DSAES honors staff members in annual end-of-year awards ceremony - University of Houston
Skip to main content

July 21, 2022

Dr. Daniel Maxwell, interim vice president for student affairs and enrollment services, helped host the Mardi Gras-themed festivities and thanked each nominee for their hard work over the past year.

“I am filled with immense pride during this event as we recognize the many student-centered programs, services, and activities that are lifted through the nominations along with the achievements of individuals across the division,” Maxwell said. “It is a reminder of the transformational work we are doing in support of our students in their success at the University.”

In addition to the annual awards, Maxwell also gave a special certificate of appreciation to Andrea Ward, the Division’s development director, who has transitioned into a new role at UH. “Over the last four years, Andrea has supported the division’s priorities by assisting departments in the creation of case statements and securing private gifts, foundations, and grants to expand scholarships and educational programs across the division,” he said.

The awards committee received 100 nominations for this year’s awards. Nominations were judged by a volunteer committee:

  • LaTasha Stoker, the UH Senior Human Resources Business Partner to DSAES
  • David Shattuck, UH Associate Professor and President-Elect of the Faculty Senate
  • DaNesha Allen, Executive Administrative Assistant, Office of Administration

The awards program was spearheaded by the Professional Development Committee within DSAES, particularly the two chairs: Courtney McElroy and Jarell Miller.

The 2021 winners of the annual DSAES End-of-Year Awards:

Cougar Spirit Award
Angela Allen, Student Centers

Diversity & Inclusion Award
CAPS TAPS Force 2021-2022 (Norma Ngo, Laura Conner, Karen Jubert, Staci Ouch, Emily Schwass), Counseling and Psychological Services

Outstanding Committee Contribution Award
Assessment Committee, Division of Student Affairs and Enrollment Services

Excellence in Programming Award
Dreamers+ Speak Series, Counseling and Psychological Services, Center for Diversity and Inclusion, Center of Student Empowerment

Friend of the Division Award
Brian Moreno, Student Services

Graduate Assistant Award
Andrei Merkoulov, Student Housing and Residential Life

Impact Award
HEERF III Funding Team, Scholarships & Financial Aid

Outstanding Administrative Assistant/Support Staff Award
Cheyenne Peer, LGBTQ Resource Center

Outstanding Assessment Award
Kimberly Shaw Reed, Student Center

Outstanding Marketing & Communication Award
Center for Diversity and Inclusion

Outstanding New Professional Award
Meli Iracheta-Guerra, Student Center

Outstanding Professional Award of Excellence
Michelle Knight, Children Learning Center

Rising Star Award of Excellence
Karen Jubert, Counseling and Psychological Services

Student Employee Award of Excellence
Daniel-Joseph Lehmuth, Veteran Services

Student Leader Award of Excellence
Giovanni Howard, LGBTQ Resource Center

Student Success Award
Joseph Secrest, Campus Recreation

Ambassador Award
Juliann Losey, LGBTQ Resource Center

Tier One Customer Service - Individual Award
Connie Lowe-Styles, Student Housing and Residence Life
Jorge Martinez, Enrollment Services

Tier One Customer Service — Departmental Award
CARS, Student Centers