Skip to main content

Spring 2019


Mrs. Cyvia Grossberg Wolff

Mrs. Cyvia Grossberg Wolff, along with her late husband Melvyn (’53), who received the UH Doctor of Humane Letters Degree, honoris causa, in 2015, made a generous gift to the C. T. Bauer College of Business in 2008 to establish the Cyvia and Melvyn Wolff Center for Entrepreneurship (WCE). That legacy has contributed to the WCE being nationally ranked among the top 10 programs of its kind in the nation since its inception – it ranked No. 1 in 2018,
2010 and 2011, and is now ranked No. 2.

She is a member of the UH System’s “Here, We Go” fundraising campaign executive committee. The campaign recently reached its $1 billion goal, several months ahead of schedule. She is also a member of the UH Board of Visitors Public Art Task Force and the Ezekiel W. Cullen Society.

Mrs. Wolff’s love for UH and its students goes beyond her philanthropic support and volunteerism. In years past, she was actively involved in arranging week-long field trips to Omaha for selected WCE students that included a private meeting with Warren Buffet. She attends the annual WCE induction and graduation ceremonies and co-teaches a Bauer course in entrepreneurship.

Her generosity extends beyond UH and the Bauer College, however. She is a supporter of the M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, the Museum of Fine Arts/Houston, and many other health, arts and educational institutions throughout the city. For her love of the University of Houston, for her charitable work throughout the Houston community and for her commitment to student success, the University of Houston is proud to award the Doctor of Humane Letters Degree, honoris causa, to Mrs. Cyvia Grossberg Wolff with all the rights, honors and privileges appertaining thereto.
The Doctor of Humane Letters degrees, honoris causa, given for exemplary service to the University of Houston or society at large, is the highest honor UH can bestow.

*Award to be presented during the C.T. Bauer College of Business University Commencement Ceremony at 9:00 a.m. CST - See Livestream

Past Recipients