Skip to main content

Faculty News

Wanat Elected President-elect of Texas Society of Critical Care Medicine 

UH College of Pharmacy Clinical Assistant Professor Matthew A. Wanat, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCCCP, has been elected President-elect of the Society of Critical Care Medicine-Texas Chapter

wanat headshot photo"The Society of Critical Care Medicine is a great organization that involves physicians, nurses, pharmacists, respiratory therapists and other ICU clinicians in a true multidisciplinary approach to improve education, networking and ultimately patient care," Wanat said. "I have served in several roles over the past five years, including communications committee chair, website developer and most recently on the Board of Directors.

"These positions have allowed me to have an in-depth understanding of how the organization functions, and how to successfully move the group forward. Transitioning to the Executive Board and the President position was the next logical step to stay actively and accomplish my goals going forward."

Wanat will be installed as 2016-17 president-elect at the organization's March meeting, with subsequent terms as president and immediate past president in 2017-18 and 2018-19, respectively. The new honor is just the latest recognition bestowed upon Wanat through the state and national organization, having earned a SCCM Presidential Citation in November 2015 and the TSCCM Excellence in Leadership Award in January 2015. He also is among the first in the nation to be recognized as a Board Certified Critical Care Pharmacist by the Board of Pharmacy Specialties, which began awarding the designation last year. 

"Over the next three years, I hope to maintain our excellent educational monthly meetings for members, and look into different avenues for providing education and networking for our members," Wanat said. "I also hope to continue to utilize new technology to engage our members, and encourage interested individuals into leadership opportunities within the organization."