Skip to main content

Current Faculty

Please note that we are no longer in McElhinney Hall. Faculty have been relocated to the Science Building (S) or the Science and Research Building 2 (SR2). Please see your syllabus for office locations. If you are looking for your instructor and do not see them listed here, be sure to check our Ph.D. student directory.

Dietrich Vollrath

Dietrich Vollrath
Ph.D., Brown  University
Department Chair and Professor 
Department of Economics
Economic Growth and Development 
devollrath@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.3806 • 220B (S)
Website Blog Download CV

Ruxandra Prodan Boul

Ruxandra Prodan Boul
Ph.D., University of Houston
Instructional Associate Professor
International Finance, Time Series Econometrics, Macroeconomics
rprodan@uh.edu • Online available by Teams or Zoom
Website Download CV

Nathan Canen

Nathan Canen
Ph.D., University of British Columbia
Assistant Professor
Political Economy, Industrial Organization, Applied Econometrics
ncanen@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.0859 • 208D–17 (S)
Website

Aimee Chin

Aimee Chin
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Professor
Labor, Development
achin@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.3761 • 208E–15 (S)
Website Download CV

Steven Craig

Steven Craig
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Professor
Public Economics, Public Choice, Applied Microeconometrics
scraig@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.3812 • 208D-15 (S)
Website Download CV

German Cubas

German Cubas
Ph.D., University of Iowa
Associate Professor
Macroeconomics and Economic Growth and Development
gcubasnorando@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.3187 • 208E–5 (S)
Website Download CV

Willa Helterline Friedman

Willa Helterline Friedman
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Assistant Professor
Economic Development, Health, Political Economy, Behavioral Economics
whfriedman@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.5620 • 208D–12 (S)
Website Download CV

Ed Hirs

Ed Hirs
MA and MBA, Yale University
Lecturer
Energy Markets, Game Theory
ehirs@central.uh.edu • Phone: 713.961.9661 • 208 (S)
Website 

Brett Jiu

Brett Jiu
Ph.D., New York University
Visiting Professor
Financial Economics, Business Organization
hjiu@uh.edu • 208E-14 (S)

Chinhui Juhn

Chinhui Juhn
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Henry Graham Professor of Economics
Labor Economics
cjuhn@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.3823 • 208E–12 (S)
Website Download CV

Janet Kohlhase

Janet Kohlhase
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Professor
Urban Economics, Regional Economics, Environmental Economics
jkohlhase@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.3799 • 208E–3 (S)
Website

Elaine Liu

Elaine Liu
Ph.D., Princeton University
Professor
Development, Health Economics, Behavioral Economics and Labor
emliu@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.3861 • 208E–8 (S)
Website

Vikram Maheshri

Vikram Maheshri
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Associate Professor
Applied Microeconomics, Urban Economics, Political Economy
vmaheshri@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.3833 • 208D–13 (S)
Website Download CV

Christian Murray

Christian Murray
Ph.D., University of Washington
Associate Professor
Time Series Econometrics, Business Cycle Analysis, International Finance
cjmurray@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.3835 • 208E–10  (S)
Website Download CV

Vegard Mokleiv Nygaard

Vegard Mokleiv Nygaard
Ph.D., University of Minnesota 
Assistant Professor
Macroeconomics, Health Economics, Public Finance
vmnygaard@uh.edu • 208D–14 (S)
Website

Radek Paluszynski

Radek Paluszynski
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Assistant Professor
International Economics, Macroeconomics, Information Economics
rpaluszynski@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.3801 • 208D–16 (S)
Website Download CV

David Papell

David Papell
Ph.D., Columbia University
Joel W. Sailors Endowed Professor of Economics
International Economics, Macroeconomics, Time Series Econometrics
dpapell@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.3807 • 208E–9 (S)
Website Download CV

Dhan Peru

Dhanushka Peru
Ph.D., University of Houston
Visiting Professor
Development and Health Economics, Migration
pddarunasiri@uh.edu • 208D (S)
Website 

saboury-p.jpg

Piruz Saboury
Ph.D., Texas A&M University
Instructional Assistant Professor
psabour2@central.uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.3800 • 208D–9 (S)
Website

Bent Sorensen

Bent Sorensen
Ph.D., University of Copenhagen
Professor, Lay Professor in International Economics
Macroeconomics, Econometrics
besorensen@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.3841 • 208E–13 (S)
Website Download CV

Andrea Szabo

Andrea Szabó
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Associate Professor
Industrial Organization, Development Economics
aszabo2@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.3840 • 208E–14 (S)
Website Download CV

Rebecca Achee Thornton

Rebecca Achée Thornton
Ph.D., University of Houston
Director  M.A., Applied Economics Program, Instructional Associate Professor
Macroeconomics, Economic Growth
rthornton@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.3820 • 122D (SR2)
Download CV

Gergely Ujhelyi

Gergely Ujhelyi
Ph.D., Harvard University
Associate Professor
Political Economy, Public Economics, Development Economics
gujhelyi@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.3815 • 208E–6 (S)
Website

Fan Wang

Fan Wang
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Associate Professor
Development Economics, Financial Development, Health Economics
fwang26@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.0329 • 208E–7 (S)
Website

Kei-Mu Yi

Kei-Mu Yi
Ph.D., University of Chicago
M.D. Anderson Professor of Economics, Ph.D. Program Director
International Economics, Macroeconomics
kyi3@central.uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.3331 • 208D–1 (S)
Website Download CV

Natalia Zhivan

Natalia Zhivan 
Ph.D.,  Boston College 
Undergraduate Program Director, Instructional Associate Professor 
Health Economics, Aging, Applied Econometrics 
nazhivan@uh.edu • Phone: 713.743.0505 • 208D–18 (S)

Emeritus Faculty

John Antel

John Antel
Ph.D., University of California, LA
Professor, retired
Labor Economics
antel@uh.edu
Download CV

Paul Gregory

Richard Bean
Ph.D., University of Washington
Professor Emeritus
Economic History
richardnbean@sbcglobal.net

Thomas DeGregori Thomas DeGregori
Ph.D., The University of Texas
Professor Emeritus
Economic Development, Technology, Science in Economic Change, African, Asian and Caribbean Economic Development
trdegreg@uh.edu
Download CV
Paul Gregory

Paul Gregory
Ph.D., Harvard University
Professor Emeritus, Cullen Distinguished Professor of Economics
Soviet Economics, Transition Economics, Economic History, Comparative Economics, Economic Demography, Energy Economics
pgregory@uh.edu 
Forbes Blog Download CV

Tom Mayor

Thomas Mayor
Ph.D., University of Maryland
Professor Emeritus
Law and Economics
thmayor@sbcglobal.net

Barton Smith

Barton Smith
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Professor Emeritus
Urban Economics
bartsmith@aol.com

Henry Steele

Henry Steele
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Professor Emeritus
International Economics, Price Theory