Skip to main content

Faculty News

Professor Randall "Randy" Prince Retires from UHCOP After 28 Years of Teaching, Research Service

UH College of Pharmacy Professor Randall A. "Randy" Prince, Pharm.D., Ph.D. (Hon.), FCCP, FCP, FIDSA, retired from UH January 4 after 28 years of teaching and research service to the university and college. Prince will continue working in a research role at The University of Texas-MD Anderson Cancer Center, where has worked in research and clinical roles as an adjunct faculty member since 1996. 

"I am grateful to all my students over the years for their hard work and dedication," Prince said.  

randall prince photoDuring his career at UHCOP, Prince taught infectious diseases pharmacotherapy and advanced therapeutics as well as coordinated several courses, including pharmacy law. He authored/coauthored more than 100 journal articles and more than two dozen book chapters/continuing education materials, delivered hundreds of presentations and served as a reviewer/editorial board member for more than three dozen publications.

He is credited for laying the foundation for UHCOP's reputation as a leader in infectious diseases research and clinical patient care, training dozens of graduate and professional students, residents and fellows from UHCOP and other institutions; organizing an annual multidisciplinary infectious diseases symposium for several years; and leading or collaborating on dozens of grant-funded infectious diseases studies and clinical trials.

Prince has been recognized as a fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, American College of Clinical Pharmacology and Infectious Diseases Society of America, which also honored him with its Distinguished Service Award. A founding member of the Society of Infectious Diseases Pharmacists, Prince received the organization's Outstanding Service Award.

In addition to serving on countless committees, Prince's tenure at UHCOP included serving as co-director of the Pharm.D./Ph.D. dual degree program (1999-2005), director of the Anti-Infective Research Labs (1993-2015), and chair of the then-Department of Clinical Sciences and Administration (2000-2005).