Skip to main content

Research and Scholarship Committee

The University of Houston Research and Scholarship Committee (RSC) exists as one branch of the faculty governance structure through the Faculty Senate. It assists the President, Provost, and Vice Presidents in formulating recommendations and policies affecting the research community on the UH campus. The Research and Scholarship Committee provides a forum for internal discussion, initiates policies touching on research matters, gathers and disseminates information to the faculty, and provides a faculty voice to University Administration on matters pertaining to research.

The Research and Scholarship Committee also administers the funding for UH internal awards.

FY2016 Meeting Dates and Minutes

The RSC meets on the third Friday in the Faculty Senate Conference Room (M.D. Anderson Library).

  • Friday, September 18, 2015
  • Friday, October 16, 2015
  • Friday, November 20, 2015
  • Friday, December 18, 2015
  • Friday, January 15, 2016
  • Friday, February 19, 2016
  • Friday, March 18, 2016
  • Friday, April 15, 2016
  • Friday, May 20, 2016 (Retreat)

Committee Members (FY2016)

Dr. George Zouridakis Dr. Wynne Chin
George Zouridakis, RSC Chair
Professor, Technology
Wynne Chin, Vice-Chair
Professor, Business
Dr. Richard Bond Dr. Stuart Dryer
Richard Bond
Professor, Pharmacy
Vallabh Das
Professor, Optometry
Stuart Dryer
Professor, Biology and Biochemistry
Dr. T. Randall Lee Dr. Stuart Long Dr. Jay Neal
T. Randall Lee
Professor, Chemistry
Stuart Long
Associate Dean, Honors College
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Jay Neal
Assistant Professor, Hotel and Restaurant Management
Dr. Clayton Neighbors Dr. Ezemenari Obasi Dr. Robert Palmer
Clayton Neighbors
Professor, Psychology
Ezemenari Obasi
Associate Professor, Education Psychology
Robert Palmer
Cullen Professor of Law and History
Dr. Shin-Shem Steven Pei Dr. Gregg Roman
Shin-Shem Steven Pei
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Raul Ramos
 Associate Professor & Director of Undergraduate Studies, History
Gregg Roman
Associate Professor, Biology
McClain Sampson
 Assistant Professor, Graduate College of Social Work
Richard Simpson
 Associate Professor, Health and Human Performance
Maria Bondesson
  Clinical Assistant Professor, Nuclear Receptors and Cell Signaling
Dr. Gangbing Song Dr. Michael Zvolensky
Gangbing Song
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
John Wolfe
 Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Michael Zvolensky
Distinguished University Professor, Psychology
Jacqueline Bronicki
 Assessment & Statistics Coordinator, Library

William "Bill" Truitt
  Assistant Professor and
Coordinator Intermediate Design, Architecture

Ex-Officio Representatives

Dr. Ramanan Krishnamoorti Dr. Mary Ann Ottinger
Ramanan Krishnamoorti
Interim Vice Chancellor/Vice President for Research and Technology Transfer
Mary Ann Ottinger
Associate Vice Chancellor/Associate Vice President for Research

Courtney Donica
Division of Research Liaison, Office of Research Development