Skip to main content

Research Administrative Services

Research Administrative Services (RAS) in the Office of Contracts and Grants (OCG) plays a role in helping the University fulfill its research, instruction, and public service missions. RAS assists faculty in proposal development and submission, sponsored project contract negotiation and execution of monetary and non-monetary agreements, and management of awards.

Research Administration

  • Assists with proposal development, submission, and transmittal approval
  • Negotiates and accepts awards
  • Establishes cost centers
  • Communicates sponsor terms and conditions to faculty
  • Provides overall assistance with award management
  • Requests NCEs, budget mods, and prior approvals
  • Executes subaward agreements

Research Contracts 

  • Assists with negotiation of sponsored research, consortium, and non-monetary research agreements

Staff


Michelle Humphries 
Research Grant Office Coordinator
doraward@central.uh.edu
713-743-3295

Research Administrative Services


Health & Science

Biology & Biochemistry – College of Medicine – College of Nursing – NSM – Optometry - Pharmacy
\
Peter Pelache

Team Lead
Peter Pelache
Research Administrator
pfpelach@central.uh.edu
713-745-5356

Tracy Maclin

Tracy Maclin
Research Administrator
tamaclin@central.uh.edu
713-743-5598

Vanessa Stephney

Vanessa Stepney
Research Administrator
vstepney@uh.edu
713-743-9205

Education, Arts, & Research Centers

Bauer College of Business – Chancellor – College of the Arts – Dean of Students – Education – Finance – GCSW – Gerald D Hines Arch & Design – Honors College – HRM – Law – Lib Arts & Social Sciences – Library – Office of the Provost – Research Centers

John West

Team Lead
John West
Research Administrator
jswest4@central.uh.edu
713-745-5145

Divani Espenoza

Divani Espinoza
Research Administrator
despino2@central.uh.edu
713-743-3973

Darlene Irrobali

Darlene Gutierrez
Research Administrator
dmirrobali@uh.edu
713-743-5016

Photo of Payam Hassany

Payam Hassany
Research Administrator
phassany@central.uh.edu
713-743-7251

Engineering & Technology

Engineering - Technology

Keith Kaptchinskie

Team Lead
Keith Kaptchinskie
Research Administrator 
kakaptch@central.uh.edu
713-743-9217

Teal Brown

Teal Brown
Research Administrator
tbrown28@Central.UH.EDU
713-743-7614

Kimberly Jordan

Kimberly Jordan
Research Administrator
kmjordan@central.uh.edu
713-743-3658

Research Administration - Pre Award


Richard Mendez

Team Lead
Richard Mendez
Research Administrator
rmende27@central.uh.edu
713-743-6543

Research Contracts


Andrew Greer

Andrew Greer
Manager, Research Contracts
acgreer@central.uh.edu
713-743-8268

Barbara DeHaven

Barbara DeHaven
Research Contract Officer
bedehave@central.uh.edu

Jared Hill

Jared Hill
Research Contract Officer
jmhill6@central.uh.edu
713-743-5359