Skip to main content

College News

  • cox at podium

    THP alumnus and Roger W. Anderson Leadership Award recipient Rodney Cox addresses classmates, peers, friends and family members at the RWA Leadership Celebration.

  • cox and wucki

    Rodney Cox accepts the Roger W. Anderson Leadership Award from fellow THP alumnus Eric Wucki.

  • thp class of 2024

    THP's Class of 2023

  • thp class of 2024

    THP's Class of 2024

  • thp class of 2025

    THP's Class of 2025

From Community to Professional Leadership

The Houston Program Honors Alumnus Cox with Anderson Leadership Award

July 7 — The Houston Program in Health-System Pharmacy Administration and Leadership honored alumnus Rodney Cox, B.S. Pharm., R.Ph., M.S. ('11), director of pharmacy and respiratory therapy at Memorial Hermann Memorial City Medical Center, with the 2023 Roger W. Anderson Leadership Award.

Held June 22 at the University of Houston College of Pharmacy's Health 2 building, the Roger W. Anderson (RWA) Leadership Program Celebration honors an outstanding leader in health-system pharmacy. The event also serves as an occasion to recognize outgoing graduates of the program, acknowledge the progress of students/residents entering their final year adn welcome incoming student/residents into the program. 

The award is named in honor of Roger W. Anderson, DrPH, R.Ph., FASHP, who served as vice president and head of the Division of Pharmacy at The University of Texas-MD Anderson Cancer Center for 26 years. Considered a national trailblazer and role model in the advancement of health-system pharmacy practice, leadership and administration, Anderson is a past president of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, recipient of ASHP's Harvey A.K. Whitney Award and author/coauthor more than 60 publications.

Cox said he was touched by the turnout of well-wishers comprising colleagues, peers, mentors, mentees, family members and friends, including 2022 RWA Leadership Awardee and UHCOP alumna Diane B. Ginsburg, Ph.D., M.S. ('90), R.Ph., FASHP, associate dean for healthcare partnerships, clinical professor, G.D. Searle & Co. Endowed Fellow in Pharmacy and Provost's Distinguished Service Faculty at UT-Austin College of Pharmacy.

"The outpouring at the reception for the RWA was amazing and humbling," Cox said. "To share the moment with colleagues, friends and my two nephews is a memory I will cherish. It means so much to see everyone come out and to have the support of Roger and his family.

"Honoring his legacy of service to the profession and the UH pharmacy leaders who came before us is something we all should carry with us. What we represent collectively as leaders is no small thing and has potential to shape lives and our practice in a real way."

Cox received his B.S. in pharmacy from Texas Southern University and his M.S. in Pharmacy Administration from UHCOP for which he continues to serve as an adjunct faculty member. An inaugural member of The Houston Program, Cox joined Memorial Hermann Health System (MHHS) as its first administration resident and now serves as director of pharmacy and resipiratory therapy at the organization's Memorial City Medical Center.

In addition, Cox serves as the 2023-24 president of the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists. He previously served as 2012-13 president of the Gulf Coast Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

A strong advocate for community engagement, Cox serves as chair of the Equity, Diversity, Inclusion Community Council at MHHS. He was recently recognized by the Houston Business Journal for outstanding contributions as a diversity chamption for 2023.

"Like most of the alumni of THP, the training we receive at our respective facilities, from the university faculty and invited leaders is second to none," Cox said. "Hard to understate the catalyst it provides to our careers. My hope is that we continue to open doors and opportunities for those that follow and truly build a pool of pharmacy leaders that reflect our diverse and vibrant communities."

The Houston Program is a two-year program designed to train and develop the next generation of pharmacy leaders. The program culminates in the completion of a M.S. in Pharmacy Leadership & Administration from UHCOP and PGY1 pharmacy practice/PGY2 Health-System Pharmacy Administration and Leadership residencies with one of seven fellow Texas Medical Center institutions: Baylor St. Luke's Medical Center, Harris Health System, HCA Houston Healthcare Kingwood, Houston Methodist Hospital, Memorial Hermann Health System, Texas Children's Hospital and The University of Texas-M.D. Anderson Cancer Center.

To view more event photos, visit the THP-RWA photo album.