Skip to main content

Energy Symposium | The Future of Energy Policy This is the fourth and final installment of the 2016-2017 Energy Symposium Series

The Future of Energy Policy

Co-hosted by: UH Energy and the UH Law Center's Environment, Energy and Natural Resource Center

As energy policy in the Trump administration takes shape, the final UH Energy symposium of the year will focus on the implications of energy-related executive orders that have been issued, regulations that have been overturned and pending legislation. Two-thirds of the way through Trump’s first 100 days, the symposium will offer a deeper understanding of emerging energy policies and their impact on the Texas, U.S. and global economies.

WHEN: FRIDAY, MARCH 31, 2017  |  KROST HALL, UH LAW CENTER  |  4:00 - 5:30PM  

Add to Calendar

Watch the symposium live:

Teaser Trailer (produced by the Valenti School of Communication):


Wayne ChristianCommissioner Wayne Christian, Railroad Commission of Texas 

Wayne Christian, a longtime conservative businessman, was elected to the Texas Railroad Commission in November 2016. 

In 1996, Christian was elected to the Texas House of Representatives as the first Republican elected from East Texas since the Reconstruction era following the Civil War. During his time in the House, he helped to lead the state’s conservative renaissance, which resulted in a Republican majority in the Texas Legislature.

As a state representative, Christian served as vice-chairman of the House Committee on Regulated Industries and as a multi-term member of the Energy Resources Committee. The committees provided direct oversight of the Railroad Commission, and he built a strong record of support for free markets and limiting regulations.

Christian graduated from Stephen F. Austin State University with a degree in general business in 1973. 

Russell FrisbyH. Russell Frisby Jr., Partner, Stinson Leonard Street

Russell Frisby, partner at Stinson Leonard Street, focuses on regulatory and corporate matters affecting communications, energy and technology. He represents clients in administrative proceedings, litigation and advocacy, and also provides strategic and corporate advice. Frisby also serves as co-leader of the firm’s Telecommunications Practice Group.

Frisby previously served as CEO and acting chief legal officer of the Competitive Telecommunications Association, the largest association representing competitive facilities-based carriers, providers using unbundled network elements, global integrated communications companies and their supplier partners. During his tenure as chairman of the Maryland Public Service Commission, the commission was known for its pro-competitive policies. Russell participated in a number of key decisions, including the Telecommunications Act arbitration proceedings, various rate cases and the electric industry restructuring.


Gene GreenCongressman Gene Green, U.S. Representative, 29th District of Texas

U.S. Rep. Gene Green was first elected to Congress from the 29th Congressional District in 1992 after 20 years in the Texas Legislature. Green has served on the House Energy and Commerce Committee since 1996.

He is the ranking member for the subcommittee on health and also serves on the subcommittees on energy, environment and digital commerce and consumer protection. 

Since being elected to the House of Representatives, Green has focused on health issues, energy, education, labor, domestic manufacturing and preserving Social Security and veteran’s benefits. He has worked to improve access to health care and supported initiatives to improve the economy and job training and maintain financial aid for students.

Green has been involved in a number of local issues and projects. He has been instrumental in securing federal funds for the expansion of the Port of Houston and Houston METRO’s light rail, supporting the expansion of community health centers in the Houston area and pushing legislation to declare the Buffalo Bayou a National Heritage Area. Green also organizes annual events in the 29th District that serve the community, including the annual "Citizenship Day" and "Immunization Day."

Green received a degree in business administration from the University of Houston in 1971 and his law degree in 1977, also from UH.

Pete OlsonCongressman Pete Olson, U.S. Representative, 22nd District of Texas

Pete Olson has represented the 22nd District of Texas in the U.S. House of Representatives since November 2008.

During his second term in Congress, Olson was appointed to serve on the House Energy & Commerce Committee. He serves as vice chair of the energy and power subcommittee and is a member of the communications and technology subcommittee.

He also serves on the environment subcommittee.

Olson co-chairs the Congressional Refinery Caucus and is also a co-chair of the Corrosion Caucus. Given the important role that the energy, telecommunication and health care industries play as drivers of the local economy, Olson said these committee assignments are critical for the Houston region. 


Jim GranatoJim Granato, Executive Director, Hobby School of Public Affairs   

A native of Chicago, Granato is the director of the University of Houston's Hobby School of Public Affairs and a professor in the department of political science.    

Prior to coming to the Hobby Center for Public Policy, Granato taught in the department of government at the University of Texas and in the department of political science at Michigan State University. His teaching and research interests include American politics, political economy, public policy, econometrics, and the unification of formal and empirical analysis.

Granato’s professional experience also includes service as the political science program director and visiting scientist at the National Science Foundation (NSF). His research has been supported by the city of Houston, various Texas governmental agencies, the Houston Endowment, and the National Science Foundation.

Granato received a bachelor of science degree in political science and business administration from Southern Illinois University, a master’s degree in political science from A&M University and his Ph.D. in political science and certificate in political economy from Duke University.


Sponsor Footer