College of Liberal Arts
and Social Sciences

The University of Houston
402 Agnes Arnold Hall
Houston, TX 77204-3000
Phone: 713-743-4002
Fax: 713-743-2990

Office of Communication

Welcome to the Office of Communication

The Office of Communication promotes public awareness of the research, faculty, students and events within the College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences. The team manages the College's outbound communications and online presence. We also assist CLASS constituencies on targeted communications projects that advance the College's priorities and initiatives.

Communication Contacts:

Shannon Buggs, CLASS Communication Director

Shannon Buggs
Director of Communication
713-743-1916
sbuggs@uh.edu


Monica Byars

Monica Byars
Marketing & Communication Assistant
713-743-1204
mgbyars@uh.edu



UH Arts Initiative

Led by CLASS Dean John W. Roberts, the UH Arts Initiative is designed to position the University of Houston as a world-class arts destination and a national innovator in commissioning new work, employing and training thousands of artists and sponsoring world class arts series. The arts academic schools, programs and centers within the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences are a big part of the Initiative’s success. Promotion of UH Arts programming and events is handled by the UH Arts Office of Communication.

Meera Bowman-Johnson

UH Arts Communication Contact:
Meera Bowman-Johnson
Assistant Director of Marketing & Communication
713-743-4960
mbowmanj@central.uh.edu
www.uh.edu/uh-arts


Marketing and Public Relations Contacts:

In addition to the Office of Communication, several CLASS units publish newsletters and manage their own marketing and public relations strategies.

 LaShonda R. Williams

African American Studies Program
LaShonda R. Williams
Program Manager
713-743-2814
lrwilliams4@uh.edu


Dr. Malachi Crawford

Dr. Malachi Crawford
Assistant Director and Newsletter Editor
713-743-2811
mcrawford@uh.edu


Carmen Abrego

Arte Público Press
Carmen Peña Abrego
Publicity & Events Coordinator
713-743-2999
carpen@uh.edu


Marina Tristan

Marina Tristan
Assistant Director/ Marketing Manager
713-743-2846
mtristan@uh.edu


Matt Johns

Blaffer Art Museum
Matt Johns
Director of External Relations
713-743-9528
mgjohns@uh.edu


Nicole Romano

Cynthia Woods Mitchell Center for the Arts
Nicole Romano
Communications and Special Projects Director
713-743-5749
nlromano@uh.edu


Martha Hayes

Department of Health and Human Performance
Martha Hayes
Communications Manager
713-743-0327
mshayes@uh.edu


Holly Laurenzana

Center for Mexican American Studies
Holly Laurenzana
Events Assistant
713-743-3139
hllauren@central.uh.edu


Sonia Ramirez

Sonia Ramirez
Marketing & Communications Assistant
713-743-3136
smramir9@central.uh.edu


Dr. Lolin Wang-Bennett

Department of Psychology
Dr. Lolin Wang-Bennett
Director of Development and Newsletter Editor
713-743-8522
lwang-bennett@uh.edu


Jill Bays-Purtill

Moores School of Music
Jill Bays-Purtill
Public Relations and Box Office Manager
713-743-3307
lbays-purtill@uh.edu


Michelle Robinson

School of Theatre & Dance
Michelle Robinson
Marketing and Communications Manager
713-743-5645
mlrobinson2@uh.edu


Ayanna McCloud

Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies Program
Ayanna McCloud
Friends of Women's Studies Program Coordinator
713-743-3773
amccloud@uh.edu