Skip to main content

Staff

International Student Counselors
Anita Gaines  Anita Gaines
 Director

 Appointments available by request. Contact an ISSS Front Desk staff member for assistance at (713) 743-5065.

  Email: againes@uh.edu




Jin Zhang  Jin Zhang
 Associate Director

 J-1 Specialist. Meets with students, scholars, and alumni with questions about change of status to F-1/J-1, maintaining status inquiries, enrollment issues (such as academic suspension, eligibility for Reduced Course Loads), reinstatement, transitions, employment authorizations, J-1 orientations, and cultural issues.

  Email: jinzhang@uh.edu
  Available by appointment: 9:00am-     12:00pm;1:30pm-4:30pm 

Make_an_appointment_online__ 
  ( Click here for instructions)

Stefan Johnsson Stefan Johnsson
SEVIS Compliance Senior Coordinator

Meets with students and alumni with questions about seeking basic benefits, change of status to F-1, reinstatement to F-1 status, F-1 employment authorizations, transitions, and cultural issues.

Email: sjohnsson@uh.edu
Available by appointment: 9:00am-12:00pm;1:30pm-4:30pm 

Make an appointment online
  ( Click here for instructions)

Jason Scherzer Jason Scherzer
International Student Counselor 2

Meets with students, scholars, and alumni with questions about seeking basic benefits, change of status to F-1/J-1, reinstatement to F-1/J-1 status, F-1/J-1 employment authorizations, J-1 orientations, transitions, and cultural issues.

Email: jscherzer@uh.edu
Available by appointment: 9:00am-12:00pm;1:30pm-4:30pm 

Make an appointment online 
  ( Click here for instructions)

Grace Semple-Paul Grace Semple-Paul
International Student Counselor 2

Meets with students, scholars, and alumni with questions about seeking basic benefits, change of status to F-1/J-1, reinstatement to F-1/J-1 status, F-1/J-1 employment authorizations, J-1 orientations, transitions, and cultural issues.

Email: gpsemple-paul@uh.edu
Available by appointment: 9:00am-12:00pm;1:30pm-4:30pm 

Make an appointment online 
  ( Click here for instructions)

Ida Thompson Ida Thompson
International Student Counselor 2

Meets with students, scholars, and alumni with questions about seeking basic benefits, change of status to F-1/J-1, reinstatement to F-1/J-1 status, F-1/J-1 employment authorizations, J-1 orientations, transitions, and cultural issues.

Email: ithompson@uh.edu
Available by appointment: 9:00am-12:00pm;1:30pm-4:30pm 

Make an appointment online 
  ( Click here for instructions)

International Friendship Program
Dale Hamilton Dale Hamilton
International Friendship Program Coordinator

Provides directions for students seeking a Texas ID or Texas Driver’s License for the first time. Also meets with individuals requesting information on the Friendship Program.

Email: dhamilton@uh.edu
Available for walk-ins: 8:30am-4:00pm

ISSS Support Staff
Emily Estill Emily Estill
Records Associate II

Provides front-line support for students, scholars, alumni, and dependents. Assists non-immigrants with requests not requiring an appointment.

Email: eestill@uh.edu

Jackeice Jackeice Chambers
Records Associate II

Provides front-line support for students, scholars, alumni, and dependents. Assists non-immigrants with requests not requiring an appointment.

Email: jcchambers@uh.edu

Gina Magina B. McCready (GINA)
Records Associate II

Provides front-line support as related to SEVIS reporting projects.

Email: mbmccready@uh.edu

Junatte Juanette L Davis
Administrative Assistant

Coordinates ISSS financial processes. Provides information to colleges and departments on procedures for submitting DS-2019 requests. Provides support to international students and scholars seeking assistance with Foreign National Tax Resource software.

Email: jldavis1@uh.edu

Roopa Rajala
Instructional Assistant

Email: crajala@uh.edu

Lalitha Kalidindi
Instructional Assistant

Email: lkalidindi@uh.edu