Skip to main content

Our Team

The Advancing Community Engagement and Service Institute is a university-wide institute that reports to the Office of the Provost. Meet the leadership team:

headshot-mcclellan-anne.jpg Anne McClellan
Co-founder and executive director

Dr. Anne McClellan serves as executive director for growth and innovation and research faculty at the University of Houston College of Education. Her work focuses on developing and funding new initiatives, community engagement and informing educational policy. Before joining the College, McClellan was the director of Middle School Matters at the George W. Bush Institute. The founding principal of the first early college high school in Houston, she later served as vice president for growth at YES Prep, a network of Houston-based public charter schools.
jschwartz7.png Jonathan Schwartz

Dr. Jonathan Schwartz served as associate dean for graduate studies at the University of Houston College of Education before becoming dean of the University of Houston-Downtown College of Public Service in August 2019. He previously worked at New Mexico State University as associate dean of research at the College of Education and as chair of the Counseling and Educational Psychology Department. He is the past president of Division 51, Psychology of Men and Masculinity, of the American Psychological Association; past chair of the Division 17 Prevention Section; and executive board member of the Council of Counseling Psychology Training Programs. He is the recent recipient of a lifetime achievement award from the APA Prevention Section.
  Sarah Fard
Program Director

Sarah Fard is the program director for the Advancing Community Engagement and Service Institute. She is a dedicated higher education professional with more than six years of experience in program development and management at the University of Houston. Fard is committed to the University’s initiative to develop a more inclusive campus that enhances diversity and expands access for all.


Committed to collaboration, the ACES Institute works with representatives from different UH colleges, departments and administrative offices who serve as liaisons.

Graduate College of Social Work

Sheara Williams Jennings, Associate Professor & Program Director

College of Nursing

Kathleen Reeve, Associate Dean, MSN Program Director, Clinical Professor

College of Technology

Consuelo Luisa Waight, Associate Professor

College of Pharmacy

Marc Fleming, Assistant Professor

School of Art

Rex Koontz, Professor & Director

College of Architecture

Patrick Peters, Director

Office of the Provost

Erika Henderson, Assistant Provost

College of Optometry

Pat Segu, Regional Director of Houston Community Based External Clinics, Clinical Associate Professor

College of Engineering

Jerrod Henderson, Instructional Assistant Professor

College of Medicine

David Buck, Associate Dean of Community Health

Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management

Cristian Morosan, Associate Professor

Bauer College of Business

Jamie Belinne, Assistant Dean

College of Education

Conra Gist, Associate Professor

CLASS – African American Studies

Kevin Thompson, Program Manager

Law Center

Christopher D. Heard, Clinical Assistant Professor

If you are a UH faculty or staff member interested in becoming an ACES Institute college liaison, please contact Sarah Fard at