Skip to main content

College News

Exceptional Experiential Educators

UHCOP Honors Practitioners, Site for Essential Role in Preparing Future Professional Pharmacists 

May 10 — At its Class of 2019 Graduation Awards Reception May 8, UH College of Pharmacy honored several pharmacy practitioners and an insitutitional site for excellence in experiential education during the 2018-19 academic year. 

We are indeed fortunate to have such outstanding role models, mentors, educators and practitioners within our preceptor network," said UHCOP Dean and Professor F. Lamar Pritchard, Ph.D., R.Ph. "We are immensely grateful for our preceptor partnerships from across the patient care continuum and the special role that preceptors serve in the evolution of a professional student to a practice-ready clinical pharmacist."

Preceptors recognized for providing exceptional experiential training for UHCOP Pharm.D. students over the past year are: 

Health System Pharmacy of the Year Award – DHR Health (formerly Doctors Hospital at Renaissance) in Edinburgh;

Hospital Pharmacy Preceptor of the Year Award – Rebecca Koch, Pharm.D., BCCCP, pharmacy clinical specialist in Emergency Medicine at CHI St. Luke's Health – Sugar Land Hospital; 

Institutional Patient Care Preceptor of the Year – Scott Ferren, Pharm.D. ('15), clinical practice specialist – Infectious Diseases, University of Texas Medical Branch; 

Community Preceptor Award – Reyo Ordanza, Pharm.D. ('08), pharmacy manager, Walgreens; 

Ambulatory Care Preceptor of the Year Award – Bernadette Asias-Dinh, Pharm.D. ('11), BCACP, BCPS, CDE., clinical assistant professor and ambulatory care clinical pharmacist at Vecino Health Centers’ Denver Harbor Clinic; and

Faculty Preceptor of the Year Award – Kim K. Birtcher, Pharm.D., M.S., BCPS (AQ Cardiology), CDE, FNLA, clinical professor at UHCOP and clinical pharmacist at Kelsey-Seybold Clinic’s Cardiology Clinic.