Skip to main content

PLS McCarty Lecture

2016 PLS McCarty Lecture: 5:30-6:30 p.m. Wed., March 30
"LIFE, Tennis Balls, and Electric Cars"
Speaker: Joyce A. Tipton, R.Ph., MBA, FASHP,
Director of Pharmacy and Respiratory Care,
Memorial Hermann Memorial City Medical Center
Location: Agnes Arnold Auditorium 2

About the Speaker

Joyce A. Tipton, R.Ph., MBA, FASHP, received her B.S. in Pharmacy degree from the University of Houston College of Pharmacy and a Masters of Business Administration from Wake Forest University in Winston-Salem, N.C.

tipton photoMs. Tipton is currently the Administrative Director of Pharmacy and Respiratory Care for Memorial Hermann Memorial City Medical Center in Houston and recently completed a six-year governor’s appointment on the Texas State Board of Pharmacy.

A Fellow of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), Ms. Tipton serves on numerous advisory committees, and is Adjunct Clinical Professor and member of the Dean’s Advisory Council at the University of Houston College of Pharmacy. She is also the Residency Program Director for the Memorial Hermann Health System Pharmacy Administration Residency and preceptor for pharmacy interns.

Ms. Tipton previously served as the Administrative Director of Pharmacy at St. Luke’s Hospital in Houston. Ms. Tipton’s career also included leadership positions at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center (WFBMC) in Winston-Salem, N.C., and The University of Texas-M.D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston. She has experience in home infusion, school-based clinic, community pharmacy, and physician practice operations.

Ms. Tipton implemented one of the United State’s earliest Emergency Department pharmacist services in 1995 at WFBMC and led the development of the St. Luke’s Center for Antimicrobial Stewardship and Epidemiology, a 2010 ASHP Best Practice Award winner. Ms. Tipton served as a member of the ASHP Pharmacy Forecast Advisory Committee for three years and was a chapter author and presenter for the Pharmacy Forecast. She has a special interest in the impact of strategic operational planning and systematic quality improvement application in the medication use process.

Ms. Tipton has given numerous presentations and webinars on the topic of strategic planning and has been leading strategic operational planning for pharmacy departments for more than 20 years.

About the Lecture Series

The shouts of “Carpe Diem” emanating from James T. McCarty has encouraged his students to strive to live for the day – to persevere through their time spent at the college for benefit of the patients they will serve. In fact, many students may remember how he emphasized the importance of treating all patients as equals.

Throughout the curriculum, faculty and students used McCarty as a model of leadership within the profession by emulating his ideals and teachings. For this reason, the students of Phi Lamda Sigma, the national pharmacy leadership honor society, are proud to have named the Leadership Lecture Series after such an influential individual. The annual lecture is co-sponsored by UH College of Pharmacy.

About James T. McCarty

James T. McCarty is a retired professor and alumnus of UH College of Pharmacy. Having spent a lifetime with the university, from graduation to retirement, McCarty has built a legacy of professionalism in the classroom, in pharmacy practice, and behind the podium. McCarty has many years of varied pharmacy experience, including hospital, manufacturing and community.

His professional affiliations include Rho Chi National Honor Society, American Mensa and Phi Lambda Sigma, the national pharmacy leadership society where he served as president in 1992. McCarty has received many honors,including the 1997 Harris County Pharmacist of the Year, the 1991 UH College of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumni Award, the 1992 Texas Pharmacist Association Pharmacist of the Year Award and the 1992 Albert Rosica, Jr. Memorial Award by the American College of Apothecaries “for recognition of outstanding contribution to pharmacy education.”

About Phi Lambda Sigma


Scholz meets with UH members of the Upsilon chapter of Phi Lambda Sigma.

The purpose of Phi Lambda Sigma, also known as the national Pharmacy Leadership Society, is to promote the development of leadership qualities, especially among pharmacy students. By peer recognition, the Society encourages participation in all pharmacy activities. Since membership crosses fraternal and organizational lines,
the Society does not compete with other pharmacy organizations.

Phi Lambda Sigma honors leadership. Members are selected by peer recognition. No greater honor can be bestowed upon an individual than to be recognized as a leader by one’s peers. Such recognition instills and enhances self-confidence, encourages the less active student to a more active role and promotes greater effort toward the advancement of pharmacy.

Founded in 1965, Phi Lambda Sigma has expanded to more than 90 schools and colleges of pharmacy in the U.S. and Puerto Rico. The UH Upsilon Chapter was established in 1988.

Past Lecturers

David A. Zilz and Roger W. Anderson, 2015
The Honorable Charles L. "Chuck" Hopson, 2014
No lecture in 2013
Todd W. Canada, 2012
Lisa Scholz, 2011
Dennis B. Worthen, 2010
Joesph T. DiPiro, 2009
Lloyd Y. Young, 2008
Rhea Blanken, 2007