Skip to main content

Faculty

Dr. James L. Conyers

Dr. James L. Conyers

Director, African American Studies
University Professor of African American Studies

Office: 632 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-2813
Email: jconyers@uh.edu
Download Cv

Dr. Tshepo Masango Chéry

Dr. Tshepo Masango Chéry

Assistant Professor, Department of History

Office: 561 Agnes Arnold Hall
Email: tmchery@Central.UH.EDU

George Gamble, Ph.D.

George Gamble, Ph.D.

KPMG Professor of Accountancy and Taxation, 
C. T. Bauer College of Business

Office: CBB 402H
Phone: (713) 743-4824
Email: ggamble@uh.edu

Dr. Raymond Harvey

Raymond Harvey

Clinical Associate Professor, 
Moores School of Music

Office: MSM 315
Phone: (713) 743-1797
Email: rcharvey2@uh.edu

Dr. Billy Hawkins

Dr. Billy Hawkins

Professor,
Department of Health and Human Performance

Office: 104W Garrison
Phone: (713) 743-9840
Fax: (713) 743-9860
Email: hjbilly@Central.UH.EDU 

Dr. W. Lawrence Hogue

Dr. W. Lawrence Hogue

John and Rebecca Moores Distinguished Professor

Office: 221B Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-2950
Email: whogue@uh.edu 

Dr. Gerald Horne

Dr. Gerald Horne

John and Rebecca Moores Chair in African American Studies and History

Office: 546 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-3114
Email: ghorne@uh.edu

Dr. Philip A Howard

Dr. Philip A Howard

Associate Professor,
Chair of the Department of History

Office: 535 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-3105
Email: pahoward@uh.edu

Dr. Conrad James, PhD

Conrad James, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of World Cultures and Literatures

Office: 639 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-8350
Email: cjames4@central.uh.edu

Dr. Kia Johnson, CCC-SLP

Dr. Kia Johnson, CCC-SLP

Associate Professor,
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorderss

Office: CRS Annex 101
Phone: (713) 743-6777
Email: kjohns21@Central.UH.edu

Dr. Cory LaFevers

Dr. Cory LaFevers

Lecturer, Moores School of Music

Office: MSM 204
Email: cjlafeve@central.uh.edu 

Nicolas Kanellos, Ph.D.

Nicolas Kanellos, Ph.D.

Brown Foundation Professor of Hispanic Studies

Office: 237 Social Work Building
Phone: (713) 743-3128
Email: kanellos@uh.edu

Dr. Jean Kantambu Latting

Dr. Jean Kantambu Latting

Professor of Social Work, Graduate School of Social Work

Office: 237 Social Work Building
Phone: (713) 743-8097
Email: jlatting@uh.edu

Dr. Shayne Lee

Shayne Lee

Associate Professor, Department of Sociology

Office: 471 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
Phone: (713) 743-3954
Email: slee3@uh.edu

Keith McNeal

Keith McNeal

Associate Professor of Anthropology,
Department of Comparative Cultural Studies

Office: 233 McElhinney Hall
Phone: (713) 743-3987
Email: keith.e.mcneal@gmail.com

Dr. Richard Mizelle, Jr.

Dr. Richard Mizelle, Jr.

Associate Professor of History

Office: 547 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-3087
Email: rmmizelle@uh.edu

Dr. Demetrius Pearson

Dr. Demetrius Pearson

Associate Professor,
Department of Health & Human Performance

Office: 104P Garrison
Phone: (713) 743-9849
Email: dpearson@uh.edu

Dr. Cedric R. Tolliver

Dr. Cedric R. Tolliver

 Associate Professor of English

Office: 234D Roy Cullen
Phone: (713) 743-1407
Email: ctolliver@uh.edu

Dr. Julie-Françoise Tolliver

Dr. Julie-Françoise Tolliver

Assistant Professor of Modern and Classical Languages

Modern and Classical Languages
Office: AAH 605
Phone: 713-743-5368
Email: jftolliver@uh.edu

Dr. Donna Stokes

Dr. Donna Stokes

Professor and Undergraduate Academic Advisor,
Department of Physics

Office: 617 Science and Research #1
Phone: (713) 743-3588
Fax: (713) 743-3589
Email: dstokes@uh.edu

Dr. Rheeda L. Walker

Dr. Rheeda L. Walker

Professor of Psychology,
Director, Culture, Risk, and Resilience Lab

Office: 1006 Clinical Research and Services
Phone: (713) 743-6696
Email: rlwo@uh.edu

Dr. Louis Williams

Dr. Louis Williams

Associate Professor of Medicinal Chemistry

Office: 549 Science and Research Building 2
Phone: (713) 743-1275
Email: lwilliams@uh.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

Dr. John Chiles, IV

John R. Chiles, IV, J.D.

 Adjunct Faculty

Office: 660 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-2811
Email: chiles@uhcl.edu

Willie Dwayne Francois III

Willie Dwayne Francois, III

Adjunct Faculty

Office: 660 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-2811
Email: wdfranco@uh.edu

Van G. Garrett

Van G. Garrett

Adjunct Faculty

Office: 660 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-2811
Email: vggarret@central.uh.edu

Rev. Dr. Joshua L. Mitchell

Rev. Dr. Joshua L. Mitchell

Adjunct Faculty

Office: 660 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-2811
Email: jmitchell@wheelerbc.org

Carlos Phillips, Ed.D.

Carlos Phillips, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty

Office: 660 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-2811
Email: CPHILLI2@houstonisd.org

Carole Poindexter-Sylvers

Carole Poindexter-Sylvers

Adjunct Faculty

Office: 660 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (281) 283-2507
Email: sylerssc@uhcl.edu

Eronn A. Putman, Esquire

Eronn Putman, J.D.

  Adjunct Faculty

Office: 660 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-2811
Email: eaputman@uh.edu

Autumn Raynor

Autumn Raynor

Adjunct Faculty

Office: 629 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-2811
Email: autumn.raynor@hccs.edu

Marlon Smith

Marlon Smith, Ph.D.

Adjunct Faculty

Office: 629 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-2811
Email: msmith29@Central.UH.EDU

thompson-k.jpg

Kevin B. Thompson, Ph.D.

Adjunct Faculty, 
Program Manager II

Office: 630 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-1376
Email: kbthomps@Central.UH.EDU

Mr. Aswad Walker

Mr. Aswad Walker

Adjunct Faculty

Office: 629 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-2811
Email: aswad60@hotmail.com

Visiting Scholars

Crystal Edwards

Dr. Crystal Latanya Edwards

 

Phone: (713) 743-0507
Email: cledward@Central.UH.EDU 

Dr. Caralee Jones-Obeng

Dr. Caralee Jones-Obeng

 

Office: 637 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-2811
Email: cjones25@central.uh.edu

Dr. Carley Shinault

Dr. Carley Shinault

Postdoctoral Fellow

Office: 629 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-2811
Email: cmshinau@Central.UH.EDU