Texas Gov. Rick Perry Appoints Beth Madison to UHS Board of Regents

The University of Houston System Board of Regents soon will welcome its newest member Beth Madison. Texas Gov. Rick Perry appointed Madison to the Board this week, and UHS Board Chair Jarvis Hollingsworth made the announcement to the System community during a recent meeting.

Madison replaces outgoing Regent Nandita Berry, who resigned from the Board after being appointed Texas Secretary of State. Her term expires Aug. 31, 2015.

Madison is a UH alumna and contributes her time and energies as a board member for the University’s C.T. Bauer College of Business Foundation. She also is a life member of the UH Alumni Association and Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society. Madison previously served on the board for the University’s Moores School of Music Society. In 2010, she was awarded the UH President's Medallion. She also contributes to the University as an underwriter for the UH Madison Merit Scholarship.

Madison is a shareholder and managing director of Higginbotham and Associates, and co-founder of Madison Benefits Group. She is a member of the Society of Certified Employee Benefits Specialists and Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters Society. Additionally, she is a board member for the Foundation for Teen Health, board secretary of the Rice University Shepherd School of Music Society, a trustee of the Madison Charitable Foundation, and an underwriter of the University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma Loella Elizabeth Madison Scholarship. She is senior board chairman of the Houston Grand Opera, board secretary of the Alley Theatre, and a board member and past president of the World Affairs Council of Houston. She is an inductee of the Greater Houston Women's Chamber of Commerce 2013 Women's Hall of Fame. She is also a past board member of the Houston Symphony, Trees for Houston, and Greater Houston Preservation Alliance, and past president of the Houston Estate and Financial Forum.

The UHS Board of Regents is comprised of nine regular members and a student regent. Every two years, the Texas Governor appoints three members to the board. Each regular member serves a six-year term, and student regents serve for one year.

Madison joins chairman Hollingsworth, newly elected vice chair Tilman J. Fertitta, secretary Welcome W. Wilson Jr., Spencer D. Armour III, Roger F. Welder, Durga D. Agrawal, Paula M. Mendoza, Peter K. Taaffe and student regent Benjamin P. Wells.

For more details on the UH System and the UH System Board of Regents, visit http://www.uhsa.uh.edu/.