UH Alumni Association Announces New Board Members, Leadership

The University of Houston Alumni Association Foundation (UHAAF), a nonprofit organization that serves and supports the University, its alumni and students, announced today that three new members have been elected to serve on the organization’s Board of Directors in addition to the full roster of officers and members for the 2016-17 academic year.

The new members were installed last month.

"First, I want to thank all of our board members for their dedication to our alma mater," said Mike Pede, associate vice president for alumni relations. "I'm excited about the diversity and scope of the group and what we can accomplish on behalf of our vast alumni base, not only in Houston but nationwide"

The three new UHAAF board members are Katy Caldwell (’78), Michael Sachs (’97) and Amanda Heath (’02), who were elected to three-year terms and are eligible for one additional three-year term. They join standing members Cedric Bandoh (’12), Cynthia Oliver Coleman (’71), Charles Haston (’14), Darryl Schroeder (’69), Sharon Spillman (’97, M.Ed. ’03, Ed.D. ’11), Wayne Luckett (’74), Earl Cummings (’91), Drue DaSilva (’93, M.S. ’99), Rusty Hruska (’93), Tom May (’88) and Judy Chong (’69, ’76).

Patty Godfrey (’89, UHCL M.B.A. ’97) was elected board president. She was previously an at large member of the UHAAF Executive Committee. Rounding out the executive committee are Trey Wilkinson (’92, M.B.A. ’02), immediate past president; Bill Hickl (’86), president elect; Laurie Rutherford (’86, M.B.A. ’91, M.S. ’04), treasurer; Fermeen Fazal (’96, ’97, J.D. ’00) secretary, and Brent Chinn (FS ’82) in the at-large position.

“I am honored and extremely excited to be elected president of the University of Houston Alumni Association Foundation Board of Directors,” Godfrey said. “It’s an exciting time at our alma mater. It’s an exciting time to be a UH alumna and to see all the changes at the University. I look forward to matching President Renu Khator’s enthusiasm and vision in getting all alumni excited and involved. Go Coogs!”

The UHAAF Board also honored three retiring members, former presidents John Clarke (‘82) and Starlet Agrella (’86, MBA ‘89), along with Dean Pappas (‘81), for their years of service.

UHAAF’s Board of Directors meets quarterly. All meetings and agendas are open to UHAAF members and are listed on the alumni association’s website.

For more information on UHAAF or any of its programming and scholarships, please visit www.houstonalumni.com or call 713-743-9550.