Skip to main content

Faculty News

Research Reading List

Aparasu's Book on Research Design and Drug Literature Evaluation Gets 2nd Edition by New Publisher McGraw-Hill

September 27 — "Principles of Research Design and Drug Literature Evaluation," a textbook coauthored and coedited by UH College of Pharmacy Professor Rajender R. Aparasu, Ph.D., FAPhA, is being released in a second edition Sept. 27. UHCOP and other students with institutional access to the AccessPharmacy service of publisher McGraw-Hill Education are provided free access to the book, which also is available in audio format. 

aparasu photoThe book was born from an identified need for a comprehensive teaching resource to meet the Accreditation Council of Pharmacy Education's requirement that Pharm.D. students receive a fundamental education in research design, biostatistics and evaluation of pharmacy literature to improve patient care. It was originally published by Jones & Bartlet, but McGraw-Hill purchased the rights following its adoption for use in the curriculum at more than 70 pharmacy institutions across the country. 

The second edition consists of 22 chapters grouped into three sections, the book covers principles of clinical research; statistical principles and data analysis; and principles of drug literature evaluation, along with updated examples using new clinical research studies and revised online and journal resources. 

"McGraw-Hill wanted a book in this space and were fortunate to have the opportunity to sign Professor Rajender Aparasu and Professor John Bentley, two experts in research design and drug literature," said Michael Weitz, editorial director at McGraw-Hill.

In addition to coediting the book with John P. Bentley, R.Ph., Ph.D., FAPhA, professor of Pharmacy Administration and research professor in the Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy, Aparasu cowrote the first chapter – "The Scientific Approach to Research and Practice" – with UHCOP Pharmaceutical Health Outcomes and Policy alumna and current postdoctoral fellow Satabdi Chatterjee, Ph.D. ('13), M.S. ('10).

Among the other chapter contributors are two fellow UHCOP faculty members: Jeffrey T. Sherer, Pharm.D., MPH, BCPS, associate professor, wrote a chapter entitled "Principles of Evidence-based Medicine," and Catherine L. Hatfield, Pharm.D., clinical associate professor and director of Institutional Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experiences, penned the chapter on "Basics of Journal Club."