chatwara Duran , Ph.D.
Ph.D., Arizona State University
Associate Professor of Linguistics, Department of English 
221A, Roy Cullen Building
cduran4@ uh.edu
Download CV

hernandez-mt-2018.jpg

Marie Theresa Hernandez, Ph.D.
Ph.D., Rice University
Professor of World Cultures and Literatures, Department of Modern and Classical Languages
610 Agnes Arnold Hall
mherna18@central.uh.edu
Download CV

lee-e1.jpg

Eunjeong Lee, Ph.D.
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
Assistant Professor of Linguistics, Department of English
elee33@central.uh.edu

Sarasij Majumder, Ph.D.

Sarasij Majumder, Ph.D.
Ph.D., Rutgers University
Sita and Bhaskara Rao Mutyala Endowed Professor of India Studies
Director of India Studies
Associate Professor, Department of Modern and Classical Languages
smajumd4@central.uh.edu

Kristina Neumann, Ph.D.

Kristina Neumann, Ph.D.
Ph.D. University of Cincinnati
Associate Professor of History
529 Agnes Arnold Hall
kmneuma2@central.uh.edu

Elizabeth Rodwell

Elizabeth Rodwell, Ph.D.
Ph.D., Rice University
Assistant Professor of Digital Media, Department of Information and Logistics Technology
344 Brazos Hall (Sugar Land campus)
erodwell@Central.UH.EDU
Download CV

Lauren Zentz

Lauren Zentz, Ph.D.
Ph.D., University of Arizona
Associate Professor of Linguistics, Department of English
236D Roy Cullen Building
lrzentz@central. uh.edu
Download CV


Visiting Scholar

 picozza-profile-pic.jpg

Fiorenza Picozza, Ph.D.
Visiting Scholar, (2022 - 2023)
Old Science Building, Suite 230
Email: fpicozza@central.uh.edu

 


Retired Faculty

Rebecca Storey, Ph.D.

Rebecca Storey, Ph.D.
Professor emerita
rstorey@uh.edu
Download CV

Randolph J. Widmer, Ph.D.

Randolph J. Widmer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor emeritus
rwidmer@uh.edu
Download CV