Skip to main content


The College of Education is organized into three departments: Curriculum and Instruction; Educational Leadership and Policy Studies; and Psychological, Health and Learning Sciences.

The programs focused on teaching fall under Curriculum and Instruction. Undergraduate students can specialize in early childhood through eighth grade with a focus in mathematics, language arts, science or social studies, or in special education across all grade levels. Those interested in teaching certification at the secondary level (8th -12th grade) or in art or music must major in the subject they want to teach and declare an education minor. Graduate students in this department can focus on art; early childhood; health science; learning, design and technology; mathematics; reading and language arts; science; social studies; elementary education; and curriculum and instruction.

The Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies offers various programs at the graduate level as well as a minor in Asian American studies. Graduate students can specialize in higher education, K-12 professional leadership and special populations professional leadership. These programs are designed to bolster the skills of professional educators and to prepare school principals, district administrators, superintendents, higher education administrators and education researchers.

The Department of Psychological, Health and Learning Sciences offers bachelor's degrees in health and human development and family studies and a master's in counseling. The doctoral programs include counseling psychology; measurement, quantitative methods and learning sciences; and school psychology.