PhD Showcase - University of Houston
Skip to main content

PhD Showcase

The Computer Science PhD Research Showcase is an annual departmental event to showcase the research of our PhD students, who have the opportunity to demonstrate their research, receive feedback, and exchange information. The departmental objectives are the following:

  1. to improve the student’sresearch communication skills,
  2. to provide to feedback related to the students’ research progress and presentation of their ideas and results,
  3. to encourage scientific exchange of ideas between students and faculty working in different areas, and
  4. to promote internal community developmentby getting to know faculty and peers.

PhD Research Showcase
Friday, March 22, 2024

1PM - 5PM
Farrish Hall (FH) 101

Tentative Schedule

1 PM, Welcome and Opening Remarks

1:15 PM, Lightning Talks
Students will give a one-minute oral overview of their research

1:45 PM, Poster Session
Mingle with participating students and delve deeper into their research

4 PM, Awards and Closing Remarks


Participants will be considered for the following awards:

  1. Best Poster
  2. Honorable Mention
  3. People's Choice
  4. People's Choice Runner-Up
For Spring 2024, all CS PhD students who have completed their proposal defense are strongly encouraged to participate while those who have passed the PhD RCE exam are eligible to participate.

Expectations and Timeline:

  1. Register by Friday, February 16, 2024. Refer to email invitation with registration link.
  2. Registered students will be added to PhD Showcase Class in Canvas on Monday, February 19, 2024
  3. Submit draft poster via Canvas course by Friday, February 23, 2024.
  4. Attend the CS Poster Design and Lightning Talk Information Session on Friday, March 1, 2024, 1PM-3PM, PGH 563.
  5. Submit a final poster via Canvas for printing by March 8, 2024.
  6. Submit a a lighting talk slide (1 slide) via Canvas by TBA.
  7. Present on Friday, March 22, 2024.

Organizing Committee

Dr. Guoning Chen, chair (gchen22 at central dot uh dot edu)
Des Jonee Baldwin
Dr. Om Gnawali
Matthew Pariyothorn
Dr. Jaspal Subhlok