Skip to main content

Office of Communication

Welcome to the Office of Communication

The Office of Communication promotes public awareness of the research, faculty, students and events within the College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences. The team manages the College's outbound communications and online presence. We also assist CLASS constituencies on targeted communications projects that advance the College's priorities and initiatives.

Communication Contacts:

Toni Mooney Smith

Toni Mooney Smith, M.S.
Director of Communication
713-743-9303
tymooney@uh.edu


Monica Byars

Monica Byars
Marketing & Communication Assistant
713-743-1204
mgbyars@uh.edu

Marketing and Public Relations Contacts:

In addition to the Office of Communication, several CLASS units publish newsletters and manage their own marketing and public relations strategies.

Serwaa S. Omowale

African American Studies Program
Serwaa S. Omowale, LMSW
Program Manager
(713-743-1376)
ssomowale@uh.edu


Dr. Malachi Crawford

Dr. Malachi Crawford
Assistant Director and Newsletter Editor
713-743-2811
mcrawford@uh.edu


Carmen Abrego

Arte Público Press
Carmen Peña Abrego
Publicity & Events Coordinator
713-743-2999
carpen@uh.edu


Marina Tristan

Marina Tristan
Assistant Director/ Marketing Manager
713-743-2846
mtristan@uh.edu


Jessica Thiam

Center for Mexican American Studies
Jessica Thiam
Events Assistant
713-743-3139
jygomez2@central.uh.edu


Sonia Ramirez

Sonia Ramirez
Marketing & Communications Assistant
713-743-3136
smramir9@central.uh.edu


Dr. Lolin Wang-Bennett

Department of Psychology
Dr. Lolin Wang-Bennett
Director of Development and Newsletter Editor
713-743-8522
lwang-bennett@uh.edu


Jill Bays-Purtill

Moores School of Music
Jill Bays-Purtill
Public Relations and Box Office Manager
713-743-3307
lbays-purtill@uh.edu


Michelle Robinson

School of Theatre & Dance
Michelle Robinson
Marketing and Communications Manager
713-743-5645
mlrobinson2@uh.edu


Ayanna McCloud

Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies Program
Ayanna McCloud
Friends of Women's Studies Program Coordinator
713-743-3773
amccloud@uh.edu