Skip to main content

News & Events

CLASS congratulates its faculty promoted in 2013

Each May, the Board of Regents of the University of Houston System approves recommendations from the President for the promotion and promotion with tenure of faculty members.

A faculty member receives tenure on the basis of teaching, research, and service excellence to date, consistent with the mission of the University. The awarding of tenure implies a high degree of confidence in the continuation and enhancement of this performance for the benefit of the university.

Several faculty members within the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences received promotions with tenure to associate professor from assistant professor and promotions to professor from associate professor.

The College salutes their success.

Promoted to Professor, effective September 1:

Dr. Anadeli Bencomo
Dr. Mat Johnson
Anadeli Bencomo
Department of Hispanic Studies
Mat Johnson
Department of English
 Dr. Stephanie Daniels
 Dr. Delilah Montoya
Stephanie Daniels
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Delilah Montoya
School of Art
 Dr. Marie-Theresa Hernandez Dr. Peter Norton
Marie-Theresa Hernandez
Department of Modern and Classical Languages
Peter Norton
Department of Psychology

Dr. Blake Wilkins
Blake Wilkins
Moores School of Music

Promoted to Associate Professor, effective September 1:

 Dr. Scott J. Basinger  Dr. Samantha Kwan
Scott J. Basinger
Department of Political Science
Samantha Kwan
Department of Sociology
 Dr. Jeffrey Church Dr. Joshua Weisberg
Jeffrey Church
Department of Political Science
Joshua Weisberg
Department of Philosophy
 Dr. Joshua Weisberg
Hanako Yoshida
Department of Psychology