Skip to main content


Congratulations to Christine Le, 2021 Richard Murray Endowed Scholarship Recipients

Christine Le

Christine Le: "I cannot thank the Richard Murray Endowed Scholarship enough for the financial support awarded to me, as well as the vast number of opportunities this opens up for my bright future. As an upcoming junior who has borne the brunt of outstanding tuition fees, housing bills, and grocery costs, I am overjoyed to know that there is support for students like me too succeed in a climate of financial precarity. This scholarship gives me the confidence and enthusiasm necessary to focus on excelling in the field of political science—whether that be through pursuing research, finding the time to build personal relationships with professors, or simply throwing my weight into coursework."

Past Recipients

Carolina Lopez-Herrera, Philosophy major
Fall 2020

Kryss Schofield, Political Science major
Fall 2020

Shiva Baradaran, Political Science major
Spring 2019

Danielle Niangar, Political Science and Sociology major
CHIP Intern, Congresswoman Shiela Jackson Lee, Fall 2016

Aylin Rodriguez, Political Science major
Spring 2019

Britnee Chuor, Political Science major
CHIP Intern, State Representative Gene Wu, spring 2018

Ben Nelson, Political Science major
CHIP Intern, City Council Member Michael Kubosh, fall 2016

Stephanie GomezHistory and Political Science double major
CHIP Intern, City Controller Chris Brown, spring 2016

Andrea ElizondoPolitical Science and Liberal Studies major
CHIP Intern, Houston Crackdown, spring 2015

Seth Howard, Political Science major
CHIP Intern, Congressman Ted Poe, spring 2015

Patrick Sears, Political Science and Philosophy major
Metropolitan Volunteer Program, spring 2015

Stephanie Brooks, Political Science and Sociology major 
State Department, Lima, Peru, fall 2013

Sarah Aimadeddine, Political Science and Economics double degree
Hobby Fellow, State Representative Jim Murphy, spring 2013

Mathew Mendoza, Political Science major
Phi Alpha Delta, vice president 2013-2014

Miriah Soliz, Political Science major
University of Houston Student Government, executive director, August 2012-May 2013

Amir Tavakkoli, Political Science and Sociology major
Shami Farouk Campaign for Texas Governor, spring 2010 

Taylor Kilroy, Political Science and Public Relations major
City Councilmember Pam Holm, fall 2009