Graduate & Professional Studies Committee - University of Houston
Skip to main content

The Graduate and Professional Studies Committee (GPSC) is a committee of the UH Faculty Senate.  It is the shared governance body responsible for advising the Faculty Senate and University Administration about the quality and uniform surveillance of graduate and professional programs at the University of Houston. It is also charged with recommending changes in existing policies or suggesting the need for new ones, editing the Graduate and Professional Studies Catalog, approving new/revised degree and certificate programs, and approving new courses, course changes and/or deletions for submission to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Specifically, the GPSC will address matters relating to:

A. The admission and selection of graduate and professional students as well as other policies affecting graduate and professional students;
B. Review of new degree program proposals, program changes, and on-going programs;
C. Review of and recommendations for graduate and professional policies and procedures.

To contact the GPSC, including submitting documents or proposals for review, send an email to

GPSC Membership

GPSC Leadership

2020-21 GPSC Leadership

GPSC Chairperson   : Dr. Jason Porter, Associate Professor, Optometry
GPSC Vice Chair      : Dr. Consuelo Arbona, Associate Dean, College of Education

Subcommittee Chairs
Graduate Policies  : Dr. Anne Delcour
Graduate Admissions  : Dr. Laura Frishman
Graduate Student Affairs  : Dr. Greg Cuny
Academic Program Evaluation  : Dr. Ruth L. Bush

GPSC Members 2020-21

  • College of Architecture & Design

    Gail Peter Borden
    Dr. Dietmar Froehlich
    Dr. Mark Kimbrough
  • College of the Arts

    Dr. Beckham Dossett
  • College of Business

    Dr. Leiser Silva
    Dr. James Hess
    Charles Becker
  • College of Education

    Dr. Kristi L. Santi
    Dr. Consuelo Arbona
    Dr. Jerome H. Freiberg
  • College of Engineering

    Dr. Suresh Khator
    Dr. Yan Yao
    Dr. Jacinta C. Conrad
  • College of Hotel and Restaurant Management

    Dr. Ki-Joon Back
    Dr. Juan Madera
    Dr. Yoon Koh
  • Law Center

    Greg Vetter
  • College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences

    Dr. Anka Vujanovic
    Dr. Elizabeth Goodin-Mayeda
    Dr. Susan Scarrow
  • College of Medicine

    Dr. Ruth Bush
    Dr. Kevin C. Rowland
  • College of Natural Sciences & Mathematics

    Dr. Anne Delcour
    Dr. Jeremy May
    Dr. Anna Vershynina
  • College of Nursing

    Dr. Kathleen Reeve
  • College of Optometry

    Dr. Laura Frishman
    Dr. Jason Porter
    Dr. Daniel Coates
  • College of Pharmacy

    Dr. Brian Knoll
    Dr. Meghan Trivedi
    Dr. Greg Cuny
  • College of Social Work

    Dr. Suzanne Pritzker
    Dr. Sheara Williams Jennings
  • College of Technology

    Dr. Amaury Lendasse
    Dr. George Zouridakis
    Dr. Jerry Evans
  • Student Government Representatives

    Amy Barton, GPSA President
    Jon Garcia, SGA Graduate at Large
  • Non-Voting Members

    Dr. Sarah Larsen, Dean of the Graduate School
    Cassandra Heavrin, Senior Associate Registrar
    Assoc. Lib. Irene Ke, UH Libraries
    Asst. Lib. Taylor Davis-Van Atta, UH Libraries

GPSC Information & Links

Meeting Calendar

Meeting Calendar, 2020-21:

September 1, 2020
October 6, 2020
November 3, 2020
December 1, 2020
February 2, 2021
March 2, 2021
April 6, 2021
May 4, 2021