Weglein to Present the Keynote Address at 2022 SEG Post-Conference Workshop

Workshop Covers Full Wavefield Migration and Full Waveform Inversion Imaging

Arthur Weglein, the Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished University Chair in Physics at University of Houston, will serve as keynote speaker at a post-convention workshop for the Society of Exploration Geophysicists International Meeting for Applied Geoscience and Energy (IMAGE ’22). Entitled “FWM (Full Wavefield Migration) or FWI Imaging: Exploring New Concepts of Seismic Imaging,” the workshop will be held September 1 in Houston.

Arthur Weglein

Weglein, the founding director of the Mission-Oriented Seismic Research Program at UH, will provide a comprehensive analysis and perspective on the role of primaries and multiples in seismic data processing. Recent progress, along with open issues and challenges will be described.

A frequent keynote speaker at international research and business conferences, Weglein’s previous presentations have covered topics such as on-shore challenges, primaries and multiples in seismic processing, defining and addressing seismic challenges in petroleum exploration and production, and potential game-changing seismic research, seismic migration and inversion.

“This workshop provides an excellent opportunity to share the fundamental high-impact directed seismic research at University of Houston with the international community,” Weglein said.

Weglein was awarded SEG’s highest honor and recognition, the Maurice Ewing Medal, in 2016. He received SEG’s Reginald Fessenden Medal in 2010 for his contributions to exploration seismology. In 2008, Weglein received the Townsend Harris Medal, the highest honor from CCNY/CUNY, and in 2003, he served as the SEG Distinguished Lecturer.

In January 2018, Weglein began serving as co-editor-in-chief, along with Nafi Toksoz of MIT, of the Journal of Seismic Exploration. He also co-authored a 2012 graduate textbook for Cambridge University Press with Bob Stolt.

The IMAGE ’22 conference is organized jointly by the Society of Exploration Geophysicists and the American Association of Petroleum Geologists.