Student Organizations

The Graduate College of Social Work Student Association (GCSW-SA) actively promotes professional and social activities among students. Membership is open to all current GCSW students. The association relies on membership dues to fund the association's annual projects, including a graduation party each May. Additionally, the association serves as a link to the school's administration and faculty. Students are encouraged to become involved in various college committees.

All GCSW students are eligible for membership in the National Association of Social Workers (NASW); reduced membership rates are available for students. NASW is the primary professional organization for social workers and has state chapters throughout the country. The Houston Branch of NASW is the largest in the state. When the GCSWSA holds elections for its officers, a student representative to the local branch of NASW is also elected to represent our students.

GCSW Student Organizations and Honor Societies
Organization Student Reps Advisor
GCSW Student Association
(SA)

TBA

Jamie Parker
jparker@central.uh.edu
Alliance 

TBA

Jodi Berger-Cardoso
jcardoso@central.uh.edu
Association of Gerontology Social Workers
(AGES/AGIFT)
TBA  
Association of Asian American Social Workers
(AAASW)
TBA Patrick Leung
pleung@uh.edu
Association of Black Social Workers
(ABSW)
TBA Sondera Malry
smalry@msn.com
Clinical Leadership Society
(CLS)

TBA

Monit Cheung
mcheung@uh.edu
Donna Amtsberg
dkamtsbe@central.uh.edu
Arnitia Walker
amitche7@central.uh.edu
CWEP Student & Alumni Organization TBA

Monit Cheung
mcheung@uh.edu
Brunessia Wilson
bwilson3@uh.edu

MACRO Student Organization TBA Suzanne Pritzker
spritzker@central.uh.edu
Students for the Advancement of International Social Work
(SAISW)
TBA Patrick Leung
pleung@uh.edu
Hispanic Student Association
(HSA)
TBA Steven Applewhite
sapplewhite@uh.edu
Social Workers for Intercultural Collaboration
(SWIC)
TBA Monit Cheung
mcheung@uh.edu

North American Association of Christians in Social Work

 TBA  
National Association of Social Workers
(NASW)
TBA Januari Leo
januarileo@yahoo.com
Phi Alpha Honor Society TBA Patrick Leung
pleung@uh.edu
Social Welfare Action Alliance
(SWAA)
TBA Susan Robbins
srobbins@uh.edu
S.W.I.F.T. Christian Student Organization TBA
Tikkun Olam
TBA
Ann Liberman
aliberman@uh.edu
UH GCSW Alumni Association
TBA
Ann Liberman
aliberman@uh.edu