Skip to main content

University of Houston Welcomes New Members to the Board of Visitors

By Bryan Luhn β€” 713-743-0954

The University of Houston is pleased to welcome 22 new members to its Board of Visitors with terms beginning this fall.

These new additions, appointed by UH President Renu Khator, join an impressive group of private-sector thought leaders, change makers and influencers who serve as advisors providing insights to advance the University’s brand and reputation throughout the city, state, region and nation. They are committed to the University’s strategic plan and goals, including becoming a Top 50 ranked public institution, and they are passionate about student success.

“I look forward to partnering with these dynamic new members of the Board of Visitors whose broad array of expertise will undoubtedly help us forge new paths on our journey of growth, progress and innovation,” said Renu Khator, UH president. “They are essential allies and champions of our key priorities, and their commitment to amplify our message is not only greatly appreciated, but critical to advancing the mission of the University of Houston.”

The Board of Visitors is chaired by Aylwin Lewis (’76, M.B.A. ’90), former chairman, chief executive officer and president of Potbelly Corporation, who has served since 2018. 

New Members:

Natara Holloway Branch ('98), Chief Executive Officer, Houston Exponential

Janis Burke, Chief Executive Officer, Harris County - Houston Sports Authority

David L. Callender, M.D.  (MBA '95), President and Chief Executive Officer, Memorial Hermann Health System

Brett Cullen ('79), Professional Film & Television Actor/Producer

Charles D. Dorn, CCM ('80), Managing Director, The Dorn Group, Ltd.

Ellie Francisco (M.B.A. '80), Founder, Francisco+co

Cullen Geiselman Muse, Ph.D., Chair, The Cullen Trust for Health Care

Nicky R. Holdeman, M.D. ('73, O.D. '76), Professor Emeritus and Distinguished Alumnus University of Houston

Case Keenum ('10), Quarterback, Houston Texans, National Football League

Kevin Kolb (F.S. ’06), Retired Professional Football Player & Entrepreneur

Devika Kornbacher ('98), Partner and Co-Head of Tech Group at Clifford Chance

Anu Lal ('94)Vice President, Sales and Marketing, Piping Technology and Piping Products, Inc.

Stephen Littleton, Former President of Investor Relations and Corporate Secretary, Exxon Mobil

Jason McCann ('91, MBA '96), Chief Executive Officer, Vari

Marilyn Miles, President, Edro Investments

Tanner Moran, Managing Director, Jumana Capital

Sandi Nicholson, Philanthropist and Art Enthusiast

Carroll Ray (J.D. '02), Vice Chair, The Cullen Trust for the Performing Arts

Dave Smalley ('79), Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Spectrum Concession

Craig Spaulding ('82), Founder, South Bay Partners, Inc.

Lea Weingarten, Principal, Weingarten Art Group

Scott Zamir ('05), Vice President, Woodlake MRI

Top Stories