Student Organizations

The Graduate College of Social Work Student Association (GCSW-SA) actively promotes professional and social activities among students. Membership is open to all current GCSW students. The association relies on membership dues to fund the association's annual projects, including a graduation party each May. Additionally, the association serves as a link to the school's administration and faculty. Students are encouraged to become involved in various college committees.

All GCSW students are eligible for membership in the National Association of Social Workers (NASW); reduced membership rates are available for students. NASW is the primary professional organization for social workers and has state chapters throughout the country. The Houston Branch of NASW is the largest in the state. When the GCSWSA holds elections for its officers, a student representative to the local branch of NASW is also elected to represent our students.

GCSW Student Organizations and Honor Societies
OrganizationStudent RepsAdvisor
GCSW Student Association
(SA)

Jill Gracely
jill@gracely.com
Emily Draving
emily.draving@gmail.com

Jamie Parker
jparker@central.uh.edu
Alliance 

Allison Abdias
allisonjabdias@gmail.com
Anna Billingsly
annabiling@gmail.com

Jodi Berger-Cardoso
jcardoso@central.uh.edu
Association of Gerontology Social Workers
(AGES/AGIFT)
   
Association of Asian American Social Workers
(AAASW)
Patrick Leung
pleung@uh.edu
Association of Black Social Workers
(ABSW)
Sondera Malry
smalry@msn.com
Clinical Leadership Society
(CLS)

Denise Greenwood
dmcg_1962@yahoo.com
Ebony Sims
easims84@gmail.com
Mai Spickelmier
mai_e@yahoo.com
Katie York
katieyork@ymail.com

Monit Cheung
mcheung@uh.edu
Donna Amtsberg
dkamtsbe@central.uh.edu
Arnitia Walker
amitche7@central.uh.edu
CWEP Student & Alumni Organization

Monit Cheung
mcheung@uh.edu
Brunessia Wilson
bwilson3@uh.edu

STRAIGHT GAY ALLIANCE
(SGA)
 
MACRO Student Organization Suzanne Pritzker
spritzker@central.uh.edu
Students for the Advancement of International Social Work
(SAISW)
Patrick Leung
pleung@uh.edu
Hispanic Student Association
(HSA)
Steven Applewhite
sapplewhite@uh.edu
Social Workers for Intercultural Collaboration
(SWIC)
Monit Cheung
mcheung@uh.edu

North American Association of Christians in Social Work

   
National Association of Social Workers
(NASW)
Januari Leo
januarileo@yahoo.com
Phi Alpha Honor Society Patrick Leung
pleung@uh.edu
Social Welfare Action Alliance
(SWAA)
Susan Robbins
srobbins@uh.edu
S.W.I.F.T. Christian Student Organization
Tikkun Olam
Ann Liberman
aliberman@uh.edu
UH GCSW Alumni Association
Ann Liberman
aliberman@uh.edu