Skip to main content

Faculty


Tenure-Track Faculty

Name, Position, Specialization Contact Information
Brandon Brandon, Alan
Curriculum Vitae
Professor, Isotope Geochemistry
Office: 327 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-2359
E-mail: abrandon@uh.edu
Burke Burke, Kevin
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Tectonics
Phone: (713) 743-7471
E-mail: kburke@uh.edu
Capuano Capuano, Regina
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor of Geology, Hydrogeology, Geochemistry
Advisor, Environmental Science
Office: 221 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-2957
E-mail: capuano@uh.edu
Casey Casey, John
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Tectonics, Geochemistry
Office: 323 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-2824
E-mail: jfcasey@uh.edu
Castagna

Castagna, John
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geophysics, Applied Seismology
Margaret S. and Robert E. Sheriff Endowed Faculty Chair in Applied Seismology

Office: 121-A SR1
Phone: (713) 743-8699
E-mail: jpcastagna@uh.edu
Chafetz Chafetz, Henry
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Carbonate Petrology
Office: 221 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3227
E-mail: hchafetz@uh.edu
Evgeny chesnokov Chesnokov, Evgeni
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Theoretical and Applied Geophysics
Office: 123-B SR1
Phone: (713) 743-2579
E-mail: emchesnokov@uh.edu
Choi Choi, Yunsoo
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry, Atmospheric Modeling, and Remote Sensing
Office: 426F SR1
Phone: (713) 743-9748
E-mail: ychoi6@uh.edu
Copeland Copeland, Peter
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor of Geology, Thermochronology
Office: 304 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3649
E-mail: copeland@uh.edu
Evans Evans, Ian
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor of Geology, Stratigraphy, Paleoecology
Office: 225-B SR1
Phone: (713) 743-2625
E-mail: yddraig@uh.edu
Qi Fu Fu, Qi
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor of Organic Geochemistry, Astrobiology, Isotope Geochemistry.
Office: 328-B SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3660
E-mail: qfu3@uh.edu
Hall Hall, Stuart
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geophysics, Potential Fields
Office: 125-A SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3416
E-mail: sahgeo@uh.edu
Jadamec Jadamec, Margarete
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor of Geodynamics
Office: 127-A SR1
Phone: (713) 743-6510
E-mail: mjadamec@central.uh.edu
Jiang Jiang, Xun
Curriculum Vitae
Atmospheric Science Graduate Advisor
Associate Professor, Atmospheric Science
Office: 432-D SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3156
E-mail: xjiang7@uh.edu
Khan Khan, Shuhab
Curriculum Vitae
Geology Graduate Advisor
Professor of Geology, (Tectonics, Remote Sensing, GIS)
Office: 234 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-5404
E-mail: sdkhan@uh.edu
Lapen Lapen, Thomas
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Chair, EAS Department
Professor of Geology, Isotope Geochemistry, Geochronology, Petrology
Office: 315-A SR1
Phone: (713) 743-6122
E-mail: tjlapen@uh.edu
aibing li Li, Aibing
Curriculum Vitae
Geophysics Graduate Advisor
Professor of Geophysics, Seismology
Office: 125-B SR1
Phone: (713) 743-2878
E-mail: ali2@uh.edu
Maddocks Maddocks, Rosalie
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Paleontology
Office: 227-A SR1
Phone: (713) 743-2772
E-mail: rmaddocks@uh.edu
Mann Mann, Paul
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Tectonics, Petroleum Geology
Robert E. Sheriff Endowed Professor
Director, Caribbean Basins, Tectonics and Hydrocarbons Consortium
