Skip to main content

Research and Scholarship Committee

The University of Houston Research and Scholarship Committee (RSC) exists as one branch of the faculty governance structure through the Faculty Senate. It assists the President, Provost, and Vice Presidents in formulating recommendations and policies affecting the research community on the UH campus. The Research and Scholarship Committee provides a forum for internal discussion, initiates policies touching on research matters, gathers and disseminates information to the faculty, and provides a faculty voice to University Administration on matters pertaining to research.

The Research and Scholarship Committee also administers the funding for UH internal awards.

FY2020 Meeting Dates 

The RSC meets on the third Friday of each month (except where noted) from 12:15 - 1:45 pm in room 306 M.D. Anderson Library.

  • Friday, September 20, 2019
  • Friday, October 18, 2019
  • Friday, November 22, 2019
  • Friday, December 13, 2019

Spring Meeting Dates 

  • Friday, January, 24, 2020
  • Friday, February 21, 2020
  • Friday, March 20, 2020
  • Friday, April 17, 2020

Committee Members (FY2020)

Dr. T. Randall Lee Dr, Carla Sharp
T. Randall Lee, RSC Chair
Professor, Chemistry
Carla Sharp, Vice Chair
 Professor, Psychology
Olga Bannova Bernhard Bodmann Cheryl Brohard
Olga Bannova
Research Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Bernhard Bodmann
Professor, Mathematics
Cheryl Brohard
Assistant Professor, College of Nursing
Diana Chow Sanghyuk Chung
Diana Chow
Professor, Pharmaceutics
Sanghyuk Chung
Associate Professor, Center for Nuclear Receptors & Cell Signaling
Vallabh Das
Professor, Optometry
Dave Fagundes Scott Gilbertson Lars Grabow
Dave Fagundes
Professor, Law
Scott Gilbertson
Professor, Chemistry
Lars Grabow
Associate Professor, Chemical Engineering
Karolos Grigoriadis Natilee Harren Holly Hutchins
Karolos Grigoriadis
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Natilee Harren
Assistant Professor, Art
Holly Hutchins
Associate Professor, Human Development & Consumer Science
Michael Kubo Mimi Lee
Michael Kubo
Assistant Professor, Architecture & Design
Mimi Lee
Professor, Curriculum & Instruction
Stuart Long
 Associate Dean, Honors College 
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Lynn Maher Sarah Narendorf
Cristian Morosan
 Associate Professor, Hotel and Restaurant Management
Lynn Maher
Professor, Communication Disorders
Sarah Narendorf
Assistant Professor, Social Work
Gangbing Song Santi Thompson

Jaana Porra
Associate Professor, Decision & Information Sciences

Gangbing Song
 Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Santi Thompson
Associate Librarian, University Libraries
Jennifer Wingard
Jennifer Wingard
Associate Professor, English

Raul Ramos Dr. Jeronimo Cortina
Raul Ramos
Faculty Senate President
Jeronimo Cortina
Faculty Senate President-Elect

Ex-Officio Representatives

elnashai Claudia Neuhauser
Amr Elnashai
 Vice Chancellor/Vice President for Research and Technology Transfer
Claudia Neuhauser
Associate Vice Chancellor/Vice President for Research and Technology Transfer