Skip to main content

College News

Rho Chi Welcomes Alumnus Varkey Back as Boblitt Lecturer, Presents Faculty Awards for Teaching 

The Beta Omicron Chapter of the Rho Chi Society welcomed UHCOP alumnus Alex C. Varkey, Pharm.D., M.S., back to the college as the 2018 Robert L. Boblitt Lecturer and presented its annual teaching awards to three faculty members on Oct. 18. 

In his presentation titled "Pharmacy’s Future: It Can Be What You Think… It WILL Be What You Do," Varkey offered his insights into the skill sets students must hone and roles they should prepare for not only to excel in the field of pharmacy, but also to help push the profession forward. Varkey is director of Pharmacy Services at Houston Methodist Hospital in Houston and a member of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Board of Trustees. 

Varkey earned his Pharm.D. from UHCOP in 2005 and a master's degree/PGY1 and PGY2 residencies in Health-System Pharmacy Administration from The Ohio State University in 2007. Varkey served as APhA-Academy of Student Pharmacists National President, and he is the recipient of the 2010-11 University of Texas College of Pharmacy Houston/Galveston Region Outstanding Hospital Preceptor Award,and the 2014 Gulf Coast Society of Health-System Pharmacists Outstanding Pharmacist Award. 

The chapter also bestowed its 2017-18 Teaching in Excellence Awards to three dedicated faculty members: Austin De La Cruz, Pharm.D., BCPP, clinical assistant professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Translational Research; Xinli Liu, Ph.D., associate professor, Department of Pharmacological and Pharmaceutical Sciences; and Sujit Sansgiry, Ph.D., professor of Pharmaceutical Health Outcomes and Policy.