Skip to main content

Giving News

  • hardin-oliver

    Mading Society inductee Carole Hardin-Oliver, R.Ph.

  • humana rep

    Humana representative Tray Cockerell

  • nguyen

    Mading Society inductee Stacey Nguyen

  • prescotts

    Mading Society inductees Renee and Bryan Prescott

  • salim

    Mading Society inductee Samina Salim

  • chow

    Mading Red Coat honoree Diana S-L. Chow

  • lovois

    Mading Red Coat honoree John J. Lovoi, pictured with wife Paula Lovoi

Pharmacy Philanthropy

Mading Society Welcomes 11 Alumni and Friends as 2019 Inductees, Bestows Red Coats to Milestone Donors 

October 8 — UH College of Pharmacy's Mading Society welcomed one of its largest classes of inductees, along with bestowed red coats for milestone giving to two members, at its 2019 Induction & Dinner Oct. 4 at the Belltower on 34th Street in Houston.

The Mading Society was established in 1997 by the University of Houston College of Pharmacy to recognize individual donors who have made gifts or bequests of $10,000 or more to the college. In 1998, membership privileges were extended to corporations and foundations that contribute $25,000 or more in cumulative gifts to the college. The society was named in memory of Cora and Webb Mading, the first major benefactors of the college. Upon the death of Mr. Mading in 1953, the college was bequeathed $20,000 to establish an endowment for students.

The 11 new members of the society are.

  • Brian Hamilton, B.S. Education ('95), husband of late UHCOP alumna Michelle Edwards Hamilton, Pharm.D. ('05);
  • Carole Hardin-Oliver, R.Ph. (B.S. '83);  
  • Humana;
  • Gail and Richard J. Kruzynski;
  • Chiu-Wing and Kwai-Woon Lam, parents of late UHCOP alumna Wai-Ying Lam, Pharm.D. ('08);
  • Stacey Nguyen, Pharm.D. ('02); 
  • Renee Prescott, Pharm.D. ('02), and Bryan Prescott, Pharm.D. ('01); and
  • Samina Salim, Ph.D., UHCOP associate professor and wife of late faculty member Mohammad Asghar.

In addition to the member induction, two current members also were recognized with a "Cougar Red" coat bearing the society's coat-of-arms for achieving milestone giving of $100,000 to the college. The two "Red Coat" honorees this year were Diana S-L. Chow, Ph.D., FNAI, and John J. Lovoi, B.S. ('62). 

During the event, UHCOP Dean F. Lamar Pritchard, Ph.D., R.Ph., announced the college recently established two endowed professorships: the Diana S-L. Chow Endowed Professorship in Drug Discovery and Development and the Paula and John J. Lovoi Sr. Endowed Professorship in Drug Discovery and Development.

"The loyal support of our alumni, faculty and friends is a testament to the confidence and pride they have in our legacy of excellence in teaching, research and service to patients today and tomorrow," Pritchard said. "The college has experienced tremendous growth in our facilities and our academic, patient care and research programs, and we applaud our generous donors for their commitment to contributing to the health and well-being of our communities across Texas and beyond."