Skip to main content

History | 1990-1999

1946-1949 Button  1950-1959 button 1960-1969 button 1970-1979 button 1980-1989 button 1990-1999 button 2000-2009 button 2010-2019 button 2020-2021 button home button

50 years feature photo

1990 – George C. Webb named UHCOP Distinguished Alumnus of the Year.

1991 – Mustafa F. Lokhandwala (Ph.D. '75) becomes dean.

James "Jim" T. McCarty UHCOP named Distinguished Alumnus of the Year.

1992 – James T. "Jim" McCarty becomes first alumnus elected national president of the Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Society (a total of five alumni would be elected to the office).

The inaugural International Day festival – aimed at celebrating the diverse cultural heritage within the college community – is launched by the Class of 1995. 

Harold Nelms named UHCOP Distinguished Alumnus of the Year.

1993 – Dean Mustafa F. Lokhandwala becomes first UH dean to win the Sigma Xi Research Excellence Award.

Pharmacology graduate students sweep Southwest Section presentation awards competition at the Society for the Experimental Biology and Medicine meeting.

Ron Clifford named UHCOP Distinguished Alumnus of the Year.

1994 – UH Students receive 3M award for community service through the Brown Bag programs.

The executive conference room in Science & Research Building 2 is dedicated in memory of late Dean Joseph Buckley.

Jeanne Ann Stasny and Howard Biel named UHCOP Distinguished Alumnus of the Year co-recipients.

1995 – The entry-level Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) degree is approved by UH Board of Regents and Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Construction of the Contemporary Pharmacy Practice Laboratory, along with reconstruction of the Sterile Products Laboratory, are completed at the TMC Campus building.

UHCOP records sixth straight year of 100% pass rate on NABPLEX (now NAPLEX).

Two papers coauthored by faculty researcher Richard A. Bond (B.S. ’83, ’88) published in the journals Nature and Science stun the scientific community with research findings indicating that congestive heart failure results from desensitization of beta adrenergic receptor kinases. One of Bond’s coauthors, Robert J. Lefkowitz at Duke University, would go on to win the 2012 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

The Center for Pharmaceutical Care of the Elderly (CPCE) was founded at UHCOP.

Irwin Miller (’50) receives Robert L. Hays Outstanding Consultant Pharmacist Award from the Texas Pharmacy Association.

Shara L. Zatopek (’74) is elected national president of Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Society, Pharmacist of the Year by the Harris County Pharmacy Association, and APhA-Academy of Students of Pharmacy (ASP) Outstanding Chapter Advisor by the American Pharmaceutical Association. 

The college’s 50th anniversary celebration plans are announced with the unveiling of the 50th anniversary logo at the UH-University of Texas football game at the Houston Astrodome. Anniversary co-chairs Irwin Miller (’50) and James T. "Jim" McCarty (’52) also announce a campaign to create a "Wall of Honor" for retired longtime administrator/teacher Robert L. Boblitt Sr. at the Texas Medical Center Campus building.

Kim Ramey Lovett named UHCOP Distinguished Alumnus of the Year.

1996 – College celebrates 50th Anniversary, with highlights including a gala and auction.

A Wall of Honor for Robert L. Boblitt Sr. is formally dedicated at UHCOP's Texas Medical Center Campus building.

The college admits its first entering class of Pharm.D. students as the Class of 2000.

Wenyu Chuang, Joseph Hoffpauir and Lynn Simpson are the first students to receive Pharm.D. degree from UH.

Alumnus Benjamin Fry is among the first 18 pharmacists inducted as inaugural fellows of the International Academy of Compounding Pharmacists. 

Jeanne Ann Stasny (’91) receives Merit Award from the American Pharmaceutical Association-Academy of Practice and Management.

Charles Trahan takes office as president of the Louisiana State Board of Pharmacy.

Teri Fink Bair is installed as president of the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

Charlie Bethea appointed president of the Texas State Board of Pharmacy. Bethea also is named UHCOP Distinguished Alumnus of the Year.

1997 – The Pharm.D. program graduates its first full class of students.

UHCOP wins Access Houston’s 1997 Access Award for Health Education.

Lynn Simpson becomes first UHCOP student to place in the national Top 3 of the American Pharmacists Association National Patient Counseling Competition.

Shara Zatopek, assistant dean for admissions and clinical associate professor of pharmacy, receives the Education Award from the Texas Pharmacy Foundation.

UHCOP establishes the Mading Society donor recognition organization in memory of Cora and Webb Mading, the college's first major benefactors. Charter members of the Mading Society are Charles Atkinson, Martha Atkinson, Bill and Sally Bradley, Shirley Buckley, Pat and Jan Downing, J.D. Doyle, Ben and Pat Fry, J.W. "Bubba" Kolbe, Sal and Sophie Marcello, Irwin and Fay Miller, Janis Parsley, Harold and Doris Pieratt, Dana Doyle Smith, and Cecilia Webber.

1998 – Paul and Angela Andries Lott named UHCOP Distinguished Alumnus of the Year co-recipients.

1999 – UHCOP launches TxPharm program to provide B.S. graduates with a pathway to earn Pharm.D. degree.

Faculty members Kenneth Euler and Carl Driever retire after more than three decades of teaching, research and service to UHCOP.

Lois Nash named UHCOP Distinguished Alumnus of the Year.