College Roundup - University of Houston
Skip to main content

College Roundup A selection of faculty, staff, student and alumni happenings

September 2020

Dr. Karen Dickinson, who earned an M.Ed. in curriculum and instruction — health science education in 2020, recently published an article in the journal Surgery about her systematic approach of customizing the curriculum for general surgery residency training to target specific learning needs and optimize resources. Sara McNeil, an associate professor in the Department of Curriculum & Instruction, was a co-author. Dickinson also recently published an article in the Journal of Surgical Education utilizing the principles of universal design to optimize learning during the pandemic. Susie Gronseth, a clinical associate professor in the Department of Curriculum & Instruction, was a co-author.

Zainab Al-Shidhani, a doctoral student in the curriculum and instruction – learning, design and technology program, has won the Association for Educational Communications and Technology’s “Outstanding Practice by a Student in Educational Technology in an International Setting” award. She is recognized for her work with the INCLUDE Collaboratory, an organization that helps traditionally marginalized students thrive through inclusive instructional design and implementation.

August 2020

Several faculty members were selected for the 2020-21 UH Cougar Chairs Leadership Academy, a professional development opportunity to develop leadership skills to promote student success: Shea Culpepper, Sissy Wong and Jie Zhang from the Department of Curriculum & Instruction; Keith Butcher, Tiffany J. Davis, Elsa Gonzalez and Kristi Santi from the Department of Educational Leadership & Policy Studies; and Rachael Whitaker from the Department of Psychological, Health, & Learning Sciences.

Kellian Hughes, a doctoral student in the professional leadership – special populations program, won the 2020 Teacher of the Year award from the Council for Learning Disabilities. Hughes is a special education facilitator in Alief ISD.

The UH student chapter of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars, advised by Clinical Assistant Professor Saira Rab, earned “star status” from the national organization. The recognition honors chapters for “engaging, student-centered events” and “meaningful experiences for members.” Trystn Cardenas, a student in the human development and family studies program, is past president of the chapter, and several other College of Education students are members.

Julie Dunsmore,  a professor of human development and family studies, has been elected to fellow status in the American Psychological Association’s Division 7 (developmental psychology). Her research focuses how children learn about emotions and develop emotional skills through relationships with important people in their lives.  

July 2020

Maria Cruz, who earned an M.Ed in administration and supervision in 2018 and a B.S. in human development and family studies in 2014, has been promoted to assistant principal of Truitt Middle School in Cypress-Fairbanks ISD, where she is currently a testing coordinator. Cruz was part of a graduate degree partnership program between the College and the district.

Khalilah Campbell-Rhone, who earned an Ed.D. in professional leadership – K-12 in 2014, has been named officer of special populations for Houston ISD after serving as principal of Worthing High School in the district. She previously taught as an adjunct professor for the College.

Jamie Enriquez has been named assistant principal of Bane Elementary School in Cypress Fairbanks ISD after serving as an instructional specialist at Reed Elementary in the district. Enriquez earned an M.Ed. in administration and supervision in 2017.

Sahar Eshtehardi, a doctoral student in the counseling psychology program, will serve as student representative on the board of directors for the American Psychological Association’s Society of Pediatric Psychology (Division 54). In addition to attending all board meetings, she will attend and assist with conference planning.

Three faculty members received UH Alternative Textbook Incentive Program awards for 2020-21. Funds will go toward implementation of an open or alternative textbook in their courses:

  • Justin Burris, clinical assistant professor of mathematics education
  • Shea Culpepper, clinical full professor of mathematics education and director of teacher education
  • Carrie Cutler, clinical assistant professor of mathematics education