Skip to main content

College News

Roger W. Anderson Leadership Award 

The Houston Program Honors UHCOP Alumnus, Founding Member Ryan Roux with Leadership Award 

August 11 — The Houston Program, a concurrent two-year master's degree program and PGY1-PGY2 residency program with seven leading Texas Medical Center health systems, has honored UH College of Pharmacy alumnus Ryan K. Roux, Pharm.D. ('99), M.S., FTSHP, FASHP, with the 2020 Roger W. Anderson Leadership Award.

After graduating from UHCOP, Roux completed a two-year M.S./health system pharmacy administration program at The Ohio State University/OSU Medical Center. He returned to Texas in 2001 to join Harris Health System, where he was promoted to successive leadership positions up to chief pharmacy officer. After leaving Harris Health, Roux joined the University of Texas-MD Anderson Cancer Center where he now serves as vice president of Pharmacy.  

roux-web300.jpgA member of UHCOP's adjunct faculty and its Dean's Advisory Council, Roux is credited among the co-founders of The Houston Program and as the founding residency program director for two of its participating sites where he mentored eight Houston Program alumni. He also has been recognized as a fellow of both the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists and the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. 

The award is named for legendary health-system pharmacy leader Roger W. Anderson, DrPH, R.Ph., FASHP, one of Roux's mentors and predecessors who is recognized among the profession's visionaries for reshaping the role of clinical pharmacy during his leadership as vice president and head of the Division of Pharmacy at MD Anderson for nearly 30 years.

Nominees for the award are evaluated by a panel comprising representatives of the participating health systems, the program's Alumni Board, current residents and past awardees on such criteria as mentorship, residency involvement, pharmacy practice advancement, organizational involvement, and research. As part of the annual event Anderson Leadership Award and Alumni Reunion, honorees are asked to present a keynote address on their perspective on leadership. 

During his address, Roux recognized the role of his own mentors — including fellow UHCOP alumni and national pharmacy leaders Diane Ginsburg, Ph.D., M.S. ('90), FASHP; Lourdes M. Cuellar, M.S. ('79), R.Ph. (B.S. '73), FTSHP, FASHP; and Joyce A. Tipton, MBA, R.Ph. ('79), FASHP — and his family support system in his success. 

"To be nominated for this award is an honor; to be awarded with this prominent award is humbling," Roux said.