Past Graduate Research Day Events - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Winners Fall 2021

3MT® First place winner : Ritwika Biswas


3MT® Second place winner : Yogeshwari Sanjayrao Ambekar


3MT® Third place winners : Adam Mallette & Donald Rabin


Fall 2021 3MT® Award Winners

Name College Program Title Award
Ritwika Biswas Natural Sciences and Mathematics Biology PhD Crohn's Disease: A Cause and A Cure $1,000
Yogeshwari Sanjayrao Ambekar Engineering Biomedical Engineering PhD Neural Tube Defects $750
Donald Rabin Arts Music DMA How can investigating and  understanding Eastern philosophy and religion diversify Western music practices? $500
Adam Mallette Engineering Chemical and Biochemical Engineering Zeolites: The key to a treasure that must stay buried $500
Zuoxu Xie Pharmacy Pharmaceutics PhD Locally Active Drug for Treating Osteoarthritis Pain Safely $250
Tanya Smit Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Clinical Psychology PhD Avoiding Pain Avoidance? How Acceptance of Chronic Pain Influences Opioid Misuse and Opioid Use Motives $250
Damilola Abe Engineering Subsea Engineering MS Carbon Capture and Storage $250
Abhipsa Srimani Natural Sciences and Mathematics Chemistry PhD Detoxification of Aldehydes: A new approach to prevent cancer $250
Jieni Li Pharmacy PHOP PhD Treatment Selection among patients with Multiple Sclerosis using Machine Learning Approach $250

Winners Spring 2021

Spring 2021 3MT® Award Winners

Mahsa Bitaab
Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management
Dinh Bui
College of Pharmacy
Abhijit Chakraborty
College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Pak Wing Chen
Cullen College of Engineering
Huong Dau
College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Danielle Llaneza
College of Education
Gulsah Malgir
Cullen College of Engineering
Mikhail Mekhedkin
College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Lotanna Ohazuruike
Cullen College of Engineering 
Surya Pratap Solanki
Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering(Cullen College of Engineering)

Winners Fall 2020

3MT® First place winner : Razia Sultana Mohammed


3MT® Second place winner : Taruna Yadav


3MT® Third place winner : Jean Bodet

Fall 2020 3MT® Award Winners

1st Place Razia Sultana Mohammad Pharmacology PhD Pharmacy $1,000
2nd Place Taruna Yadav Biomedical Engineering PhD Engineering $750
3rd Place Jean Bodet Developmental, Cognitive and Behavioral Neuroscience PhD CLASS $500
Finalist Danielle Llaneza Counseling Psychology PhD Education $250
Finalist Dinh Bui Pharmaceutics PhD Pharmacy $250
Finalist Emily Starling Comm Disorders MA CLASS $250
Finalist Garima Singh Chemical Engineering PhD Engineering $250
Finalist Merve Erten Mass Communication MA CLASS $250
Finalist Nishant Rao Kinesiology PhD CLASS $250
Finalist Prajakta Masurkar  Pharmaceutical Health Outcomes and Policy PhD Pharmacy $250
Finalist Sujit Biswas  Pharmaceutics PhD Pharmacy $250

Winners Fall 2019

  • 3MT® Winners

    3MT® Winners

  • 3MT® Finalist

    3MT® Finalist

  • Poster Presentation Winners

    Poster Presentation Winners

  • Poster Presentation Honorable Mention

    Poster Presentation Honorable Mention

3MT® Award Winners (11/1/19)

1st Place Dalia Lezzar Engineering $1,000
2nd Place Victor Lincha Pharmacy $750
3rd Place Lindamarie Olson Social Work $500
3rd Place Madeleine Lu Engineering $500
Finalist Adesola Saba Engineering $250
Finalist Autena Torbati Education $250
Finalist Brooke Kauffman CLASS $250
Finalist Elizabeth Davis NSM $250
Finalist Faheem Ershad Engineering $250
Finalist Hanan Qasim Pharmacy $250
Finalist Jean Bodet III CLASS $250
Finalist Musa Ozturk Engineering $250
Finalist Noor Abdulkareem Pharmacy $250
Finalist Qingqing Xu Pharmacy $250

Poster Award Winners (11/1/19)

1st Place Justin Brantley Engineering $1,000
2nd Place Faheem Ershad Engineering $750
3rd Place Naomi Nubin CLASS $500
Honorable Mention Cale Lewis NSM $250
Honorable Mention Chaunte White Education $250
Honorable Mention David Holguin Architecture $250
Honorable Mention David Young CLASS $250
Honorable Mention Dilranjan Wickramasuriya Engineering $250
Honorable Mention Hannah Claussenius-Kalman CLASS Was not in attendance
Honorable Mention Justin Shepherd CLASS Was not in attendance
Honorable Mention Nishant Rao CLASS $250
Honorable Mention Razia Sultana Mohammed Pharmacy $250

Winners Spring 2019

  • 3MT® Participates

  • 3MT® Winners

  • Poster Presentation Winners

3MT® Award Winners (2/11/19)


1st place (tie)

Hannah Locke
Biology and Biochemistry, NSM
Upstairs, Downstairs,: Plants, Insects, and the Microbes that Serve Them - 1:04:21

1st place (tie) Santoshi Ramachandran
Physiological Optics and Vision Science, Optometry
Strabismus: Seeing the World One Eye at a Time - 1:22:27
2nd place Ming Chen
Marketing, Business
How We Look Reflects What We Want - 0:24:10
3rd place Andrew Rogers
Psychology, CLASS
Opioid and Cannabis Co-Use in Chronic Pain: Relations to Substance Misuse, Mental Health and Pain Experience - 0:42:36
People’s Choice Isha Baheti
Communication Sciences, CLASS
Development of Hindi Version of the Consensus of Auditory Perception Evolution - 0:46:32


Poster Award Winners (2/11/19)


1st place

Ronal Infante
Industrial Design, Hines College of Architecture
BENDIMU: Application of IMUs in Flexion/Extension Therapy

2nd place (tie)

Khob Bhandari
Physiological Optics, College of Optometry
Effects of Oral Caffeine on the Melanopsin Driven Pupil Response 

2nd place (tie) Musa Ozturk
Biomedical Engineering, Cullen College of Engineering
Quantitative Keyboard Tapping Measurement Correlates with the Changes in Neural Signals of Parkinson's Patients
3rd place (tie) Naghmeh Hassanzadeh Khayyat
Biology, NSM
TRPC6 inactivation does not Protect Against Diabetic Kidney Disease
3rd place (tie) Shreesti Shrestha
Biology, NSM
Role of microRNA-322/503 Cluster in Heart Disease
People’s Choice Amir Khalafi
Construction Management, College of Technology
Immersive Augmented Reality (AR) Technology for Construction Safety Training