Boards and Committees - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Boards and Committees

Energy Advisory Board

The Energy Advisory Board engages industry experts and leaders to advance energy education and research. Energy is one of the key initiatives of the University of Houston, together with the arts and health. The Energy Advisory Board is a volunteer board appointed by President Renu Khator. Contributing to the University of Houston as “the energy university,” board members enhance research initiatives and energy education on campus and throughout the city.

Learn More

Board of Visitors

The University of Houston’s Board of Visitors is a leadership group of private sector opinion leaders and University advocates that serves to advance the University of Houston and improve the University’s image in Houston and throughout the region. Board of Visitors members represent a broad array of expertise, interests and connections and serve as ambassadors and strategic partners for the University.

Learn More

National Development Council

Transitioning from the historic “Here, We Go” Campaign, the National Development Council is a new volunteer committee focused on the University of Houston fundraising efforts. This diverse cohort of visionaries, prominent community stakeholders and industry leaders is philanthropically invested in the future of the University of Houston, lending their expertise and influence to support the advancement of the University’s priorities and goals.

Members are key in developing and positioning the funding priorities and will focus on informing and supporting philanthropic priorities and objectives tied to the Top 50 initiatives; serve as knowledgeable ambassadors able to articulate the case for support of the University of Houston; broker connections between significant prospects and University leadership; invest in collaborating on high-impact conversations and plans in support of the current philanthropic priorities; and, provide financial support in an area most meaningful to them.


  • Marvin E. Odum III (M.B.A. ‘95), Chair
  • Durga D. Agrawal (M.S. ’69, Ph.D. ’74)
  • Kim Clarke (’81)
  • Bill J. Jackson (J.D. ’92)
  • Aylwin Lewis (’76, M.B.A. ’90)
  • Beth Madison (’72)
  • Wilhelmina E. “Beth” Robertson
  • Cyvia G. Wolff

Racial Equity and Social Justice Committee

This is a university-wide group of faculty, staff, students and alumni tasked with helping to bring meaningful change to race relations. Members of the group will draw on their varied expertise and experience to facilitate our understanding of racism, its systemic roots and how to address these issues in a substantive manner. It is being co-chaired by Vice President Elwyn Lee and Dean Robert McPherson.


  • Elwyn Lee, Vice President, Neighborhood and Strategic Initiatives
  • Robert McPherson, Dean, College of Education
  • Cedric Bandoh, Chief of Staff/Manager - Strategy, Business Planning & Operations, Hewlett Packard
  • Jeronimo Cortina, Associate Professor, Political Science, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
  • Varselles Cummings, Director, Diversity and Inclusion
  • Kenneth Davis III – SGA Senator-at-Large and President, The Collegiate 100
  • April-Peters Hawkins, Associate Professor, College of Education
  • Erika Henderson, Associate Provost, Faculty Recruitment, Retention, Equity and Diversity
  • Jerrod Henderson, Instructional Associate Professor, Undergraduate Programs & Student Success, Cullen College of Engineering
  • Charlene Johnson, President of University of Houston Black Alumni Association
  • Dennis Kennedy, Founder & CEO of National Diversity Council
  • Brian Kirksey, Vice President, Black Student Union
  • Charles Lea, Assistant Professor, Graduate College of Social Work
  • Stephani-Nicole Leota, Graduate Student, Graduate College of Social Work
  • Rick Lowe, Professor, Kathrine G. McGovern College of the Arts
  • Ceaser Moore, Jr., Assistant Vice Chancellor of Police Operations / Chief of Police
  • Brian Reed, Clinical Professor, Chair of the Department of Clinical Sciences, College of Medicine
  • Debora Rodrigues, Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Cullen College of Engineering
  • Lisa Shumate, Associate Vice President, Houston Public Media
  • Jason Smith, Vice Chancellor/Vice President, Governmental and Community Relations
  • Asha Sowell, Director of Career Development
  • Donna Stokes, Professor, Department of Physics, College of Natural Science and Mathematics
  • Joseph Tedesco, Dean and Professor, Cullen College of Engineering
  • Sondra Tennessee, Associate Dean, Law Center
  • Rheeda Walker, Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

Resource Members

  • Valerie Coleman-Ferguson, Associate General Counsel
  • Rebecca Gentry, Assistant Vice President, Strategic Initiatives
  • Mardell Maxwell, Executive Director of Admission
  • Benjamin Mull, Director, Office of Contracts and Grants
  • Mike Rosen, Associate Vice Chancellor/Associate Vice President for Strategic Communications