Skip to main content

Student Organizations

Joining a GCSW Student Organization is a wonderful way to get involved with other students, faculty and community members who share your interests and professional goals.  The Graduate College of Social Work has a number of opportunities to get involved with campus-wide and college groups. Joining a student organization also provides you with leadership and professional development opportunities, to engage in social activities, and to build lifelong friendships. Some organizations require a small fee for membership. Below is a full list of organizations. 
 
Membership in honor societies is either through invitation or an application process, and is based on academic merit.  Student membership in the professional organizations is available to students who are in accredited programs that relate to that of the mission of the professional organization. Usually dues are required.
 
Active Student Organizations include:
 
GCSW Student Association is the main student organization for the GCSW with the goal of promoting unity among all students of the college. The Association provides an opportunity for students to address their interests and concerns at the college. The Association also participates in and organizes a number of college activities throughout the year including social events, orientation, graduation, and community outreach and service projects.
Student Leaders: Karen Castellano – karencastellano@yahoo.com & Sarah Tadlock - sarah.j.tadlock@gmail.com

Staff Advisor: Micol Rosen – mrosen@central.uh.edu
 
Association of Asian American Social Workers (AAASW)
Student Leader: Nguyet “Mimi” Tran – nguyet.anh.tran@gmail.com
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Patrick Leung - pleung@uh.edu
 
Clinical Leadership Society (CLS)
Student Leaders: Jenna Norton – jenna.nrtn@gmail.com, Zainab Ntaamah – zainabntaamah@yahoo.com & Mimi Duong – dvttmc@gmail.com
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Monit Cheung - mcheung@uh.edu
Staff Advisor: Arnitia Walker - amitche7@central.uh.edu
 
Child Welfare Education Project (CWEP) Student & Alumni Organization is for students and alumni who are part of the Title IV E funded Child Welfare Education Project, the program in which students are prepared for the challenging and rewarding work in Children’s Protective Services.
Student Leader: Fakiya Blade – fakiya_blade@yahoo.com
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Monit Cheung - mcheung@uh.edu
Staff Advisor: Brunessia Wilson - bwilson3@uh.edu
 
Hispanic Student Association (HSA)
Student Leader: Isabel Arguello – ms.arguello1988@gmail.com & Liz Bradfor – ebradfor@central.uh.edu
Faculty Advisors: Dr. Luis Torres – lrtorres@uh.edu & Dr. Isabel Torres  - itorres3@Central.UH.EDU
 
MACRO Student Organization
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Suzanne Pritzker - spritzker@central.uh.edu
 
Policy Insiders
Student Leader: Mary Beth Meier - maryelizabeth.meier@gmail.com
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Suzanne Pritzker – spritzker@central.uh.edu
 
Students for the Advancement of International Social Work (SAISW)
Student Leader: Holly Heil – holly.heil@selu.edu
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Patrick Leung - pleung@uh.edu
 
Support and Self-Care Group (SSG) exists to enhance the overall well-being of the social work students in the Graduate College of Social Work. The aim of SSG is to help social work students connect with others in order to better their skill set academically, professionally, and emotionally.
Student Leaders: Amanda Rhodes - aarhodes45@gmail.com & Giselle Andujar - leadja07@gmail.com
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Monit Cheung - mcheung@uh.edu