UH Community Welcome at Food Service Advisory Committee Meetings

With more than 30 retail locations, two residential restaurants and a host of other services, the sheer size of the food program at the University of Houston is impressive.

Keeping an operation of that magnitude running smoothly day in and day out, while continuously looking for ways to improve customer service, can be a challenge.

That’s where the Food Service Advisory Committee plays an integral role.

The committee, which meets regularly during the fall and spring semesters, is made up of student, faculty and staff members who serve in an advisory capacity regarding the University’s retail and residential food/beverage and vending programs.

One of the key responsibilities of the committee is to facilitate campus dialogue on all food service issues. Students, faculty and staff should always feel comfortable reaching out to committee members with any concerns, complaints, ideas or even compliments that they have.

“It’s important that all members of the UH community – whether they be students, faculty or staff – know that the food service advisory committee is here for them. The best way to constantly improve our service is to hear ideas, thoughts and recommendations from everyone, and this committee is one of the best avenues for bringing those to our attention,” said Rosie Ashley, Auxiliary Services manager.

The committee’s first gathering of the 2016-2017 academic year will take place Friday, Sept. 16, from noon to 2 p.m. in the Green Mountain Energy dining room within the Fresh Food Company in Moody Towers. Students, faculty and staff are all welcome to attend. There will be time set aside for public comments. All public input is taken seriously by the committee.

Committee members are appointed by various campus groups and organizations to serve. These groups include the Student Government Association, Residence Halls Association, University Center Policy Board, Faculty Senate, and Staff Council. There are also at-large student representatives selected by the committee.