Skip to main content

Research Integrity and Oversight (RIO) Office

The Research Integrity and Oversight (RIO) Office supports and educates the UH research community in all areas of compliance with federal regulations concerning human subjects, animal subjects, conflicts of interest, grant congruency, and responsible conduct of research.

Staff

Kirstin Holzschuh is the Executive Director of the Research Integrity and Oversight (RIO) Office. With an initial background in research and over twenty years of research administration experience, Holzschuh oversees the University’s two Institutional Review Boards (IRBs), the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC), the Conflict of Interest Committee (COIC), and serves as UH’s Responsible Conduct of Research (RCR) Coordinator.
kmholzschuh@uh.edu
713-743-9740

Yadira Cortez
Associate Director
ycortez2@central.uh.edu
713-743-5571

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee

Dr. Thomas Todd
IACUC Veterinarian
tetodd@uh.edu
713-743-4051

Summer Boyd
Research Compliance Specialist
smboyd2@uh.edu
713-743-5671

Conflict of Interest/RCR

Penny Maher
Senior Research Compliance Specialist (COI)
plmaher@uh.edu
713-743-9255

Grant Congruency/RCR

Dr. Laura Gutierrez
Senior Compliance Specialist
lgutierrez@uh.edu
713-743-1897

Institutional Review Boards

Shehla Barlas
Research Compliance Analyst
sbarlas2@uh.edu
713-743-6823

Maria (Nettie) Martinez
Research Compliance Specialist (IRB 3)
mnmartinez3@uh.edu
713-743-9211

Alicia Vargas
Sr. Research Compliance Specialist
avargas2@uh.edu
713-743-9215