Office: 427 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3646
E-mail: pmann@uh.edu
Murphy Murphy, Michael
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Structural Geology, Tectonics
Office: 335 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3564
E-mail: mmurphy@central.uh.edu
Rappenglueck Rappenglueck, Bernhard
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry, Meteorology
Office: 426J SR1
Phone: (713) 743-2469
E-mail: brappenglueck@uh.edu
Robinson Robinson, Alexander
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor of Geology, Structural Geology, Tectonics
Office: 315-B SR1
Phone: (713) 743-2547
E-mail: acrobinson@uh.edu
Sager Sager, William
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geophysics
Office: 127-B SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3108
E-mail: wwsager@uh.edu
Joel Saylor Saylor, Joel
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor of Sedimentology, Stable Isotopes, Magnetostratigraphy, and Basin Analysis
Office: 328 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3297
E-mail: jesaylor@uh.edu
Juan Carlos Silva-Tamayo, Juan C.
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor of Sedimentology and Environmental Geology
Office: 315 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-6520
jsilva-tamayo@uh.edu
Snow Snow, Jonathan
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Isotope Geochemistry, Petrology, Tectonics
Office: 236-B SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3298
E-mail: jesnow@uh.edu
Stewart Stewart, Robert
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geophysics
Director, Allied Geophysical Labs
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished University Chair in Exploration Geophysics
Office: 131-C SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3081
E-mail: rrstewart@uh.edu
John Suppe Suppe, John
Curriculum Vitae
Distinguished Professor
Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
Office: 312 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-XXXX
E-mail: jsuppe@uh.edu
Talbot Talbot, Robert
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry
Director of Institute for Climate and Atmospheric Science (ICAS)
Office: 415 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-2725
E-mail: rtalbot@uh.edu
Yuxuan_Wang Wang, Yuxuan
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor, Atmospheric Chemistry 
Office: 426 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-9049
E-mail: ywang140@uh.edu
Wang Wang, Guoquan
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor of Geophysics, Geodesy, and Geosensing Systems Engineering
Office: 231 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3224
E-mail: gwang@uh.edu
Weglein Weglein, Arthur
Curriculum Vitae
Professor, Reflection Seismology
Hugh Roy and Lillie-Cranz Cullen Distinguished Professor of Physics
Director, Mission-Oriented Seismic Research Program
Office: 605 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3848
E-mail: aweglein@uh.edu
Wellner Wellner, Julia
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor, Stratigraphy, Sedimentology, Glacial Processes
Office: 225-C SR1
Phone: (713) 743-2887
E-mail: jwellner@uh.edu
Jonny Wu Wu, Jonny
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor, Structural Geology, Tectonics and Mantle Structure
Office: 225-B SR1
Phone: (713) 743-9624
E-mail:    jwu40@central.uh.edu 
Zheng Zheng, Yingcai
Curriculum Vitae
Assistant Professor of Seismic Imaging
Office: 129-B SR1
Phone: (713) 743-6513
E-mail: yzheng24@central.uh.edu
Zhou Zhou, Hua-Wei
Curriculum Vitae
Department Chair
Margaret S. Sheriff College Professorship in Geophysics
Office: 129-B SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3440
E-mail: hzhou@uh.edu

