UH System Board of Regents Elects FY2016 Officers

During a special-called meeting on Oct. 5, the University of Houston System Board of Regents elected officers for the 2016 fiscal year.

Tilman J. Fertitta will serve a second term as the Board’s chair. Fertitta has served on the Board since 2009 and was first elected as chair in 2014. Fertitta also has served the Board in a variety of areas. He is the Board’s former vice chair and chaired the Facilities, Construction and Master Planning Committee. He also contributed his insights and energies to the Finance and Administration Committee and the Executive and Compensation Committee. He is the CEO and sole shareholder of Landry’s Inc.

Welcome W. Wilson Jr. will again serve as the Board’s vice chair. He has held this position since 2014. Wilson was appointed to the Board in 2011 and has chaired the Facilities, Construction and Master Planning Committee. He also served as vice chair of the Finance and Administration Committee. Wilson’s expertise also has been utilized as a member of the Academic and Student Success Committee and Executive and Compensation Committee. Wilson is president and CEO of GSL Welcome Group, a real estate development firm specializing in single-tenant office buildings and industrial properties with warehouse and manufacturing facilities.

Spencer D. Armour III was named the Board’s secretary. In 2011, he was appointed to the Board, and during the past fiscal year, he chaired the Finance and Administration Committee. Armour also has served as a member of the Facilities, Construction and Master Planning Committee and Endowment Management Committee. Armour is the chairman of ProPetro Services, a partner at PT Petroleum LLC and managing partner of Armada Gas & Oil Co.

During its special meeting, the Board approved the FY2016 schedule of committee meetings on Nov. 19, Feb. 18, May 19 and Aug. 25.

The UHS Board of Regents is comprised of nine regular members and a Student Regent. Every two years, the Texas Governor appoints three members to the Board. Each regular member serves a six-year term, and Student Regents serve for one year.

In addition to Fertitta, Wilson and Armour, Board members include Roger F. Welder, Durga D. Agrawal, Paula M. Mendoza, Peter K. Taaffe, Beth Madison, Gerald McElvy and Student Regent Garrett H. Hughey.

For more details on the UH System and the UH System Board of Regents, visit http://www.uhsa.uh.edu/.