Student Center Policy Board - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Student Center Policy Board

The Student Center Policy Board assists in policy development, long-range planning and program and service enhancements for the University of Houston community. Annual projects of the policy board include review of the Student Centers operating policies, reservations policies and procedures, and improvements and renovations to the facilities. The SCPB also advocated for the name change from the “University Center” to the “Student Center.”

Some of the most notable projects the policy board members participated in over the past year include:

  • Reviewed and approved removal of CougarByte for addition of Mondo.
  • Adjusted polices to benefit Registered Student Organizations inviting guests from outside the university.
  • Reviewed concepts for Plaza Renovation and selected new carpet for Ballroom.
  • Instituted the Red/Green seating concept that was well received and assist in dining capacity.
  • Approved carrel and locker space assignments.

This year proves to be another exciting year for our department, and with the outstanding members and leaders of the Student Center Policy Board, we are confident we will continue to provide the type of high-quality services, programs and facilities of which the UH community can be proud.

Get Involved

Pictured Top to bottom:

Andrew Bahlmann (Residence Hall Association); Keith T. Kowalka (Assistant Vice President, Student Affairs and Enrollment Services); Darren Campbell (SCPB At-Large Member); Cameron Barrett (President, Student Government Association); Andrea Treviño (Office Coordinator, Student Centers); Stephanie Coates (SCPB At-Large Member); Sarah Durham (Student Program Board); Dr. Tomika Greer (Faculty Senate); Dr. Tina Powellson (Director, Center for Student Involvement); Eduardo Abrams (Council for Cultural Activities); Robin Johnson (Metropolitan Volunteer Program); Leeda Faizi (SCPB At-Large Member); Nan Nguyen (Staff Council); Christopher Caldwell (Chair, Student Centers Policy Board); Eve Esch (Director, Student Centers)

Not pictured above:

Whitney Johnson (Staff Council); XiaoHong “Sharon” Wen (Faculty Senate); Lauren Sposato (Assistant Director, Student Centers)​