Back to top...

Research, Instructional and Part-Time Faculty

Name, Position, Specialization Contact Information
Heather Bedle Bedle, Heather
Curriculum Vitae
Instructional Assistant Professor
Office: 131-B SR1
Phone: (713) 743-6111
E-mail: hbedle@uh.edu
bhattacharya Bhattacharya, Janok
Curriculum Vitae
UH Research Professor of Sequence Stratigraphy
Professor, School of Geography & Earth Science, McMaster University, Canada
E-mail: bhattaj@mcmaster.ca
Bird Bird, Dale
Curriculum Vitae
Research Associate Professor, Geophysics, Potential Fields
Consultant, Bird Geophysical
Office: 312 SR1
E-mail: dale@birdgeo.com
Bissada Bissada, Adry
Curriculum Vitae
Research Professor of Geology, Organic Geochemistry, Petroleum Systems
Office: 103/105 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-4026
E-mail: kbissada@uh.edu
Dupre Dupre, William
Curriculum Vitae
Associate Professor of Environmental Geology, Sedimentology
Office: 225 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-4987
E-mail: wdupre@uh.edu
Flynn Flynn III, James Howard
Curriculum Vitae
Research Assistant Professor
Office: 432-G SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3262
E-mail: jhflynn@uh.edu
Gao Gao, Yongjun
Curriculum Vitae
Research Associate Professor, Geochemistry, Petrology
Office: 332-B SR1
Phone: (713) 743-4382
E-mail: yongjungao@uh.edu
Goloshubin Goloshubin, Gennady
Curriculum Vitae
Research Professor of Geophysics, Reflection Seismology
Office: 129-A SR1
Phone: (713) 743-2796
E-mail: ggoloshubin@uh.edu
Hauptvogel Hauptvogel, Daniel
Curriculum Vitae
Instructional Assistant Professor
Office: 330 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-0532
E-mail: dwhauptv@central.uh.edu
Han Han, De-Hua
Curriculum Vitae
Research Professor of Geophysics, Rock Physics
Office: 123-A SR1
Phone: (713) 743-9293
E-mail: dhan@uh.edu
Hilterman Hilterman, Fred
Curriculum Vitae
Distinguished Research Professor of Geophysics, Reflection Seismology
Margaret S. and Robert E. Sheriff Endowed Chair
Office:
Phone: (713) 850-7600 ext. 3318
E-mail: fhilterman@uh.edu
Lytwyn Lytwyn, Jennifer
Curriculum Vitae
Instructional Assistant Professor, Geology
Office: 227 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3296
E-mail: jlytwyn@uh.edu
Percell Percell, Peter
Curriculum Vitae
Research Professor, Air Quality Modeling
Office: 426-D SR1
Phone: (713) 743-6724
E-mail: ppercell@uh.edu
Sisson Sisson, Jinny
Curriculum Vitae
Visiting Associate Professor of Geology
Director of Summer Field Geology
Co-director of Geoscience Learning Center
Office: 236-A SR1
Phone: (713) 743-7634
E-mail: vbsisson@uh.edu
Tao Sun, Tao
Curriculum Vitae
Research Associate of Petroleum Geochemistry
Office: 103 SR1
tsun9@uh.edu
Thomsen Thomsen, Leon
Curriculum Vitae
Research Professor of Exploration Geophysics
Office: 121-B SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3386
E-mail: lathomsen@uh.edu
van Niewenhuise Van Nieuwenhuise, Donald
Curriculum Vitae
Director, Petroleum Geoscience Programs
Research Associate Professor, Petroleum Geology, Sequence Stratigraphy, Biostratigraphy, and Sedimentology
Office: 227 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3423
E-mail: donvann@uh.edu
Van Wijk Van Wijk, Jolante
Curriculum Vitae
Research Associate Professor of Geodynamics
Assistant Professor, New Mexico Tech.
E-mail: jwvanwijk@uh.edu
Wiley Wiley, Robert
Curriculum Vitae
Research Associate Professor, Reflection Seismology
Office: 510-H SR1
Phone: (713) 743-9151
E-mail: rwiley@uh.edu

Back to top...

Emeritus Professors

Name, Position, Specialization Contact Information
Max Carman, Max
Professor Emeritus
Reid, Arch Reid, Archibald
Curriculum Vitae
Professor of Geology, Igneous Petrology, Planetary Geology
Office: 328-B SR1
Phone: (713) 893-1327
E-mail: areid@uh.edu

Back to top...

Adjunct Faculty & Lecturers

Name, Position, Specialization Contact Information
Bartok Bartok, Peter
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct lecturer, sequence stratigraphy, petroleum geology, seismic interpretation
Consultant, Bartok, Inc.
E-mail: peter@bartokinc.com
Edip Baysal, Edip
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct lecturer, geophysics
Chief Geophysicist, Paradigm
E-mail: ebaysal@uh.edu
Curiale Curiale, Joe
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct, petroleum geochemistry
Petroleum geochemist
Phone: (832) 940-8013
E-mail: joecuriale1@gmail.com
Emmet Emmet, Pete
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct, Exploration Geology and Geophysics
President & Chief Geoscientist, Brazos Valley GeoServices, Inc.
Phone: (832) 622-8963
E-mail: Pete.Emmet.53@gmail.com
chris gantela

