Skip to main content

President's Excellence Awards

President's Excellence Awards - NOMINATIONS ARE NOW CLOSED!

Each year the University of Houston recognizes staff employees for service longevity of ten years or more, in increments of five years. Additionally, a select group of employees are honored each year for their contributions to the University through the President's Excellence Awards. Among the awards given is the Charles. F. McElhinney Award for Distinguished Service, the highest honor given for exemplary contributions to the University.

These Awards represent a meaningful and tangible way in which the University acknowledges and rewards employees for their hard work and dedication to the University and its mission! Awarded during a ceremony held by the President, the President's Excellence Awards are given each year in the following categories:

  • Office and Clerical – 3 Awards
  • Technical, Service, and Craft – 3 Awards
  • Administrative and Professional – 3 Awards
  • Effective Leader (Supervisors and/or Managers) – 3 Awards
  • Charles F. McElhinney Award – 1 Award

Any UH employee, faculty or staff, student or community member may nominate qualifying staff employees for consideration. The nomination period for the 2023 President’s Excellence Awards is Friday, July 21st through Wednesday, August 2nd, 2023. To be considered all nomination forms must be submitted to Human Resources no later than 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, August 2nd, 2023.

Make your nominations TODAY!