Skip to main content

History | 2010-2019

1946-1949 Button  1950-1959 button 1960-1969 button 1970-1979 button 1980-1989 button 1990-1999 button 2000-2009 button 2010-2019 button 2020-2021 button home button

Health Building 2 feature photo

2010 - Team of Allison Palmer and Christi Parker win second consecutive Texas Society of Health-system Pharmacists Clinical Skills Competition.

2010 - Then-Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst serves as UHCOP Class of 2010 Commencement speaker.

 st. lukes photo

2010 - The Center for Antimicrobial Stewardship and Epidemiology at St. Luke’s Episcopal Hospital (now Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center) is recognized with the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ Best Practices Award.

2012 - Richard E. Wainerdi, the late Texas Medical Center President & CEO for nearly three decades, serves as Class of 2012 Commencement speaker.

2012 - UHCOP and Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center launch pilot Longitudinal Clinical Experiential Program in which students complete a majority of their clinical rotations at the institution.

2013 - UHCOP establishes affiliation with Vecino Health Centers, a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) serving Houston’s near-eastside community.

Kappa Epsilonaward

2013 - Faculty member Catherine Hatfield wins Kappa Epsilon’s national Outstanding Advisor Award.

2013 - The UHCOP Delta Delta Chapter of the Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity celebrates its 50th year.

summer camp 2013

2013 - UHCOP launches its first Pharmacy Summer Camp for high school students in their junior and senior years.

HOMES photo

2013 - UHCOP receives American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Student Community-engaged Service Award for its work at the H.O.M.E.S. Clinic. 

2013 - UHCOP Pharm.D. graduates score a perfect 100% first-time pass rate on the NAPLEX and MPJE licensure exams.

2013 - Alumnus Ed Horton receives the national Willard B. Simmons NCPA Independent Pharmacist Award.

2013 - The inaugural PPS Research Symposium is held by the Department of Pharmacological and Pharmaceutical Sciences.  

2014 - Acting Deputy Surgeon General Rear Admiral Scott F. Giberson serves as Class of 2014 Commencement speaker.

2014 - For second consecutive year, UHCOP Pharm.D. graduates achieve perfect 100% first-time pass rate on the NAPLEX and MPJE licensure exams.

2015 -  National Chapter of the Year for Student National Pharmaceutical Association and Phi Lambda Sigma chapters.

2015 - Construction begins on college's new home in Health and Biomedical Sciences Building 2.

2015 - Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board approves college department name change from Clinical Sciences and Administration to Pharmacy Practice and Translational Research.

2015 - UHCOP and McAllen-based South Texas College sign articulation agreement to create Pharm.D. student pipeline program.

2015 - Pharmacy Certificate in Hispanic Healthcare, which recognizes the linguistic and cultural competency in the delivery of pharmacy service, is approved by Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

2015 - The Pharmacy Leadership and Administration M.S. degree approved by UH Board of Regents and Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

2015 - College sets new Fiscal Year record of $7.6 million in research funding.

2016 - Pharmaceutical Health Outcomes and Policy team wins ISPOR International Student Research competition.

2016 - UH holds ground-breaking ceremony at site of college’s new home: Health 2. 

2016 - UHCOP joins nationwide campaign led by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy to enhance education of students and practitioners in counseling overdose-reversal medications to reverse opioid misuse and dependence.

2016 - Pharm.D./MBA dual degree program approved.

2017 - HBSB2 construction to be completed in June; open for classes in Fall.

2017 - UHCOP’s Texas Medical Center Building sustains damage in the aftermath of Hurricane Harvey, forcing faculty, students and staff to relocate to the main campus.

2017 - Construction of the college’s new home in Health 2 is substantially completed, with move-in of most administrative staff, Pharm.D. students, and faculty in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Translational Research.

2017 - UHCOP and Edinburg-based Doctors Hospital at Renaissance sign collaboration agreement establishing the Rio Grande Valley Pharm.D. Satellite Program.

2017 - UH team wins historic second consecutive win in the International Society of Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research (ISPOR) Student Research Competition.

boblit photo

2017 - The college receives its first endowed professorship – the Robert L. Boblitt Endowed Professorship in Drug Discovery – from the son of the late faculty member and administrator.

2018 - Graduate students and faculty, research staff and administrative staff from the Pharmaceutical Health Outcomes & Policy and Pharmacological & Pharmaceutical Sciences departments move to Health 2.

2018 - The Prescription Drug Misuse Education and Research (PREMIER) Center is established at the college with a focus on prescription drug misuse research and education, with initial funding supported by a multi-million grant from the Texas Health & Human Services Commission/U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Administration.

2018 - The inaugural class of Academic Pharmacy Fellows joins the program aimed at developing the next generation of leaders in pharmacy academia.

2018 - Humana’s $15 million gift to UH includes funding for the Humana Integrated Health System Sciences Institute, which incorporates the colleges of Pharmacy, Medicine, Nursing and Optometry, and endowed dean’s chairs in each of those colleges.

2019 - Retired faculty member Randall Prince awarded emeritus status from UH.

2019 - Student National Pharmaceutical Association (SNPhA) wins third consecutive national Large Chapter of the Year title.

2019 - Pharm.D. student Sara Mirjamali finishes in 1st Runner-up in the APhA-ASP National Patient Counseling Competition.