Gantela, Chris

Curriculum Vitae

Adjunct, Crustal studies using seismic methods

Office: 131-A, SR1

E-mail: 

chris_gantela@comcast.net

Phone: (281) 344-0707

Kelly Kelly, Amy
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct, low-temperature geochemistry
Petroleum geochemist, Shell
Phone: (617) 974-5476
E-mail: kellya@alum.mit.edu
Jim Lawrence, James
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct, stable isotope geochemistry
E-mail: jimrslawrence@gmail.com
Liming Li, Liming
Adjunct
Assistant Professor, UH Dept. of Physics
Office: 530-C SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3283
E-mail: lli13@uh.edu
XinGong Li, Xin-Gong
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct

Phone: (832) 282-9588
E-mail:xin07.Li@gmail.com
Lytwyn Morris, Gary
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct, atmospheric science
Assistant Professor, Dept. of Physics and Astronomy, Valparaiso University
Office: 432-E SR1
Phone: (281) 506-2699
E-mail: prof.gary.morris@gmail.com
Rudolph

Rudolph, Kurt
Curriculum Vitae
Adjunct professor, Petroleum Geology

E-mail: kwrudolph@comcast.net
No Image Thorleifson, Tracy
Curriculum Vitae
Lecturer, remote sensing, GIS
Eagle Information Mapping, Inc
Office: 312 SR1
E-mail: 
jtt@eaglemap.com

Back to top...

Research Scientists & Researchers

 

Name, Position, Specialization Contact Information
Bjorklund Bjorklund, Tom
Curriculum Vitae
Research Scientist, Petroleum Geology, Structure
Office: 131-A SR1
Phone: (281) 589-6846
E-mail: tbjorklund@uh.edu
Cassidy Cassidy, Martin
Curriculum Vitae
Research Scientist, Geochemistry
Office: 131-A SR1
Phone: (713) 616-5853
E-mail: mcassidy@uh.edu
Darnell Darnell, Mike
Curriculum Vitae
Sr. Researcher, Petroleum Geochemistry
Office: 308 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3432
E-mail: mdarnell@uh.edu
Dyaur Dyaur, Nikolay
Curriculum Vitae
Research Scientist, Rock Physics Modeling
Office: 121-C SR1
Phone: (713) 743-6539
E-mail: ndyaur@uh.edu
Xiangshang

Li, Xiangshang
Curriculum Vitae

Research Scientist, Air Quality Modeling

Office: 223 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-0742
E-mail: xli10@uh.edu
Minako Righter, Minako
Lab Supervisor
Curriculum Vitae
Office: 312 SR1
Phone: (713) 743-6722
E-mail: mrighter@uh.edu
Sun Sun, Min
Curriculum Vitae
Researcher 3, Petroleum Geochemistry
Office: 228 Old Science
Phone: (713) 743-1531
E-mail: msun3@uh.edu
No Image Szymczyk, Ewa
Curriculum Vitae
Researcher, Petroleum Geochemistry
Office: 303-B SR1
Phone: (713) 743-3435
E-mail: ewa@uh.edu
Yan Yan, Fuyong
Curriculum Vitae
Researcher 3, Petroleum Geochemistry
Office: 228 Old Science
Phone: (713) 743-3982
E-mail: fyan@uh.edu

Back to top...

Postdoctoral Researchers

Name, Position, Specialization Contact Information
Hao Hu Hu, Hao
Curriculum Vitae
Post-Doctoral Fellow 1, Seismic Imaging
Supervisor: Dr. Yingcai Zheng
Office: 127 SR1
E-mail: hhu5@central.uh.edu
Liu, Andy
Curriculum Vitae
Post-Doctoral Fellow 1, 
Supervisor: Dr. John Suppe
Office: 233 SR1
E-mail: Yliu54@central.uh.edu
Gustavo-Cucihara.jpeg Cuchiara, Gustavo
Curriculum Vitae
Post-Doctoral Fellow 1, Atmospheric Sciences
Supervisor: Dr. Bernhard Rappenglueck
Office: 426L SR1
E-mail: gcopsteincuchaira@uh.edu

Back to top...