Skip to main content

Faculty & Staff

Full-Time Faculty

Scott Savage

Scott V. Savage

Associate Professor, Interim Chair 
474 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.0267
svsavage@uh.edu 

kathryn-anderson.jpg

Kathryn Freeman Anderson

Assistant Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
478 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.9476
kateanderson@uh.edu

Amanda

Amanda Baumle

Professor 
493 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.3944
akbaumle@uh.edu 

Stella Grigorian

Stella Grigorian

Associate Instructional Professor
Graduate Faculty Advisor 
473 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.3960
sgrigorian@uh.edu 

h-hwang.jpg

Hyunseok Hwang

Assistant Professor
hhwang6@central.uh.edu

Tracey Xavia Karner

Tracy Xavia Karner

Associate Professor
495 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.3961
txkarner@uh.edu 

Sheila Katz

Sheila M. Katz

Assistant Professor
466 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.1918
smkatz@uh.edu 

Samantha Kwan

Samantha Kwan

Associate Professor 
496 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.3948
sskwan@uh.edu 

Shane Lee

Shayne Lee

Associate Professor
471 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.3954
slee3@uh.edu 

Jon Lorence

Jon Lorence

Professor
481 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.3959
jlorence@uh.edu 

Maria A. Monserud

Maria A. Monserud

Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies
489 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.3962
mamonser@central.uh.edu

nelson.jpg

Steven M. Nelson

Associate Instructional Professor 
483 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.7987
snelson4@uh.edu

Pamela Anne Quiroz

Pamela A. Quiroz

Distinguished Professor of Sociology
482 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.3134
paquiroz@uh.edu 

Zelma Oyarvide Tuthill

Zelma Oyarvide Tuthill

Assistant Professor 
469 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
zloyarvide@uh.edu 


Lecturers

Carla Brailey

Carla Brailey
cbrailey@central.uh.edu

Monalisa Chandra

Monalisa Chandra
494 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.3945
mchandra@central.uh.edu

Sharla Colbert

Sharla Colbert
sscolber@central.uh.edu

Mary Ann Davis

Mary Ann Davis
madavi23@central.uh.edu

Pat Dorsey

Pat Dorsey
468 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.3950
pldorsey@central.uh.edu

Joseph Gallo

Joseph Gallo
jrgallo@central.uh.edu

Jennifer Graves

Jennifer Graves
713.743.3953
jgraves@uh.edu

Luis Salinas

Luis Salinas
494 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.3948
lsalinas@uh.edu

noimage.jpg

Sarath Menon
494 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.3945
skmenon@central.uh.edu

Sheila Singh

Sheila Singh
494 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.3945
sksingh7@uh.edu


Faculty Emeriti

A. Gary Dworkin
Professor
491 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.3955
gdworkin@uh.edu

Helen Rose Ebaugh
Professor Emeritus
450 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.3952
ebaugh@uh.edu

Tatcho Mindiola
Professor Emeritus
450 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
mexa1@central.uh.edu 

 

Staff

Shantá Hamilton
Assistant Business Administrator
Department of Sociology
713.743.5619
snhamilt@central.uh.edu

Monica Phelps
Administrative Coordinator
Department of Sociology
713.743.2584
mlphelp2@central.uh.edu

Advisors

Landis Odoms
Undergraduate Advisor
467 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.3947
lodoms@uh.edu

Stella Grigorian
Graduate Faculty Advisor
473 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713.743.3960
sgrigorian@uh.edu